We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget

Save Saved
You added Golden Nugget to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Nugget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 60 hotels in Atlantic City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Misleading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at the golden nugget the weekend of my 30th Birthday my original plans were cancelled so it was a last minute trip.I called in to reserve a room the night before we left and receive and expensive but cheaper then the other hotel room rates.When booking the room I clearly asked the agent about deposit process he stated that he was deducting $93 on my credit card at the time of booking then they will collect the remaining at the time of check out the total for the room was $363 so I was expecting to pay around $270 I work in the travel industry so I wanted to be clear as to what I will will need to have once I checked in beings tho it was my 30th Birthday I needed to know what I will have to spend while I'm there. After checking in I noticed that they took an additional $363 on top of the $93 I was really upset and went to the front desk to get an explanation I was mocked by one of the front desk agent he could care less about my concerns eventually I spoke to the front desk manager who offered me a $25 food voucher only to be used in the hotel which would get me no where beings tho the buffet started off $26 a head and I have a family of 4.I eventually received another food credit totaling $50.The problem wasn't really the extra deposit just being mislead had I known about it I would have my trip a little different.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    269
    136
    48
    63
See reviews for
108
407
47
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin , NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary. We stayed here when it was the Trump Marina and had suites before. We stayed in the Marina suite and were told by reservations that it had a whirlpool tub. When we got there, no whirlpool tub. So my husband called the front desk and the clerk seemed confused as to why we didn't have a whirlpool tub. She called the manager and the manager then informed us that all the whirlpool tubs were removed and only the one and two bedroom suites had the jacuzzi tubs but that we could upgrade for an additional 359.00. The bathroom was very small. The only saving grace to the trip was that the views were
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. Absolutely stunning. The casino is beautiful and I have always liked the dealers and staff. In the end we were ok with it but I wish reservations would have told us or at the very least they should update there system.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at Golden Nugget AC. We were so impressed with the accomodations, service, and overall quality of our stay. We usually go to the Borgata but did not want to spend our anniversary with a bunch of bachlorette parties & 21st Bday. We heard about the rennovations at Golden Nugget and we are so glad we stayed! Donna Ward arranged our stay at in the H20 suite. The room walked directly out to the pool, hot tub & fire pit. we were swimming and enjoying a late night hot tub in mid October! We had dinner at the Chart House which had incrediable views, outstanding food, and fantasic service. We also had services at the new H20 spa. We were so impressed with the facility and the friendly service which was a constant during our stay. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

nice hotel and casino with dark colors and low lighting everywhere. buffet was average not great but not bad. some of the food looked like it came frozen and was microwaved. lily's the asian restaurant was good. the chairman's club was good. our hotel room had great views of the water. back of the casino needs more ventilation, smelled like an ashtray there. poker room had 2 tables going. table games looked the same as other casinos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Room we stayed in was as described; however no soap or shampoo in room. When requested it took the staff almost thirty minutes to bring it up. There response was that there was a shift change sorry for the inconvenience. In addition we stayed on a Saturday night and the front desk told us the buffet opens at 11:30 we got down to the buffet at 11:20 to beat the traffic at opening and uncovered it opened at 9:00. I know the Golden Nugget is new, staff is new, but this was my first time also. I don't think we will come back. Too many other properties in Atlantic city fighting hard for us to spend money with them.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakdale ny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

this is a review on the premises in general I did not stay there but I spent a few hours there eating, playing shopping, and just exploring the casino, I was staying at Harrah's for a few days and got a bit curious about about the Nugget since I could see it out of my window, everything that I saw was very nice , place was clean, shops and bars were clean and accommodating,, the only negative was the buffet, after eating at the Harrah's waterfront buffet which was absolutely stellar and the price was pretty steep, around $30, the buffet at Golden nugget was more like a hospital cafeteria and was in no way on par with Harrah's but it was around $10 cheaper and the quality difference was evident

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We went to atlantic city for the weekend and Golden nugget exceeded all of my expectations. The hotel is very grand and beautiful, we had a room with a view of the marina, not a problem at all with changing from a King to a Double bed room. the room's walls are thin, but we didn't have any problem getting to sleep, especially after a day of sight seeing. The front desk helped answer all of our questions and everyone was nice and accomadating with a smile. The transporpation located right outside takes you around Atlantic city for 2.25 one way making it easy to get around 24hours a day to the boardwalk area and back. We had a great time and a good meal at the 24hr cafe, pricey but expected at a casino hotel. We even found a way to get round trip to New york from Trump plaza with the hotels help.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the marina. We were on the 17 Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.