We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but not near Boardwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget

Save Saved
You added Golden Nugget to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Nugget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 60 hotels in Atlantic City
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but not near Boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and our room had a stunning view of the Marina. The room rates are very affordable. Check in was quick and we liked the many amenities within the hotel (gift shop, stores, restaurant).

I was hesitant about booking since many people mentioned it is not on the boardwalk. I did not realize how far it was until we go there. We arrived by public transport so our option was to take the Jitney that would come every few minutes. It is convenient but just seemed like a drag to have to take that every time instead of being able to just step out on the boardwalk.

There's no amenities in walking distance outside of hotel either, like no store to get snacks (instead of paying high price inside hotel)

I would not recommend this location to anyone without a car. Having just come from staying in Manhattan and being able to walk to so many places, it felt kind of like a ghost town at the Golden Nugget.

The buffet left much to be desired. I really hope they improve it as for that price there should be better quality and more of a selection.

Also I was disappointed there was a $10 fee just to use the gym each time! That's awful!!! Why would they charge that?

I could also agree the walls in the room were very thin as we could always hear the neighbors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    269
    136
    48
    63
See reviews for
108
407
47
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leonardtown, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My VIP host Annette was super special where I had needs during my stay and she went above and beyond my expectations by yard sticks. I love this hotel and the services provided as well as the other staff and personnel. Just a great stay and would stay ANYTIME.

Room Tip: suites are wonderful clean and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice room with a great view. The staff is very pleasant and helpful; check-in was very easy. Very good restaurants. The deck on the Marina is very nice; you can order food/drinks. On our Friday night stay there was a great band out there, the only thing is that they need more lighting on the tables when it gets dark. An battery powered candle will do.
A few glitches; we asked and were given a non-smoking room, but when we went in the room smelled like smoke. A sign was in there saying it was non-smoking, but we wondered if they just stuck that in there after the previous guest who was smoker just checked out. The room was noisy - not quiet at all. The door for an adjoining room was locked, but we could hear people talking next door in normal voices-and could hear their conversation. The hallway was very noisy with partyers coming in at 3am. This is a 24 hour operation, the rooms should be soundproofed along with the doors to the corridor.
The bathroom was clean, but does not have any towel bars, so you have to throw your towels over the shower door or on the bathtub. The shower door does not go all the way to the wall, so when you're taking a shower the floor gets wet.
If you go use valet parking, very convenient. If you want to go to the boardwalk, you will have to drive or take a taxi. We went down to valet and they got us a taxi right away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not having been to Atlantic City for 20 years, I was curious to see how it changed. The Golden Nugget facility, and it's great staff, makes visiting there very enjoyable. The room on a high floor gave us an angled view toward the Atlantic Ocean. Very relaxing. The room had everything we wanted and felt expansive. One of the reasons we selected this hotel over Harrah's was the complaint on Tripadvisor of thin walls and noise at Harrah's. That is not the case at the Nugget. it was very quiet - all of the time.

We were allowed to check in early - no line and no penalty as I've read elsewhere.

The security feature restricting access to the hotel rooms at the elevators is always welcomed.

If walking the Boardwalk is on your agenda, then you will have quiet a walk just to get to the northern tip, or grab a ride and make it easy on yourself.

I agree that the parking is easy and relatively cheap, but it is a long walk to the hotel front desk and elevators from your parked car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I found a good deal here and did a long weekend this summer. The hotel was very nice. Our room was recently updated and very clean. The restaurants were good and the service from the staff was great. My only real issue was just there was no way to easy goto the nearby hotels. Borgatta and Harrahs are right there but you need to take a cab. Just understand if you are looking to hit the boardwalk etc thats a cab ride away.

Room Tip: The bay view rooms are great, but try and avoid rooms near a suite. We have found bachelor/bachelor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The reviewers are right on about the nugget. I have just returned home from a great weekend in AC. Rooms remodeled,clean and ask for a higher floor for a nice view. Im not a nitpicker but noticed the sliding glass bathroom doors have a gap and you can hear everything that goes on in there. Just an observation, you will see what I mean. The higher end restaurants are pricey ,chart house,vic and anthoneys but good, or you have the buffet or grotto or brassiere or even starbucks or the bean sandwich place so a bit of everything for food choice. For value you cant go wrong here, especially off season during the week. Its place at number 2 is well earned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came right after they remodeled. Rooms are very nice, modern decor with all the amenities. (Flat screen tv, mini-fridge, safe.) Service was good....the bar at by the outdoor pool seemed a little slow on taking orders though. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.