We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chelsea

Save Saved
You added The Chelsea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
1 review
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had a great time no problems at all. The valet guy was really nice when we got there. Check in was smooth and when we got to our room , it was clean and even though the air conditioner was on 68 ( which is the lowest temp) it was pretty cold which is good for us since it was hot outside. Overall we had an awesome time and would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    473
    325
    163
    163
See reviews for
195
776
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room was nice and clean but the lobby and restaurant looked outdated. Staff members were very polite and helpful. I was with a baby so they provided crib but it was broken. I had to call front desk twice to get another one and waited about 45 minutes. I booked a king ocean view room from Groupon. Window that overview ocean was very small however the view was nice. However the stay was pleasant.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived before the scheduled check-in time. Now, if the front desk staff had said "we won't have anything available until 4, sorry," that would have been fine. We would have checked our bags and gone in search of food.

The front desk told us to try back at 2:30. Then they said they would block one of the rooms on housekeeping hold for us so we would get a room sooner. Nope. Room was available after 4. If they thought they were trying to help, they were doing it wrong. We waited patiently while other people checked in and got rooms before 4.

The room was okay (though there was trash in the trash can when we got there, so clearly the housekeeping wasn't sufficiently cleaning the room during the 2+ hours it was on housekeeping hold).

We get that it's a Saturday in the summer at the beach - peak time. But the Chesapeake staff could have done a much better job of managing summer surge. We were disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldan, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our overall experience at the Chelsea was great! We had never stayed in Atlantic City before, having spent many summers visiting nearby Ocean City, NJ, but never venturing over to AC. Our daughter gave us a weekend stay at the Chelsea via a groupon promotion. We were a bit nervous reading some of the hotel reviews and some of the news reports about Atlantic City. We needn't have worried. There was a long wait to check in at the front desk and the valet (yes, you will need to use the valet parking if you have a car but our charges were only $10/night which was less than we expected) as both were a little understaffed, but the staff throughout the hotel was professional, friendly, and courteous, on every occasion we had contact or needed them. The lobby and hallways were standard hotel fare and nothing special.
The room was the biggest surprise, it was beautiful, and it smelled great which is a key issue for my wife. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was pristinely white, and the whole room was immaculately clean everywhere! The furnishings and decor appeared new and in good shape with a retro chic theme throughout. The room was not overly large but we had an ocean view room with a beautiful view out over the beach and ocean. Everything worked well including the air conditioning and all the bathroom amenities and there was plenty of water pressure..
The hotel is half a block from the Tropicana, so there are many restaurants and activities available there and on the boardwalk. The boardwalk was also a pleasant surprise, a bit more upscale than Ocean City or Wildwood, a little less crowded and with less kids, but there were still a range of rides, pizza shops and expensive restaurants to choose from. The beach was also a plus, with no fees or beach tags required. For $15 we rented a couple of lounge chairs and an umbrella for a nice day on the beach. Beach towels were free at the front desk.
This was really a nice hotel (if you stay in the luxe tower) with a hard working staff who try to make your stay a pleasure, and the rooms are beautiful. We had a great weekend in Atlantic City!

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the luxe tower and not the annex, which is apparently not as nice. The ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at this hotel several times it is not a flashy casino type hotel but rather a European style boutique hotel which offers two pools the beach right nearby and very clean rooms at a very modest price
I particularly like this Hotels location as it is very close the Tropicana which offers Starbucks and plenty of places to get things to eat
I would recommend this hotel if you're not looking for gambling but rather a very nice clean place to stag have a beach that is very very nice

Room Tip: I particularly like to stay on the 18th floor facing the fifth floor pool as you could see what'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All in all I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. The lack of organization shown by the staff was really terrible. The room was nice so it's unfortunate for them that their service is so bad. Luckily we didn't spend much time at the hotel. It was really mostly the front desk/lobby that was a disaster. Not having rooms ready, knowing what to tell people for parking and no apologizing for any of it - just really unwelcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The website looks great, nice job of photo shopping, however the experience turns out to be very disappointing. My girlfriend and I wanted a week away and from what I saw on the website for pics it looked to be the perfect place! However upon check in it immediately turned out to be something far short of what I was looking for. The first room (booked a Deluxe King Ocean View, of course) turned out to be a corner room with no bathtub just a stall shower and the ocean view was through a corner 2x4 window, not exactly what you see in the pics of an Deluxe King Ocean View suite. Had to request a room with a bathtub and was moved to the other corner room again with a 2x4 window view of the ocean. Room service was a joke, ordered breakfast the next morning with a pot of coffee only to have to request coffee cubs as none were brought up.

There '5th Floor' Bar and Restaurant" are only open on weekends 4pm-6pm, during the week they are open 11am - 4pm so forget that. Service was not good, room was disappointing to say the least and the amenities non-existent, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Address: 111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#9 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chelsea 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Chelsea Atlantic City
Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.