We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilchrist Restaurant

Gilchrist Restaurant
804 N. Rhode Island Ave., is about a mile from its historic location on the 400 block of North Maryland Avenue., at Gardners Basin, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 345-8278
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 326 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Bealeton, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I read about Gilchrist Restaurant being good for breakfest, but by the time we got there it was lunch time. I had the tuna salad sandwich and my wife had a steak and cheese, both good and at a reasonable price. We liked the location, you can sit outside on their veranda and watch the boats as it is right on the water. There are other restaurants and little shops within walking distance and there is plenty of parking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    64
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food & views, but that coffee?!?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My partner and I had a great breakfast at Gilchrist: delish blueberry pancakes and a veggie omelet (we shared both) and thoroughly enjoyed our meal while looking out at the inlet/bay. The one detractor was the coffee, a tasteless watered down brew. What gives? Charge a bit more and get some better coffee, willya?? Oh - and an easy 20 minute walk from Revel casino where we were staying. The jitney goes near there too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't have breakfast anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This restaurant lives up to all the reviews. Be prepared to wait even at off times. It's worth it. Breakfast was outstanding - eggs perfect and just as ordered. Thin pancakes - like crepes. Blueberry cakes were spectacular. Late breakfast will carry you till diner. Outside seating a real treat. What a way to start the day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This off the boardwalk breakfast spot was a hidden jewel. Excellent food, great prices, super-friendly staff & a lovely location overlooking the bay & the Borgata with indoor or outdoor tropical themed dining. This will be a "must do" on our next trip, and every trip to AC from here on in.
A short ride on the Jitney gets you there quick. A nice peaceful escape from the busy boardwalk. Try it - you'll LOVE it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast by the docks AWAY from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A little off the beaten path, this waterfront restaurant has the best breakfasts! Next to the AC Aquarium, this place has the best blueberry pancakes and omelets, at a very reasonable price, with great views, and exceptional service. After finding this place early in the week we went back again it was so good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilchrist Restaurant also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Gilchrist Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilchrist Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.