We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tony Boloney's

Tony Boloney's
300 Oriental Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
609-344-8669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 354 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Indigenous Atlantic City Pizza, Subs & Grub. Tony Boloney's is an Atlantic City original. We make turn-of-the-century Atlantic City style pizza and bad a$$ grub.We hail from the fast growing and ever changing historic inlet and toss dough in a landmark building. If you leave A.C. without trying our pizza or award winning subs you don't know what you're missing....-Mike, The Butcher, Owner
North Attleboro
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tiny little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We decided to eat in and ordered pizza from Tony's. very tasty and they had lots of options. Would return there whenever I go back to AC.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    51
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Dive with Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Let's face it. The place is a dive. It could definitely use a little TLC. You can start by removing the all too dead flowers from the outside tables, cleaning the rest room (shared) and eliminating the condensation that drips from the air conditioning duct at a fast and furious rate on the head of the unfortunate patron sitting under it. That said, with the proper expectations, it is well worth a try. The food is on the money and the menu is interesting and creative.

The energetic young owner, Michael Hauke, just won a $20,000 prize for his Cheese Steak Ole in a Cook Off contest on the Live with Kelly and Michael Show. He beat out several other competitors from around the country. The sub was also the winner of a Guy Fieri Cheese Steak battle. My only concern is that the notoriety this delicious creation has received may divert attention from some of the other excellent items on the menu. That would be unfortunate. There are numerous things on the menu worth experiencing.

It is small place with makeshift seating, such as an old church pew and some hand me down tables and chairs. Outside seating consists of a few picnic tables. Although they are not usually overly busy, you can't always count on finding a seat right away. That may matter if you intend to eat in.

I would not recommend this as a place to to take young children only because of seating limitations, but I guess you could in a pinch. Parking is where ever you can find a spot on the street, but generally not a problem. Also, its not the place to go if you want a relaxed, intimate meal. Take out and delivery are options. Patrons consist mostly of some locals and tourists. It is reasonably priced. Help is friendly. Self service.

I really like this place and want to see the owner take it to the next level. Maybe the prize money will help him do that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pizza was blah, cheesesteaks make up for it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ordered a plain pizza and the cheesesteak ole. Pizza was actually not that good at all! Expected much better considering all their specialty pizzas. Maybe the specialty pizzas are better. LARGE menu, so many things to choose from! Cheesesteaks all looked so good, the ole was delicious! Small place, only seating for maybe 10 people. Counter girl was friendly, a real "dive" pizza place feel, definitely not romantic or maybe even for kids. Had some current hip hop playing, cursing and all, and the workers joking back and fourth behind the counter. My kind of place! Only gripe is the less-than-stellar pizza. Get a cheesesteak instead!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I researched restaurants before our trip to Atlantic City, and when I viewed the menu to Tony Boloney's it made my mind up that I had to try it. My boyfriend had the cheesesteak ole and I had a pizza. Both were amazing! When we got to the restaurant we learned the owner was the guy that won the food truck challenge on the Kelly & Micheal show, my boyfriend was psyched about that. Now we see why he won! Great food and great atmosphere! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Cheesesteak and Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wanted to try Tony Boloney's since it had such great reviews. We were not disappointed. We started with a Cheesesteak Ole that we shared. It was wonderful. Best cheesesteak I ever had. We could not decide on the Crabby Cronick or the Pepperoni so we got a small pizza of each. Words can not describe the taste. They were phenomenal. We shared a slice of the Sh#tfaced pizza, it was awesome too. We had leftovers since there were just 2 of us. I now know why the concierge at our resort said " The pizza at Tony Boloney's is sooo good, you will want to lick the box." Don't miss this on your trip to Atlantic City. You won't be disappointed. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. I can't wait to go back to AC again just for another cheesesteak and pizza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Boloney's also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Tony Boloney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony Boloney's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;