We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for adults or gambler, Frat House!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Nugget to your Saves list
Golden Nugget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF MIDWEEK PACKAGE
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not for adults or gambler, Frat House!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Came in to see what the renovation was like and you put all the lipstick you want on a pig.... but it's still a pig.

Jersey Shore on steroids.. Loud drunk kids and rail bandits.

If they don't change the people they are comping rooms to, the place will get a bad rep and no serious players will come in.

Sitting at a BJ table is like being in aFrat house with 500 drunk kids. Kid running in the hallways. 10 to a room.

Best to stick to the name casinos, they are safer and offer a better weekend experience for the gambler and those who want to have a good time with human beings.

Room Tip: Get a new room if you can. Watch the 12th floor as there is no security. The doors are always open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    327
    166
    61
    83
See reviews for
131
486
53
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a dance competition held at the Sheraton. We stayed at the Sheraton the past 2 years, but the Golden Nugget blows the Sheraton away. The nightly rate was half what the Sheraton charges, and the pool area is so relaxing. We had lunch at the pool and enjoyed it. We ate breakfast at the Brassiere one morning, the food was delicious, and again half of the cost of our breakfast at the Sheraton. The room had a beautiful view of the pool area, and it was so pretty lit up at night. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Front Office Manager at Golden Nugget, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Golden Nugget, the pool area is absolutely one of my favorite places on property too! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Absolutely terrible front desk employees and management... Unhelpful and rude. Room rates constantly change and they won't provide lowest rate available. At check in, it took over 2hours to have our bags brought up...we had to go find them in their storage area...at check out, we were told 40 minutes for a bellman to get our bags-it was almost 3 hours

Room Tip: Skip the golden nugget and go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Front Office Manager at Golden Nugget, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We sincerely apologize for the delayed baggage delivery during your stay. As I am sure you are aware the Starbound Dance Competition was held here during your stay and our entire Hotel team did step in to assist with delivery. Most of the deliveries where in excess of 20+ pieces per room and needed multiple trips to accommodate the guests. If you would like to further discuss rate availability please contact me directly at dwixler@gnacm.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed here at the tail end of a week at the NJ shore and it was fine. This was my second time at the golden nugget actually- the first time, I went to my room after check in, and walked into a room that was already taken by other people. I was a little freaked out, and luckily they weren't there! I got upgraded to a better room, but still a pretty creepy experience, especially as a single (female) traveler. It was during the upgrades, so I would like to think they can blame it on that. I stayed once again the first week of July because I got a good rate and was meeting some friends at the borgata. Hotel staff was friendly, and allowed early check-in, but I stayed away from the pool because there was some sort of teen dance competition going on and kids were running around everywhere. The room was nice, but, as other reviewers mentioned, the walls are PAPER THIN. I could hear everything. I went to bed at midnight, and was awaken at 3 am by people in the hall, who were not overly disruptive, just (drunk) chatting in the hallway on the way back to their rooms. Then at 4, and then again at 5. This is to be expected in AC, so you would think they'd spend a little money on soundproofing the rooms! So, nice hotel, cheap weekday rates, nice pool area, but I wouldn't go unless you don't mind swarms of kids, and you are a heavy sleeper! Also, the last guest's used bar of soap was left in my shower- ewww!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Front Office Manager at Golden Nugget, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for giving the visiting the Golden Nugget and coming back to see the completed transformation! We truly do want the best experience for every guest, and take any noise complaint very seriously. Please do not hesitate to contact the front desk or security directly if the situation should happen again. If you should need any assistance in the future please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at dwixler@gnacm.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkertown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

excellent room, excellent customer service and great resturants

Room Tip: all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We usually stay at Harrahs and, although we have always had a pleasant experience there, we decided to try to new Nugget last week. What a mistake! The rooms have NO acoustics and as has been said on this forum, you hear any and all noises from the bathrooms. There was a problem with our first room (the drapes and rod fell down are were removed but not replaced by anything so there was constant light shining into the room). We switched rooms and things were fine until we discovered there was no cold water in the bathroom sink. The first thing we were told was that we must have turned the cold water off under the sink (this was certainly not the case). Upon further investigation, the hotel plumber discover that the valves were not operating properly and had to be changed. Clearly Trump got revenge on the buyers of this hotel.
This was all bad enough, but then there was a storm and a blackout which left the toilet bowl unusable--we had to go down to the casino to use the facilities. We understand that these things happen, but the attitude of the casino host and the front desk was not very helpful.
Customer service should be paramount in this economy and it was not so at the Nugget. We will never go back there- not only because of the room problems but because of their seeming lack of concern for their customers. BTW- the tables was good to us so this is not sour grapes!

Room Tip: Only consider the spa wing if you still want to go after reading this and other reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I were booked for our anniversary in a Courbet suite. when we arrived there was no Ac , the pool was closed due to glass and no hot water . They could not tell us if it would be up and running during our 4 day visit. They told us there would be know discounts and the rooms are as is.They were rude and unconcerned so my husband asked for a refund which they stated would take a couple of days to return into our account. The storm was not there fault but the way they treated the customers was not right.We had to look all over for a hotel and found one for that night.Revel was able to accommodate us for the next 3 nights. Other people have posted about there treatment and believe me it is true. I don't understand because I have stayed there plenty of times even during there renovation but I guess I am not a high roller so my business is not important.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.