We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upsides and downsides, plus a Borgata comparison” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget

Save Saved
You added Golden Nugget to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Nugget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Upsides and downsides, plus a Borgata comparison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The "pros":
This is a newly refurbished property, with updated rooms, public areas, spa, etc.
You don't have to leave the property - it's self-contained, if that's what you like.
Checked us in a 11 AM (BIG pro!).
We lucked into "spa week" services and received full services at a big discount with no shortcuts or skimping.
Slots were generous - my friend won $200+ in one turn, and I $55+.
Lots of restaurant options and price points.

The "cons":
The room, though supposed to be non-smoking, had clearly been heavily smoked in. There were no "no smoking" signs in/near the room. But, with an 11 AM early check-in, I had no intention of complaining.
The room was humid, and the HVAC did not help.
This was a girls' getaway, and the bathroom door is a sliding glass affair and did not completely seal. Not as private as I'd like.
This room had an adjoining door, and at 1 AM, we could hear our neighbors' conversation - every word. Don't know if it's just general soundproofing or the adjoining door.

In all, I had a LOT of fun, would return, and would stay at this property again. One does not come to AC to spend a lot of time in the room. But, if this wants to be a 5-star property, some improvement is needed.

Borgata/GN comparison:
Borgata is very light in color; GN is very dark, especially the casino. It's like day and night.
GN casino is smaller, but still has a good selection of slots. Borgata has more entertainment on a regular basis - it would have been nice to catch a comedy show.
Borgata spa is bigger, serves more people, so feels less personal. GN spa is smaller and feels more personally attentive,and we were encouraged to linger, use the facilities (whirlpool, sauna, and steamroom). GN spa's bathroom/showers seemed more regularly checked/cleaned. The services seemed comparable, but I would choose GN over Borgata's Toccare Spa.
Restaurants seemed similar. Both have shops, but can't say more than that.
Guest rooms at the Borgata (specifically The Water Club) are much larger than GN. GN was cleaner (much less overlooked debris on the floor) and offered a minifridge without the perils of a minibar.
Bathrooms at the Water Club way more spacious than GN, so seem way more luxurious. Both are updated, with marble and fancy shower heads. GN's are typical hotel sized bathrooms, so seem small in comparison.
Borgata has an indoor pool; GN has an outdoor heated pool. I really missed the indoor pool.

I would stay at either again. Both are hotel/casino resorts, but have rather different feels. GN has a friendlier feel, whereas the Borgata has a larger, more impersonal feel. If you win big, who cares?! You'll have fun at either!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    394
    275
    137
    48
    65
See reviews for
111
413
47
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had been to this hotel when it was Trump Marina and it was good until they ran into financial hard times and the rooms were not kept up, the restaurant food & all services declined. We recently had occasion to stay at the Golden Nugget & we were very much impressed with the service, the room, and the food. Every member of the staff that we interacted with from the wait staff, to the maid service, and the casino workers could not have been more pleasant and helpful. It was a truly wonderful experience. We want to especially thank Samantha at the front desk for her smiling face and eagerness to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in March 13. Very nice place. Rooms are big and were recently refurbished.
Everything is clean. Service great. Parking is not free, 5 dollars in weekday and 10 dollars during weekends. No free wi-fi.
Good food, especially, the steak house Vic and Antony. Amazing.
Check in was very prompt as check out does.
The hotel located some 10 min driving from Boardwalk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Checked into the hotel on a Thursday afternoon. Was greeted by Samantha at the front desk, who is great, she has a wonderful personality for interacting with guests. The check-in process here is probably one of the quickest and easiest of any hotel I've ever been too. The rooms are recently renovated higher end and definitely among the nicest of any casino in Atlantic City and I've been to quite a few. Had a non-smoking room and I did not smell any smoke in the room, hallway or elevator. I do like this casino hotel and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We love the Golden Nugget. Their rooms are top notch and a great value. We used the Golden Nugget for a a weekend family get together last month with three of our four kids. My youngest had just turned 21 and wanted to try playing some Black Jack. I really like playing Black Jack myself but do not like playing higher stakes tables. Most tables now seem to be at least $10 or even $15 or higher. When you get into these types of stakes it is just not financially feasible for a family to sit down and put that type of money out. With a $5 table and with your family around you, its just a lot of fun and laid back time with everything about evening out and no great monetary loss after playing a hour or two. I initially asked the person in charge of the cards table if we could get a table for the six of us for $5 but was rebuffed. Not giving up I plead my case to the main gambling boss and he went for it. Thanks to Mitch, George, and Lynn for putting this together for us. Our family had a great time that weekend and playing cards at the $5 black jack table was definitely a highlight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was my second time staying at the newly remolded Golden Nugget. Our first time was last summer and I think the renovations were more recent at the time.

For this stay, we stayed on a Sunday night at a discounted rate. The reservation also included a $50 Landry gift card, good at any Landry property, including the casino restaurants. We opted for the buffet because we also had a 2 for 1 coupon and none of the other restaurants in the hotel appealed to us. Two of the five are located on the noisy, smoky casino floor. The steakhouse is closed on Sundays, the Chart House is a splurge we didn't feel like spending and the last is a 24-hour casual type place. The buffet was adequate for the price, but nothing like the buffet at places like Harrah's. We had planned to have breakfast at the buffet as well, since we enjoyed it the last time, but we learned that they do not have weekday breakfast buffet in the "winter". Which apparently late April still is.

As far as our room, we reserved a King Non-Smoking. We were first placed in a room on the 14th floor. Immediately upon entering, we were assaulted by the stench of cigarette smoke, as well as what was probably marijuana smoke. We returned to the lobby and were reassigned to a new room on the 26th floor. This room was stuffy but not smelly. As is our custom when staying in a hotel, our first act was lowering the thermostat. It only went as low as 65, but we set it and changed for dinner. I think these new fangled hotel thermostats are motion sensored, so when we returned to the room after dinner, we weren't totally surprised that it still felt stuffy. We confirmed that the thermostat was still set to 65, but for the remainder of our stay, the room never dropped below 72 degrees. I'm pregnant and sensitive to the heat, so I was very uncomfortable in the room. When we checked out, we learned that there is no such thing as air conditioning in the "winter". Apparently AC only has winter and summer and the AC was not turned over from heat yet. I find this unacceptable since the hallways are pumped cold with their "cooling" system, yet the rooms are extremely stuffy. It is always possible to turn off AC if you are cold, but it's impossible to cool the room off if you are hot. Even though it might be chilly outside, it will never be cold in a high rise building of that size. In addition, I remember staying in AC last April at Harrah's and did not experience a problem staying cool in the room.

Otherwise, the trip was fine for what it was. A brief overnight with my husband to get away. The walls are very thin if you have a room with adjoining doors. While our neighbors weren't obnoxious, we could certainly hear them for several hours before bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I went to the Bean and Bread in the Golden Nugget and was met by a young man Louis. He was very nice man that knew a lot about his food products as well as the casino. He really made my experience at the Golden Nugget wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.