We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Renaissance Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Renaissance Suites to your Saves list
La Renaissance Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 South Kentucky Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Well, where do I start? I guess not a bad price for being on the Boardwalk. However, cheap you buy cheap you get. I was there 2 days. It was a clean room, which is always nice. The blanket in the closet was dirty and I had to ask for a new one, but it’s the little things in life, like toilet paper and soap that I had to ask for, then I had to go down to the lobby each time get them because there is only one guy working, and this was the second day after the cleaning lady had been there. They said there was a Jacuzzi tub in the room, however it didn’t work. There was 1 old TVs and 1 flat screen in the room, but only one cable box. Didn't have a view; it seems some of the rooms don't face the Boardwalk. The Hot tub and the pool upstairs were very nice, but if its luxury and room service you’re looking for, this is not the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    32
    9
    24
See reviews for
31
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

La Renaissance Hotel in Atlantic City, NJ is a great hotel. It is right on the boardwalk & beach, walking distance to casinos & has a pool & hot tub. This hotel is an "all suites" hotel that has full kitchens with everything you need, including dishes, frig, dishwasher-just bring your food. The suites are clean & roomy-we had a one bedroom & it is a good size for 2 people. They also have a "guest laundry" & ice is available. The front desk is well run-check in & check out was fast. The front desk & entire staff are friendly & very helpful. WiFi is only available in the lobby but the staff said they are working to get WiFi in the suites. This hotel is reasonable & well worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Stayed here last spring break....WORST hotel of my life. First off, you have to be BUZZED into this hotel, like a prison. The parking garage could fit 5 cars at the very most and was caged in with a huge moving fence. The rooms looked like they were 40 years old with no rennovations. Typically, the front desk LEAVES at 8pm, but we were in season so only one person was there. I could not believe if went out of season, being our room key did not work 3 times! The keys were not standard room keys, but keys looking like SD cards. All I can say was this was a horrible experience and would never recommend anyone to stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on weekend. The location is very convenient close to everything. Check in and out was a pleasure took one minute.Front desk people work perfect.
Suit they gave us had everything we needed-big fridge microwave full kitchen plates and even paper towel.Bed was soft enough and clean.
I would give them excellent review BUT: SMELL SMELL SMELL. Tobacco smell was so heavy that we could not breathe.Opening the balcony door did not help. Our clothing stink even 2 weeks after stay.
So if you are a non smoking people this place is not for you I think.

Room Tip: Check the room for a smell before you take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I do not know why this place is getting such bad reviews. My husband and I stayed from Sept21,2011 - sept 26,2011. We loved it. It is right in the middle of everything. It was clean kepted up with and the staff was great. This hotel fits your every need. And it has everything you need. It did not smell, or have bed bugs like some people were saying this place is clean. So if you are going to Atlantic City to have fun to not only gamble but to shop and enjoy the beach bars or just plain walking on the beach to look for shells this is your place to stay. Even on the 4th floor if you have a ocean veiw you have a great spot. We loved it so much here that this is going to be our place to stay for now on. And for the people what did write the bad reveiws I don't know what your problem was or is with the place but its not right to lie on thinf=gs maybe cause you had a bad trip or didn't win enough lol leave the hotel alone. For future stayers this place is great I cried when we had to leave the room and ocean cause it was just a wonderful trip. And for the people who say smoking was a problem should do some more looking into the booking before hand cause it says it. These are timeshares so thats why it is smoking in the rooms and thats the reason why they can not be certain of the rooms you get. All in all this place to me is a nice place to stay guest,timeshares and the staff were great and we made some friends for a life time. If you have the money and want a resort style vak door to door service, bagage delivered to the rooms and just everything handed to you go stay at the big hotels. But if you want a normal relaxing self servered vak then this is your place its not made for the high class or someone wanting that style vak its made for relaxing and enjoying it at an all your own doing. Its a small hotel and makes you feel like you are part of their family from the time you step in to the time you check out.

Room Tip: Ask before you book there is never a dumb question only the ones that are not asked. This way you kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My family and I were a bit concerned when we read a majority of bad reviews prior to our vacation. Im glad we went dispite our reservations based on reviews. We had an excellent time!. The location was perfect and we felt safe at all times. The room was very clean and there were NO BED BUGS, and trust me we looked very carefully! The carpets were a bit worn but other then that the accomidations were great! The front desk staff Santos and Rosevelt were GREAT, always pleasant, quick to assist us with any questions and vending machine issues Thanks for the machine shake Santos :) Cant say enough about how great these two men were. We had less interactions with Matt but he was also very pleasant. I did overhear Michelle seeming to pick and choose prices based on "well they seemed nice Ill give them a lower price" That was a bit disturbing, there were many conversations happening in her office with the door open that were in earshot of anyone in the lobby. I learned that the hotel was not doing well and many other titbits of info that probably should not have been shared. Overall i would definately recommend this hotel and come back again if ever in the atlantic city area. Thank you all for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place was absolutely awful. First, we made our reservations for 2 rooms at once and called twice to confirm that the rooms were together for a bachelorette party, yet we were still separated by 5 floors after checking in. We also tried to call to add another room at the same rate we were previously quoted and told we would need to talk to a manager. I called 6 times over the course of 2 weeks, all at different times of day and then left 2 messages to have a manager call me back and never heard from anyone. The parking only allows for 1 car per room and is really creepy. The hallways are stained and smell absolutely awful. The ONLY good thing about this place is the price. Spend a few extra bucks and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Envoy Inn
BEST WESTERN Envoy Inn
#8 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#20 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,789 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic City OceanFront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
0.3 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#9 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#11 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Renaissance Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Renaissance Suites

Address: 190 South Kentucky Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Renaissance Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Renaissance Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Renaissance Hotel Atlantic City
Renaissance Hotel Atlantic City
Renaissance Atlantic City
Atlantic City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Renaissance Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.