I once again stayed at the Chelsea the weekend of February 16th/17th. I've always liked the Chelsea because I expect more out of my stay than just a room with a bed. I enjoy their restaurant and club. Neither were open, to my surprise, during my President's weekend stay. Check in was listed at 3pm. I arrived at 3pm and had to wait until after 4pm for my room. The lobby was full of weary guests in the same predicament. I passed the time having a $12 cocktail from the lobby bar. I know it's AC, and I expect drinks to be expensive. However, I'm thinking that the Chelsea should run a "happy hour special" at the lobby bar from 2pm until 5pm to "kill the pain" of waiting for rooms to be ready. Just a suggestion. It would have made me "Happy".
When I finally got into the room (Ocean King in main tower), I found some trim pieces broken off of the furniture. I also noticed some obvious tears in the duvet cover on the bed. The toilet paper holder was falling off of the sink cabinet. The shower control escutcheon falling off of the shower controls. The Chelsea is showing some wear and could use some maintenance.
The next morning we dined at Teplitzky's, as we always do. This time we had a $30 meal voucher as part of our hotel package. It took almost 45 minutes to receive our simple breakfast order. When we did, everything was cold. At this point, we were too hungry to complain about our free meal. I don't know what the problem was. The restaurant did not seem that busy.
On the bright side: Valet, bell service, front desk, and concierge employees were friendly and helpful.
I don't know what the problem is with the Chelsea, but it looks like I have to find a new place for all of my Atlantic City stays in the future. I'm am seriously disappointed about this!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TA. We love repeat guests and your experience is important to us. Please message us via TripAdvisor; we’d love the chance to speak with directly. It is important for us to know what booking engine you used to confirm your stay. Our website and confirmations note a 4pm checkin. While we do not guarantee the information on third party websites; we do not want our guests feeling frustrated so we need to look into that error.
Our cool restaurant Teplitzky’s runs a five hour happy hour from 3pm to 8pm, but your suggestion is a great one. Patrick58, thank you for being our guest, we’re continually updating and improving the property, it is our goal to make you love us again! We hope to hear from you real soon.
The Chelsea Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.