We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated location in Atlantic City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Nugget to your Saves list
Golden Nugget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF MIDWEEK PACKAGE
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated location in Atlantic City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Overall, the Golden Nugget in Atlantic City is a nice, newly renovated location. The rooms are nicely sized and accommodated, with nice marble flooring & a comfy bed. The bath had pink mold around the shower door, but was mostly an issue of design. One complaint with my room -the old-ashtry smell in my non-smoking room. I'm assuming it used to be a smoking room at some point in the past, but it was overwhelming, and I wanted to burn my clothes when I got home. Several others in my group experienced the same issue, but not all.
We had a company event at the location, and the food, service, and overall attention to meeting details was superb. The only exception was the breakfast in the restaurant on the lobby floor - we ordered, and after 45 min of waiting, had to leave without eating.
Overall nice place to stay, good views, and pleasant staff!

Room Tip: If it smells like old smoke, ask for another. Also, one room per floor does not adjoin with another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    347
    178
    67
    88
See reviews for
148
522
57
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel has greatly exceeded my expectations. In the summer time the prices can run really high, as do all the hotels in Atlantic city during the biggest traffic season. I think its biggest flaw is the fact that it can be priced very high, but is not on the boardwalk. I believe that they need to lower their prices during the week in the summer to make up for the payment of the taxi's and or shuttle cost.

I stayed here before the renovations and after, and both were great for what my friends and I were looking for and for what my boyfriend and I were looking for. I think that they need to get some good acts in their club, in order to draw a bigger crowd there. On their opening night it cost over 500.00 to stay there that night, that price is absolutely insane. I believe that they are trying very hard to be a 5 star hotel, and they are getting there but are nowhere close yet. I plan to go back here frequently, but hope their prices get better in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less younger kids on the floors (teenagers, and families)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's one thing to stay in a nice hotel with exquisite accomodations, excellent food, and a friendly staff...but what the Golden Nugget offers is something that is truely unmatched and hard to describe.
I stayed at this hotel with 52 others from the deep south during storm restoration in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. We now say that the Golden Nugget showed us true "Southern New Jersey Hospitality". Not only were the accomodations and facility immaculate, but the level of service and care given to us and our crazy travel arrangements is something you just don't see working storm restoration. The Golden Nugget opened their arms and treated us like family. We have zero complaints and are forever thankful for everything the Golden Nugget and every level of their staff and management gave us. I could not recommend a single hotel in the state of New Jersey more!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place. I stayed in two different rooms, one a double an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on weekday nights as a result of the storms and the rooms far exceeded my expectations! The room was extremely clean, very modern and updated, quiet and cozy. Showers had fantastic water pressure and an endless supply of hot water. The staff was always helpful and friendly! I highly recommend this hotel, which is kid friendly as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The renovations are complete and the results are great. The service is good and the restaurants are also good. It is nice to have the marina right at your door. Keep a look out for special events.
They could use some updated slots in the high roller section, but the main floor is all new?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had to stay here for hurricane relief efforts with work. Although AC was closed down during the hurricane sandy aftermath, the Golden Nugget opened their doors to first responders when everyone else inland was all booked up. So kudos to them for that. This place is newly renovated and is much nicer than when it was the Trump Marina. My bed was comfy and I was impressed w/ the bathroom. Cons: they skipped out on the sound proofing. I could here my neighbors through the wall clear as day. My air conditioning didn't work at all and to make it cool off in my room I had to turn on the unit's fan on high. But the room service would turn it off when they cleaned the room. Plus my fridge didn't cool at all even though I could here it kick on. The room does not come w/ a microwave and if you call down to the front desk they don't have any to provide for you. The casino floor is nice but small. The noodle bar is a nice place to eat but pricey. The staff were very friendly. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you can help it. Again I commend them for opening their doors to us during a time of need. And maybe my misfortune was a one time occurrence but that is all I have to write about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went to the Golden Nugget and reserved their Junior Suite. The room was new renovated - the room was very nice. It is a nice upgrade from a regular hotel room. My husband and I went to just get away and relax for one night. We would definitely go back. The room was very nice, the front desk, valet parking, doorman- they were all kind and proffessional.

The Junior Suite gives you an extra seating area with a couch for you to sit and relax on and that is what we really needed!!! It really worked for us - just wish it had a little seperation with a wall or curtain or something - that would be my only suggestion.

We needed a little TLC after working through the hurricane - it was nice to feel welcomed and everyone was so kind - it was what we really needed.

We don't mind not being on the Boardwalk - we had a room over looking the marina it was perfect. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was worth the extra money over a regular room if you are going to spend time in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#4 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,824 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#11 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Water Club by Borgata
The Water Club by Borgata
#3 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.