We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Atlantic City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Nugget to your Saves list
Golden Nugget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MIDWEEK PACKAGE FOR TWO
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in Atlantic City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I visited with my friends the Golden Nugget and had a fantastic weekend ! The hotel is recently renovated and the room are nicely done. They are particularly spacious rooms and very clean. I believe this is among the best hotels in Atlantic City and I will stay here again next time I visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    311
    159
    53
    76
See reviews for
128
460
50
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Buffet was excellent. Staff friendly, courteous and accommodating. Would like to try other restaurants the next time. Will definitely go back. Would also like to go back in the summer to enjoy outdoor bar and pool. The only thing I could say is that I would like to see better quarter and half dollar machines

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was nice hotel with perfect facilities
The upgrade our room because our room was not ready
I definitely try again for stay at this hotel
the breakfast was good (not excellent)
just we need a check in fast !



  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Dale, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I know they underwent big remodeling, it is worth the past agrevation!
Very clean, modern, nice rooms. Great view, comfy roomy room.
Would come here again!!!
The staff is friendly, the food is good, the poker room is very nice updated and roomy. No Smoke smell anywhere!!!
Quiet during our stay but should grow as word gets out!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I traveled with a girlfriend on a spur of the moment trip to A.C. I usually research hotels on Trip Advisor, but we decided to book this hotel too quickly to allow investigation. We thought they had said the hotel was on the boardwalk, but in retrospect, the agent must have said it was on the bay. We had a water view overlooking the marina. Not an ocean view, but still quite nice. We took a taxi to the boardwalk in the evening and the round-trip cost was about $26.00. The taxi was well worth the lower price of the Golden Nugget as compared to the boardwalk hotels.

Not knowing what to expect at all, we were pleasantly surprised at the decor at the Golden Nugget. We were told they had just finished a major remodeling job, and the results were spectacular. We loved the lighting, the glass ceiling decorations and the overall atmosphere. Our beds were extremely comfortable, and our room was spotless. We loved the huge sinkbowl that sat upon the counter, and the quirky shower, but I read another review later by a woman with kids who had difficulty bathing them. This is not generally a family hotel; I don't think most casino hotels are, and I think the average couples and business travelers will have no issue with the hinged shower door.

The one issue is that the walls were so thin that we could hear our neighbors, even though they were speaking quietly and not being rambunctious in any way. The next morning, I heard the neighbor's cell phone go off and it was on vibrate. That was a bit unusual. No problem with the staff, and we appreciated the extra security folks who checked room keys before people entered the elevator. The breakfast buffet is overall average, but the fresh made-to-order omelets were yummy. Just be forewarned about the thin walls, as I don't believe any amount of remodeling can cover up that issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice hotel stayed for the weekend for my husband birthday. Nice room very modern, but felt claustrophobic in the room very small. Nice tv but limited cable channels. I booked a smoking room because my husband do smoke, but there were no vents to circulate the smoke. Very thin walls can hear next door fairly well. Restaurant were awesome, but the casino were very bored. We did go to the Borgata Sat night and there was excitement in the casino and plenty of bars to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is newly renovated and quite nice. We enjoyed every interaction with the staff.

The room we had had two queen beds. Extremely comfortable beds. Sound on tv was a bit quirky when adjusting volume. Not that big a deal.

Outlets a bit sparse for a newly renovated hotel.

Casino was weakest any casino I've ever experienced in Vegas or AC. It's surprisingly small. Only two small stakes blackjack tables. I'm a $15 minimum guy. Dealers had no personality. I've never experienced a succession of robot dealers like a did here. Terrible.

Biggest annoyance. I've experienced ever increasing minimum bets as it gets later. That's normal. However every other casino "grandfathers" earlier arrivals by letting them play the lower stakes as long as they play continuously. Not here. I was required to play the higher minimums as they changed twice over two hours. Weak casino makes this place a loser for me.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.