We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with "The Annex at the Chelsea"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Save Saved
You added The Annex at The Chelsea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Annex at The Chelsea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother with "The Annex at the Chelsea"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Others have said it- this is a motel room, and not a very nice one at that. It's conveniently located near the boardwalk in Atlantic City, NJ. We stayed here because there was no availability for two rooms where the rest if the family was staying. We requested, twice- but did not receive- adjoining rooms and the excuse was they'd be assigned at check in. No dice. It makes it difficult because we were traveling with a young child and adjoining rooms would have made the trip easier. The lobby is lovely, but the minute you begin the trek to the elevators to go to "The Annex", things go downhill fast. This motel is in need of renovation, not just a coat of
paint. The walls are so thin you can hear the obnoxious bachelorette debacle in the next room. The air conditioner did not work in either room, and when reported to the front desk, my daughter was told that the whole building was on heat and there was nothing they could do. The staff must be sick of hearing the complaints because as soon as they knew we were in The Annex, the attitude changed. The "retro" pink bathrooms were just old and sad and tired. Where the refrigerator was, an empty hole remained. And what can I say about the view? Even more dismal than this room, overlooking a loud parking lot. The other room was not much better, overlooking rooftops covered in beer cans. Touting this sad place as "hip" could not be further from the truth- it's an old AC motel desperately in need of a redo. The worst part was they charged $250 per room per
night for this, when my brother and his wife stayed in the Chelsea hotel (the tower) for TWO nights for $375. Tragic. Not worth the money. Don't bother- go elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    75
    96
    155
See reviews for
52
120
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Don't stay at the annex part of the Chelsea, the room was clean but needed to be renovated years ago, the lobby and other public areas where nice. The staff at the front desk where very nice and helpful, I will be back but will stay I the Chelsea part of the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The ads two place, one is the Chelsea and the other is the annex (Motel). I had book the Chelsea and end up in the motel! The made some much excuse that the made a mistake switching last min. and the sold out at the Chelsea. It's bad! We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have stayed twice, Luxe floors in winter. Deduct two for the Annex. Standard city view is bland, a view of dozens of balconies and a sliver of ocean. Bay view is pure ocean, and pricier. TVs are nice, and the iPod dock with radio is a blast. Safes are quick, convenient and secure. An excellent front desk staff. Art deco decor is tres cool, from lamps to photographs to the beautiful lobby and bar. A very romantic mood. Location is both good and bad: steps from the beach, but a boardwalk bookend. Solarium is extra and worth it. Brutal on a budget. $125 security deposit on top of it all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Pulling in the valet there was a line down the block to this, shady type garage," I mean shady BAD" " not shady from the sun" .. I was afraid to give the keys to my new car?? But i did, ONLY .."Plus" !!! the guys were very very nice ..! upon entering the lobby there was a fight going on from a disgruntled customer ...police were called.!
Then waited on a extremely long line finally checked in and then got keys.
Miss clerk said room out to left Period...So we walk to the left for a few nothing , nothing ,,,then after walking the length of the building down a hallway I would not have walk down with out my body guard friend " of thankfully, that i had one"...went up 4 floors to a scary old grungy hallway to our room ..Yes of course the room was every thing i expected from, first site, old , dingy and baits hotel-ish..yikes....Would only go back if i was all out of options...!Meaning on the streets....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Advertises itself as a charming boutique hotel. Not the Annex, anyway. Substandard room with poor maintenance. Checked in with online reservation, then left because other clientele were obvious rave participants, carrying cases of water which is a tell for Ecstasy use. Tried to get moved, but request not received well. Left. Still charged full-price for room.

One somewhat positive note: when called to speak with manager about room charge, was refused with no alternative. However, when I offered to split the charge, I did get half refunded.

Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Annex at The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annex at The Chelsea

Address: 111 South Chelsea Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#13 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Annex at The Chelsea 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Annex at The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annex At The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Annex at The Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.