We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, Great Pancakes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilchrist Restaurant

Gilchrist Restaurant
804 N. Rhode Island Ave., is about a mile from its historic location on the 400 block of North Maryland Avenue., at Gardners Basin, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 345-8278
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 351 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Great Pancakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We read great reviews of this place, so we decided to try it out for brunch. We arrived about 11:30 on a Monday and weren't seated until about 12:45...the woman at the desk lost our name on her list! I'm glad we went up to ask after about an hour, or else we'd still be sitting there. As soon as the problem was brought to the hostess' attention she put us in a great table overlooking the water.

We saw our server once, when she took our order - never brought the coffee I ordered. When the food came, I was not disappointed. The reviews were right - the pancakes are amazing. They were worth the hour long wait! The rest of the food (I had one of their combos with eggs, bacon and home fries) was okay, not unlike any diner food.

For the pancakes alone, this place gets 4 stars....if I could give it a separate rating for service, I'd give it 1 star, if that!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    53
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Keep your expectations reasonable and you'll love this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Basic breakfast food, but very good. Reasonably priced for Atlantic City. If the weather is good sitting outside can't be beat.

Per other posts the wait could be bad, but the morning we were there was a Sunday around 7:30am and we had no wait. I've noticed other posts about how great the service was, but that absolutely wasn't true for us. Service was friendly, but once our food was brought we never saw the waitress again - we wanted water, but no chance to ask. I ordered a juice that never came, but we were billed for it. Never had a chance to refill my coffee, etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Every time we go to AC to go Parasailing or on the Dolphin Cruise at Gardiners Basin, we always start the day with a breakfast at Gilchrist. The food is consistently good and the prices are very reasonable. We have been there at least 4 times and each time everything was very good.
Yesterday, I had a short stack of Blueberry Pancakes. Not only were they delicious, light, full of blueberries, and golden brown, the portion of 2 pancakes was more than enough for me. They were so good, I did not even bother using syrup - just the butter. My boyfriend had 2 eggs over easy, grits, and sausage. He, too, really enjoyed his meal. We would love to try them for lunch someday - but they do close at 2 p.m., which means you get back a bit too late if you go out on the Dolphin Cruise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, great prices and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good old fashioned breakfast with good food and great prices. Wait to be seated. Great outside on the water dining. Away from expensive casino food. Great service. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in AC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

What a great find. Tucked away by the AC Aquarium, this area of shops and restaurants is a hidden treasure. One of the best breakfasts at the shore- great omlets & famous thin pancakes!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilchrist Restaurant also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Gilchrist Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilchrist Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.