We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilchrist Restaurant

Gilchrist Restaurant
804 N. Rhode Island Ave., is about a mile from its historic location on the 400 block of North Maryland Avenue., at Gardners Basin, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 345-8278
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 325 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Putnam Cty, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were just driving around looking for a breakfast place and hoped we'd find something that had outside seating on the water. We found this place. The employees were all very accomodating and the food was very good and reasonable. The outside area is covered for those really hot days and also protected somewhat from wind. What a pleasant find - would go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    60
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Gilchrists is a terrific breakfast and lunch spot . We recently ventured to their Gardners Basin site on a Sat morning for a late breakfast..despite the crowds our wait was only 30 minutes or so as we did not elect outside only seating.. We were very quickly met by our waitress who explained the specials and took our order.. My wife had a combo which included blueberry pancakes which she enjoyed immensely while I went with eggs , home fries and sausage which I also liked...Service was quick and friendly... Get away from the hotels and casinos and give Gilchrists a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pancakes with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a find. Gilchrist started on Cologne Road and opened at Gardner's Basin recently. I had 3 adults and 4 children visiting. Needed a break from cooking and took all to Gilchrist's for breakfast. It was fresh, reasonable and delicious. We went back 3 times for breakfast, 2 times for lunch, and were lucky enough to find them open for a weekend dinner. Servers and food and price all delightful, and the kids had plenty to do after eating.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham, NJ
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast at 6 am - on the water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great breakfasts here - the hotcakes are one specialty - and you can eat outside on the water! Located in Gardner's Basin along the tour boat wharf, this place has great breakfasts and lunches! It's "old school" with no glitz glamour or clanging slot machines - and it is just great!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Woulda went there every day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Recommended by the concierge as the #1 breakfast place in AC - wound up there at lunch time and had a great lunch - but saw the blueberry pancakes going by and made a special trip back for breakfast the next day. Boy - were those pancakes great!
This is not a fancy place - but the deck views are great, food is very good and plenty of it, and all at reasonable prices.

While you are there - take a boat ride along the AC coast and check out the modest aquarium and nearby craft shops.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilchrist Restaurant also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Gilchrist Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilchrist Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.