We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fake lame & phoney” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bally's Bikini Beach Bar

Bally's Bikini Beach Bar
1900 Pacific Ave, Bally's Casino, 1900 Pacific Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
+1 609-340-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 351 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fake lame & phoney”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I set out wanting to check out Sammy's Beach Bar because I had walked past before and it sounded like a lot of fun. First of all, it is no longer Sammy's Beach Bar as Sammy Hagar decided NOT to lend his name to this bar for the year 2013. Bally's is now calling it "The Bikini Beach Bar" and they haven't taken down the "Sammy's Place" website so in a way they are still trying to operate under a false pretense that they are still Sammy's place but DO NOT think it is the same thing. I can understand why Sammy decided to jump ship. The menu was average, food nothing special and outrageously overpriced as are their drinks. $24 for 2 small vodka drinks (which we had to wait 20 minutes to get). The staff are comprised of young kids who think they look good and therefore do not have to work hard. The DJ played a mix of annoying salsa and late 80's house music to a few middle aged patrons willing to sit through this boredom and wallet rape. What a joke!!! Worst bar I have ever been to. LAME is the only word I can use to best describe this car wreck of a bar. Sad attempt at a party atmosphere in an even sadder dirty filthy city filled with bums and the elderly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

ok...we love sammy's beach bar....the funny thing is everytime we are there its either out of season or raining at nite...but the few times we have been able to go...we loved it..no cover and sitting right on the beach...entertainment too

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok place for drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friend and I decided to grab a couple of drinks before dinner and watch the ocean. We found seats overlooking the ocean and waited for a waitress. Waitresses kept walking by and waiting on other people but not us. This went on for 20 minutes, and we were finally waited on right as we were getting up to leave. Our waitress was nice and told us it was shift change, but it was still ridiculous. Drinks were decent, but after a few we had to wait another fifteen minutes to pay our bill. If you are in a hurry, look elsewhere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great views, decent crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If it were not for the awesome location right on the beach in front of Ballys, Sammy's wouldn't survive. While the crowd is fun and the music decent, the service and drinks leave a lot to be desired. Service was slow and the drinks barely have enough alcohol in them to count. Stick with beer or wine, lest you pay $12 for fruit punch!! The best part about the place is snagging one of the dirty RockStar Energy Drink themed tables along the side and enjoying the views of the surf.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very young crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fun music, lively people, right on the beach, mostly for 25 year olds. No older crowds. Good bands performing nightly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bally's Bikini Beach Bar also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Bally's Bikini Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bally's Bikini Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.