We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com amextravel.com
and 6 more sites!
Golden Nugget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I always stay at this hotel. Love the marina!! Nice decor and fantastic view. Large, clean rooms. The bed is soft and comfortable. Lots of nice restaurants and plenty of entertainment. The entire hotel was completely renovated and it shows! Highly recommend!

The only thing I do not like is that you must pay $12.95 for wi-fi or go to the 4th floor business center where it's offered free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    250
    118
    40
    55
See reviews for
99
375
40
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was looking at staying at the Borgata but the prices were a little steep for my pockets. I would rather have that extra money to start my fortune at the Blackjack tables. I ended up saving about $200, staying at the Golden Nugget and the rooms were very, very nice. I have stayed at the Borgata before and I would say these rooms (Basic Room) were just as nice and the The Nugget is across the street from the Borgata.

The casino area is not as big or as hopping as The Borgata but it is only a hop and a skip away. The staff was nice and the room was clean. The setbacks were the Buffet and the nightlife. My advice would be; if you want to be in the Glam, Lights and Hype all day, stay at The Borgata. If you want to take it easy and take in the Glam, Lights and Hype when you want it, stay at The Nugget. Enjoy your weekend and I hope you WIN BIG; I KNOW I DID.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed one night, Saturday, May 11, 2013. Our room was located at the end of the hall on the 19th floor. The room was very nicely decorated and spacious. We had a king sized bed, and the room was nicely appointed with desk, couch, flat screen tv, coffee maker, refrigerator. The room and bathroom were beautiful, spacious and immaculate. The bed was very comfortable. There only seemed to be a few elevators running and we rode an elevator down with guests from a higher floor that stated they had to wait what seemed like 20 minutes for an elevator to come to their floor. Parking was $5 regardless if you were an overnight guest or not. We enjoyed our meal at the Chart House Restaurant, and also enjoyed the band, Don't Call Me Francis that performed at the Live Bar.

Room Tip: Rooms near end of hall may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel staff is ok. Now that we have a "host" it's more tolerable to stay there. The property is over all is like small in scale compared to other properties in ac. I. E, small rooms, tiny bars an lounges and small casino. The suites are nicer in the spa tower but you always have to butter someones palm to get one.
The best part about this place is that every restaurant is Amazing:-) especially VIC and ANTHONY'S steakhouse. To die for.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

we always stay at the Golden Nugget when we go to Vegas, so i thought it would be a safe & dependable choice in Atlantic City. the room was beautiful, and we had a nice view from the 16th floor, but the walls are so thin i could hear every word the neighbors (and their TV) said. the bathroom was tiny.

we stayed here for two nights and Friday was a total snore. the casino was empty. the guests reminded me of my grandpa's tribal casino tour group crew. the buffet was bland, overpriced, and stopped refilling well before closing time. i actually wondered if we had made a mistake in coming to Atlantic City.

we spent Saturday strolling the Boardwalk and then i realized that AC is a blast, it's just the Golden Nugget that is so underwhelming. it's removed from the main strip, so you can't really visit anything else without driving/taking a cab. when we came back Saturday night we found a much livelier scene. the floors were fuller, the crowd a little younger and more boisterous, one excellent table dancer (the other two looked like they might bore themselves to sleep), and a pretty great live band.

i would return to AC, but i personally would not stay at the Golden Nugget again. i would, however, definitely recommend it to my grandpa and his friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've stayed here before, but they were in the middle of the rebranding/remodeling. We got in a little after noon on a weekday and we were able to get a room right away. Front desk was attentive, friendly, and quick. We got a 16th floor room w/a view of the marina/pool area and a nice view at night of the Boardwalk hotels. The room was fresh, clean, and nicely finished. There was some noise (talking, TV) the second night from neighbors, but it wasn't bad enough to keep us awake.

We ate a couple of times on the property. We at at Michael Patrick's which we were loathe to do because last time the service was incredibly slow and the food not so good, but this time no complaints. We went at lunch time but were quite pleased to find they serve breakfast all day (sometimes a girl just wants a pancake). We also ate in the buffet for dinner one day. It's a very small buffet with some hits and misses, but I would go again. The price was right, the atmosphere nice, and I enjoyed my meal. I also like the fact that there are some "quick eats" type places there now, too. We grabbed coffee/pastries/sandwiches at Bean & Bread and gelato at The Chocolate Box (yum). Perfect for those times you don't fell like doing a sit down meal.

Casino was medium-size but we were ALWAYS there. There were lots of newer games (Michael Jackson) as well as some old favorites (Mr. Cashman). I know some people have mentioned that the smoke travels through the sections, but we didn't have that problem. Also drink service was on point.

I would definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I suggest a high floor - the view was great To cut down on neighbor noise see if you can get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

First time here after the re-branding. Was very impressed with the rooms and the overall changes. We had views of the Marina.This is definitely more of a boutique casino. Easy to find your way around and get oriented. Was only here for one night and had the buffet for dinner. Was a below average buffet considering the price. If you can get some kind of promotion deal then I would say go for it.

If you are looking to stay and just relax and not to concerned with gaming and nightlife then this would make a perfect choice. Otherwise it may be wiser to go across the road to the Borgata where there is a bit more action.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Golden Nugget Hotel
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City
Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Golden Nugget to your Saves list