We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodations, Small casino, Excellent Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Nugget to your Saves list
Golden Nugget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MIDWEEK PACKAGE FOR TWO
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodations, Small casino, Excellent Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent a wonderful weekend at GN, the staff was courteous and responsive, especially Lorraine at check-in. The rooms were very contemporary and fashionable and even numbered rooms faced the bay, Brigantine and ocean. Wonderful to wake up to brilliant sun rises. The bathrooms were also modern, raised sinks and glass enclosed shower/tub with double heads in shower.

I did ask for toothbrush, my bride forgot hers and they told me I could buy one in one of their shops. It wasn't the cost, just that a 5 star should provide forgotten toiletries at no cost; many 3 star facilities offers these as complimentary.

Large HDTV and complimentary coffee was appreciated.

We're boaters and enjoyed Happy Hour at the DECK over looking the expansive Farley Marina. Drinks and appetizers were plentiful but you paid what all casino hotels charge.

The casino was small, not as friendly as some I've visited and as you journey back in the casino the cigarette smoke was intolerable. I didn't play chose resorts.

Only other complaint was the walls are NOT soundproof but neighbors were fortunately not loud and slept "normal" hours. :-)

The views and rooms were exceptional, your only 10 minutes by Jitney$2.25 per person, $12 by cab to resorts. You can ride the entire AC beach for the same price by Jitney.

Room Tip: even numbers and high floors, great view, we were in 2030
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    311
    158
    53
    76
See reviews for
128
459
50
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandon PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Golden Nugget is a great hotel. Rooms were clean and great security on the property. Had city view which was great. Happy hour prices are reasonable for food and drinks. Slot service is great. Great slot machines and good music. The pool area is big but the pool itself is small and no sun till late afternoon. Great view from the pool.The downside is thin walls and very noisy hallways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went to the Nugget with three friends and had a very good time. The pool was busy but the service was still very good. Had cocktails and apps at the marina good food excellent service will be back. We are not a bunch of young adults yet felt that way after or stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

by far the best value in Atlantic City. The pool is phenomenal. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Problem is the valet parker smashed my truck.their loss prevention manager was very very difficult to work with but when we went above her head to the supervisor everything was taken care of. I'm still waiting for the reimbursement on the charges to the repairs to my truck.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Horrible experience here. Went to check in, was told my reservation was cancelled. I never cancelled it and you'd think I would've gotten an email saying it was cancelled, nope! Only rooms they had available were smoking rooms and no double beds (my reservation was for four), they also had ran out of blow up mattresses, go figure and when I asked if we'd at least have a couch, they said yes. But upon arrival to the room there were only 2 chairs. I went home smelling like an ashtray and was completely disatisfied with this place. You'd think since they messed up I would've gotten something out of it, but no. Never wasting my money there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Golden Nugget is a very average hotel.

The staff in the hotel, restaurants and shops are very friendly.

The hotel itself is a letdown. When you enter the hotel from the Valet parking area there is a distinct odor of stale cigarettes, food, etc. .The casino floor (even in the non smoking areas) is very smokey. We visited other hotels in the immediate are and all did a better job of venting smoke than the Golden Nugget.

We went to the pool one afternoon. The decks around the pool areas were all filthy. There were cigarette butts, plates with partially eaten food on them, empty and partially filled drink glass and used towels everywhere including underneath the lounges, sofas etc.

The walls in our guest rooms very very thin. So tin in fact that we could hear cards being shuffled in the room next to us as if we were in the card game. Every word that was spoken in either adjacent room was also audible. As a result, this is not a hotel where you will get much rest.

The rooms look nice and had a comfortable bed. But, even though the hotel was recently renovated, the room had stained carpet and the shower had cracked caulking with both red and black mold in the seams and corners. Although very modern, the shower door badly leaks water. So be preapred to throw a towel down to soak up the puddle that forms next to the shower. .

Other than the staff, there really is not much to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here is the best tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Nugget for our 25th Anniversary and we Loved it!!! The room was Very Nice and it was clean. The staff was friendly & the Valet parking attendant was very friendly & helpful. We enjoyed our stay Very much and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.