We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Atlantic city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget

Save Saved
You added Golden Nugget to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Nugget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Trois-Rivières
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time in Atlantic city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in october 2013. It was quiet, clean, good looking and comfortable. We took a bay view room which if I return I won't pay more to get that view... We were on 24th floor. We let the fan worked all night long so it makes a constant noise. It help people like me who wakes up every little noise!!! The restaurants were great. We tried the Italian and Asian. The food and the service were excellent and at a good price. The only bad side of this hotel is the distance from the boardwalk. It's a 25 minutes walk or you can take a bus for 2.25$. If you like to walk you can also walk to the Harrisand Borgatta by using the sidewalk at the rear of the hotel... If you want to shop best place is the Tangers outlet. I really make good deals! Once we had breakfast at Cavo crepe cafe in the middle of the outlets. It was cheap and good! I'll return for sure. We also had breakfast at Margaritaville restaurant on the boardwalk it was excellent! If you want to have a good lunch, at a good price and drink a cold beer you should try the Irish pub on St-James. If you like white beer try the Blue Moon draught. I which we had that draught in Quebec!!! You can have access to wifi at the ''Wine and wifi''. After 3 nights we decided to try a hotel on the boadwalk. We went to the Ceasars. It was clean but we had hard time to sleep. It was noisy. We were in room 7711. I won't return for sure in a room like this but the hotel is really well located. We will return for sure in Atlantic city!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    274
    137
    48
    64
See reviews for
111
412
47
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I haven't had the chance to see the new and improved Golden Nugget since it was renovated under new ownership. The last time i saw it it was still the Trump Marina, an old and outdated hotel that left a lot to be desired. Rooms were clean, modern, and decorated sensibly. Staff was friendly and courteous. we ate dinner at Lillie's, Asian cuisine. The food was OK but the ambiance was worth visiting the restaurant. New shops, Bars, restaurants, and renovated rooms made the Golden Nugget seem like a brand new casino, hotel and a destination worth visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a dividing door. Can hear everything your neighbors are saying through these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had stayed at the Golden Nugget in May,2013. In the morning when we woke and had full daylight, we saw that the room was not as clean as it should have been. I took photos and showed the front desk manager. She offered us a discount on our stay or a free night in the future. We decided to take the future free room for my birthday. After exchanging emails, she was so kind and upgraded us to a junior suite! The view was magnificent, the room was beautiful, the service was amazing! We have been dealing with a lot of stress in our lives and it all melted away while at the hotel. I am very grateful and filled with happiness. My only wishes would be for the casino to be completely smoke free, and if the parking spaces in the garage were bigger. I have a sedan and people with SUV's take up 2 spots or park so close to my car that it is difficult to enter/exit my car. Otherwise, a lovely experience and we can't wait to return. The spa was lovely too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really good stay. Everything at the hotel is new and nice. Free wifi everywhere, good restaurants, places to sit and wind down in peace. Check in line may be slightly long but that is my only grievance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had a blast this past weekend at the Golden Nugget. All the rooms are brand new, beautifully decorated and very clean. The only cons of this property were that the check-in line was long on Friday night (took about 20 minutes) and the bathrooms were quite small. Definitely recommend checking out their rooftop pool--it's gorgeous, the food is good, and the frozen cocktail drinks were strong and delicious. Special shout out to Hannah who was a most excellent and friendly hostess. Definitely stay here next time you go to Atlantic City--you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a marina view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife had a great stay at the golden nugget, we booked through group-on. Casino was very nice a bit of smoke so if you don't like smoke do not go in there. Room was excellent had clean towels and linens everyday. We ate at all the restaurants except for the Asian place, the chart house was exceptional. Try the lobster Mac and cheese. The h20 bar and pool were great both day and night, we went to haven night club on a Friday night which a lot of fun, if you like house music this the place for you! They also have a lounge called the rush lounge which has cover bands for the much more "mature" crowd. The only downside unfortunately was that we did have a noisy drunk couple next door and were awaken by the hacking cough and arguing( even though they arguing was quite entertaining) I had to knock the the adjoining room door and tell them to knock it off, but other than that we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey, Usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The new owner did a great job in the renovation, it looks like a new building, inside and outside.
New shops, dining, casino area, bars & clubs.
The casino has a good flow
The Deck had great entertainment & food was very good.
We had a fun time at the Golden Nugget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.