We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Nugget to your Saves list
Golden Nugget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF MIDWEEK PACKAGE
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently stayed at the remodeled Golden Nugget in AC. They were constantly sending me emails advertising the rooms and special deals so I finally bit. I was very happy to see the rooms were in fact clean, modern and exactly as advertised. A great location in AC just got better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    346
    176
    67
    88
See reviews for
147
520
57
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

i do not go to Atlantic City that often and I usually stay at either the Hilton (no longer owned by Hilton) or the Trump Marina- before it became the Golden Nugget.
I have to say I was very disappointed. The rooms were okay but not really clean- I had to wipe up dust and dirt in the bathroom. And I felt that all the restaurants were over priced.
The coffee shop or place was also over priced.
I would not recommend it to anyone who is on a budget.
When it was owned by Trump and the Marina it was an affordable and extremely clean hotel and I enjoyed staying there.
I would never go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn,NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I just absolutely love this hotel. It is so beautiful on the inside especially since it was remodeled. May be a little smaller casino than the likes of the borgata but I think it's more homey. If you can afford to go to Vic and Anthony's steakhouse you are in for a treat. One of the best steaks I have ever eaten. Overall, IMO, its the bet hotel in atlantic city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The "pros":
This is a newly refurbished property, with updated rooms, public areas, spa, etc.
You don't have to leave the property - it's self-contained, if that's what you like.
Checked us in a 11 AM (BIG pro!).
We lucked into "spa week" services and received full services at a big discount with no shortcuts or skimping.
Slots were generous - my friend won $200+ in one turn, and I $55+.
Lots of restaurant options and price points.

The "cons":
The room, though supposed to be non-smoking, had clearly been heavily smoked in. There were no "no smoking" signs in/near the room. But, with an 11 AM early check-in, I had no intention of complaining.
The room was humid, and the HVAC did not help.
This was a girls' getaway, and the bathroom door is a sliding glass affair and did not completely seal. Not as private as I'd like.
This room had an adjoining door, and at 1 AM, we could hear our neighbors' conversation - every word. Don't know if it's just general soundproofing or the adjoining door.

In all, I had a LOT of fun, would return, and would stay at this property again. One does not come to AC to spend a lot of time in the room. But, if this wants to be a 5-star property, some improvement is needed.

Borgata/GN comparison:
Borgata is very light in color; GN is very dark, especially the casino. It's like day and night.
GN casino is smaller, but still has a good selection of slots. Borgata has more entertainment on a regular basis - it would have been nice to catch a comedy show.
Borgata spa is bigger, serves more people, so feels less personal. GN spa is smaller and feels more personally attentive,and we were encouraged to linger, use the facilities (whirlpool, sauna, and steamroom). GN spa's bathroom/showers seemed more regularly checked/cleaned. The services seemed comparable, but I would choose GN over Borgata's Toccare Spa.
Restaurants seemed similar. Both have shops, but can't say more than that.
Guest rooms at the Borgata (specifically The Water Club) are much larger than GN. GN was cleaner (much less overlooked debris on the floor) and offered a minifridge without the perils of a minibar.
Bathrooms at the Water Club way more spacious than GN, so seem way more luxurious. Both are updated, with marble and fancy shower heads. GN's are typical hotel sized bathrooms, so seem small in comparison.
Borgata has an indoor pool; GN has an outdoor heated pool. I really missed the indoor pool.

I would stay at either again. Both are hotel/casino resorts, but have rather different feels. GN has a friendlier feel, whereas the Borgata has a larger, more impersonal feel. If you win big, who cares?! You'll have fun at either!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had been to this hotel when it was Trump Marina and it was good until they ran into financial hard times and the rooms were not kept up, the restaurant food & all services declined. We recently had occasion to stay at the Golden Nugget & we were very much impressed with the service, the room, and the food. Every member of the staff that we interacted with from the wait staff, to the maid service, and the casino workers could not have been more pleasant and helpful. It was a truly wonderful experience. We want to especially thank Samantha at the front desk for her smiling face and eagerness to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
121 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in March 13. Very nice place. Rooms are big and were recently refurbished.
Everything is clean. Service great. Parking is not free, 5 dollars in weekday and 10 dollars during weekends. No free wi-fi.
Good food, especially, the steak house Vic and Antony. Amazing.
Check in was very prompt as check out does.
The hotel located some 10 min driving from Boardwalk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Checked into the hotel on a Thursday afternoon. Was greeted by Samantha at the front desk, who is great, she has a wonderful personality for interacting with guests. The check-in process here is probably one of the quickest and easiest of any hotel I've ever been too. The rooms are recently renovated higher end and definitely among the nicest of any casino in Atlantic City and I've been to quite a few. Had a non-smoking room and I did not smell any smoke in the room, hallway or elevator. I do like this casino hotel and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#4 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,820 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#11 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Water Club by Borgata
The Water Club by Borgata
#3 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.