We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but ok for the night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget

Save Saved
You added Golden Nugget to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Nugget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but ok for the night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Check in and check out were prompt and courteous. The room was gorgeous. Bathroom was great except I tried to take a bath and the drain wouldn't stay shut. The air conditioning wasn't working so our room was a little stuffy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    394
    275
    137
    48
    65
See reviews for
111
413
47
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at the newly rennovated Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino in Atlantic city. The check in was quick and the staff was very friendly. The hotel room itself was worth the stay, there was a large screen TV, a wonderfule view of the Bay and most important the bed was fabulous.The bed was very comfortable and the linens great. Room was very fresh and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tioga, Pa.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A great staff. Willing to do what ever they can to make our stay trouble free. Check in only took a couple minutes.The room was decorated tastefully with a wonderful view. The food was excellent. The place is very clean and has everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Plenty of entertainment. We will go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belcamp, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The only reason I did not give this hotel a rating of "Excellent" is because the walls are paper thin. A phone conversation in the next room actually woke me up.

Other than that, this hotel is amazing. I cannot say enough about how friendly the staff were. Everywhere we went, different staff members were asking if we needed anything of if there was anything they could get for us.
For summer travelers, be advised this hotel is not beach front; be prepared to drive about 3 miles to the beach.
The hotel room itself exceed all expectations. The rooms were very modern and well decorated and lit. The shower/bathroom area is chic but a bit on the small side. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying the Atlantic City Area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Nuggett on Nov. 21. The check -in was prompt & courteous.

Hotel & rooms were bright and clean. I thought the new rennovations were somewhat garrish (especially the carpeting in the hallways) but new is always better than worn! Bed was comfy-view was fabulous-as were were on the 23rd floor.

My only issue was the door to the bath (which looked lovely-granite countertop, vessel sink, shelving) by saving floorspace- moving the door out ( by about 18") they attempted to make it look like a sliding Soji screen-however- the install was faulty- track not plumb with floor-SO THE DOOR WOULD NOT SLIDE EASILY-needless to say- a bit inconvenient!

Also, another attempt of modernizing-was the shower door- lovely- but not at all functional- the pivot door was curved-when you turn on the shower head (another silly attempt at an upgrade-they installed two Brinkman heads-piggyback style- the thrust of the water felt like a water cannon-pushed me to the wall) water flys outward-allover the floor ( nice marble look w/ glass tile inset) which created it's own hazzard of slipping on a wet marble floor!
Now- about the doors to the rooms- somehow seemed to exagerate any hallway noise- walls to the rooms had very little insulation- you could hear EVERYTHING withing 50 feet:(
Had a very nice dinner in the Grotto- a bit expensive- but for AC expected. We chose the Veal Marsala & Linguini w/ clam sauce. Both were delicious- great bread was served with our meal. Our service was excellent!

The casino was it's usual -smoke permiated the entire casino area:(

Room Tip: Request rooms above 12th floor- ask for a room where the bathroom door has been "adjusted"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Nugget last Sunday night, Nov. 18. Check in was easy and fast. We asked for a non smoking room which is what we got. The room was very nicely done with a king bed and a leather sofa (better than cloth because it is easier to clean!) The room was super clean as was the bathroom. The room darkening curtains were awesome and we were able to sleep in past 9am! Highly recommend visiting this hotel. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, PA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I also had the privilege of staying at the Golden Nugget while helping with the relief efforts of Hurricane Sandy. The staff at this hotel went above and beyond what I had ever expected. We worked hard all day but came "home" to a clean renovated room with comfortable beds. I can't say enough about the hospitality we all received from everyone who worked there. The hotel is beautiful, the restaurants are great and everyone who worked there was wonderful. I will definitely go back to stay on a happier occasion and will recommend this hotel to all my friends. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.