We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing breakfast I've had in a while” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilchrist Restaurant

Gilchrist Restaurant
804 N. Rhode Island Ave., is about a mile from its historic location on the 400 block of North Maryland Avenue., at Gardners Basin, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 345-8278
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 352 restaurants in Atlantic City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Most relaxing breakfast I've had in a while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is the perfect place to go to to get away, relax and enjoy a nice breakfast. The service is great, the food was good in both quality and quantity and the atmosphere is perfect for any group size.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    97
    49
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bealeton, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I read about Gilchrist Restaurant being good for breakfest, but by the time we got there it was lunch time. I had the tuna salad sandwich and my wife had a steak and cheese, both good and at a reasonable price. We liked the location, you can sit outside on their veranda and watch the boats as it is right on the water. There are other restaurants and little shops within walking distance and there is plenty of parking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food & views, but that coffee?!?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My partner and I had a great breakfast at Gilchrist: delish blueberry pancakes and a veggie omelet (we shared both) and thoroughly enjoyed our meal while looking out at the inlet/bay. The one detractor was the coffee, a tasteless watered down brew. What gives? Charge a bit more and get some better coffee, willya?? Oh - and an easy 20 minute walk from Revel casino where we were staying. The jitney goes near there too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't have breakfast anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This restaurant lives up to all the reviews. Be prepared to wait even at off times. It's worth it. Breakfast was outstanding - eggs perfect and just as ordered. Thin pancakes - like crepes. Blueberry cakes were spectacular. Late breakfast will carry you till diner. Outside seating a real treat. What a way to start the day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This off the boardwalk breakfast spot was a hidden jewel. Excellent food, great prices, super-friendly staff & a lovely location overlooking the bay & the Borgata with indoor or outdoor tropical themed dining. This will be a "must do" on our next trip, and every trip to AC from here on in.
A short ride on the Jitney gets you there quick. A nice peaceful escape from the busy boardwalk. Try it - you'll LOVE it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilchrist Restaurant also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Gilchrist Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilchrist Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.