We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location-Needs work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Renaissance Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Renaissance Suites to your Saves list
La Renaissance Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 South Kentucky Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Pittsburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Location-Needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at La Renaissance Suites from 7/22-7/25. The location is perfect, right off the boardwalk. Our suite was a one bedroom with a living room and kitchen.It was nice to be able to save money by cooking breakfast in our room. We were able to set up our umbrella and chairs on the beach in the morning and go back to the room for lunch and then back to the beach. We kept our beach stuff in our car trunk for convenience. The room was clean. Now the not so good stuff. This is a timeshare/hotel in need of repair. The microwave in our room (room 703) did not have a ceiling inside it and I considered it unsafe. We did not use it. I had to reset the GFCI outlet when using the hairdryer and coffee pot. The parking is very tight and if all the spots are taken on first floor you have to put your car in an elevator and park on 2 additional floors. We took our small car so we did not have a problem but if you have a large suv, truck or van it will be tight.
I would stay here again because I like having a kitchen and room to move around.

Room Tip: If possible, request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    26
    10
    25
See reviews for
26
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is the third time staying there and with 2 small children I love it. It is steps away from the beach, and the staff is friendly. The parking is a little odd but you park and leave your car so its no big deal. Overall my experience is wonderful and I love how the bedroom is separate from the living room, with 2 small children you need that. The first time we stayed the 1 bedroom was large but the second time there was a dividing wall that made it a bit smaller but all in all it is a great place to stay with nice friendly and family oriented people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barto, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice Clean 2 large bedrooms pleanty of room and right on the boardwalk with indoor garage. Friendly helpful staff and a great value.
Fireworks right outside of building and great view from roof pool area

Room Tip: Even numberr rooms have ocean front balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We came here using our timeshare exchange. The first room we were assigned(606)had a balcony but smelled so bad of cigarette smoke, and the sofa was so awlful, we asked for a different room. The 2nd room we were assigned(503) smelled and looked better- no balcony;located above Kentucky Ave and the entrance to the parking garage. Sofa bed mattress was all springs. Our guests had to sleep on the sofa and loveseat, throwing sheets over the cushions. The blankets are made of some kind of foam. the room furnishings and decor are very dated but the room was clean. It was nice to be able to open the windows a crack because I could smell a faint trace of cigarrette residue. I could smell it on the drapes. We purchased fragranced candles and burned them nearly 24hrs a day for 2 days straight then, the smelled subsided. BUT THEN... someone in one of the rooms near us smoked each morning. the smoke smell would fill the corridor. Each time our door was opened the odor would seep into our room. This is why we had candles burning off and on most of the week. The location is nice except at nght the street got noisey with drunks and loud music coming from cars. Then there were the seagalls. Early every morning the seagalls would swarm down on the full trash can by the parking lot across the street and they'd make suck a racket, and mess, starting around 5:30- 5:45am. The Parking: what can I say. It's a challenge. A crazy challenge. Having to honk the horn each time to gain entrance into the garage is not only annoying, it's tacky. Really. They should have a better system. Then one night we went out to eat, came back and had no spot to park in. We parked across the street in the lot. We had to run around getting the info on what to do etc. Another time someone put a trash can in a spot to save it(they must have been from Philly). Sorry, it isn't legal in Philly and it doesn't work in N.J. either:) The pool is an oversized spa tub but was sufficient for us. Too much chlorine; they need to look into better pool management. I doubt that will happen since they won't even changed out the artwork. I'd label this place budget. It's not what the timeshare folks promise but, if you've owned a timeshare for any length of time you know the drill. Big on promises small on delivery. Bring a small fan for white noise so you can sleep. It helped us alot. Oh yeah, when the a/c went on in the unit next to us, it rattled our liv rm wall. Boy what a week we had. Yeah. But the cigarette smell is a huge turn off. Lots of goofy odors in this place. Can you say Fabreeze folks? Again, the staff was nice even if they didn't always understand what I was saying. This was our second visit at this resort. I don't believe we will visit again because of the odors. It's a shame.

Room Tip: The balcony railing separations are large enough for a small child to fit through so be careful if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family and I just returned from a week stay over the holiday weekend. We were very nervous after reading reviews posted and were prepared for the worse. BUT, we were very pleasantly surprised! Yes, the rooms are a bit dated and using a car elevator to park was a bit strange, but the rooms were clean and comfortable, our car was secure, the location was great and the staff was wonderful. The pool, although small, was wonderful for us. The price is affordable and the kitchen a major convenience. We would return and recommend it to others.
The noise from the boardwalk was tolerable; hey, we were at the shore! The beach was clean and the weather cooperated!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are noisier Higher rooms are the sunnier, and quieter Remember you are vacationin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed a week in May and enjoyed our stay in our usual room at this hotel. We like to call it a resort because it has everything you could ask for. Michelle is so helpful if you need anything and Terry is always there to help also. We really appreciate both of them and would recommend this hotel. Any day at a beach is a good day!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

La Renaissance Suites was very clean and more than I expected. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a great time and look forward to going back. The whirlpool was very hot and powerful, but it took a almost a whole day to get hot after they cleaned it, but it was worth the wait. The game room was o.k it needs to be updated with some video games for the kids. It had a lot of ammenities for the price. It's a great place for the family and friends to enjoy the whole Atlantic City experience. It's directly on the boardwalk and you don't have to pay for parking while you stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms have big balconies and the appliances were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Renaissance Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Renaissance Suites

Address: 190 South Kentucky Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Renaissance Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your La Renaissance Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Renaissance Hotel Atlantic City
Renaissance Hotel Atlantic City
Renaissance Atlantic City
Atlantic City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Renaissance Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.