We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Definitely Not a 4 Star Hotel"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Chelsea to your Saves list
The Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Atlantic City
Bear, Delaware
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“" Definitely Not a 4 Star Hotel"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed February 9, 2013. Went with my 12 year old son. Went to check in and requested 2 beds in the room. Was told it was a $30 upgrade. Stayed at many hotels and never was told 2 beds would be extra. Stayed in room 1703 upon arriving at the room, the door ws left completely open with the bathroom light on. Room was outdated, dirty, and had an odor. Bathroom shower was dirty and had no water pressure. Went to find the gameroom, but when the door opened the "gameroom" was a dark empty hallway. Valet parking is mandatory, with a $10 per night charge. If using Priceline be very careful with requesting a 4 star hotel. If in the area of Atlantic City, this hotel might come up. Definitely Not A Good Experience!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose A Different Hotel!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear john_12211818,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to read of your disappointment. Rooms with two beds are a premium at the Chelsea, we do charge extra for this room type, as do other hotels. Please be careful when booking on Priceline; room types are not guaranteed in advance of checkin. Many times 4 guests will show up for a room with only one king bed and we’re sold out of double queen rooms. It’s always best to book directly with the hotel reservations department so that you can have control over the number of beds required. As to your other concerns; this is certainly not our standard and all shortfalls have been addressed. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences which you and your son endured.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    497
    348
    170
    178
See reviews for
209
809
37
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend had a voucher from living social for The Chelsea. I frequently visit AC and had never heard of this place! It was a really cute boutique hotel. It did not have a casino, but it is right near the Tropicana. Our room (Lux Tower Bay View) was really nice and clean. A nice touch was all of the food, drink, and other items available (for purchase) in the room. They even had a wine opener which could come in handy! We went to the restaurant/bar for a few drinks. The happy hour had good prices, but the drinks were nothing special. The staff from The Chelsea were all VERY nice. You definitely wouldn't get this attention at a bigger casino unless you're a high roller. Overall, I was impressed. My only problem was the website said the solarium was closed for maintenance. The newsletter the hotel staff gave us upon checking in also said it was closed. However, after inquiring, it wasn't closed. After checking it out, I would have really loved to go in the clover shaped hot tub. This day in age, their website should be updated!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear champagnebackpack,

What a great screen name! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! We are delighted to hear that our location was convenient for you and that you enjoyed our facilities and amenities. We appreciate the comments about our staff; they really are a nice bunch! We’d love it if you messaged us your last name thru TA so that we could show you some love on your next stay with us!

champagnebackpack, book a spa package by calling our central reservations department directly at 1.800.548.3030 – the clover shaped Jacuzzi awaits you!

Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at the Chelsea for a cheerleading competition 2/1 to 2/3, our group stayed in the luxe side. It was fabulous; clean rooms, non smoking hotel. Bathrooms were especially nice, ample counter space for our girls makup and styling equip. We had great service, didn't see that you read here, which was good. Have to believe it was a difficult person to please as my experience was a great one. Saw lots of smiling patrons.
We left early each morning and valet was quick to return with our car. The bellman were knowledgable and even made a dinner reservation for us on Saturday evening.
Also, we booked with a travel agent.

Room Tip: Luxe part was very nice, our floor had a computer center, noticed our friends floor had ice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in the Lux Tower King Bed Bay View for 89.00 +tax. Front desk was friendly and the stay included a 1PM checkout at no charge. Nice perk!..Room was clean, bathroom was clean..defintely a 70's theme with 70's decor..maybe late 60's....shower a bit weird with only 1/2 glass shower door enclosure but I guess it works if you move forward in the shower. Bed was a bit soft for me but fine for the night. Wet bar was available with average cost for items..Halls to rooms were ok....Noise on floor was not an issue..Great location if you plan on going to Tropicana..cross one side street after passing through covered garage and you are in the Tropicana. Lobby was just ok..not much glitz but not what I was looking for or needed..fireplace in lobby sitting area was a nice touch. Teplitzky's is a watered down diner..works if you are not looking for anything special or fancy..worked for me for a quick breakfast the next morning. Pricing was a bit overstated in my opionion..Think it was $8.00 for two 8" pancakes..Food was ok..nothing to bananas over..acceptable would be an appropriate description. Overall, nice stay..would go back to Lux Tower without question..particularly at that price..FYI..Valet cost is $10.00..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear FBWins14,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on us and for the Five Stars!
We love reading how friendly our front desk staff was to you, they are a great bunch and enjoy interacting with guests. When occupancy permits, we are happy to oblige with a complimentary late checkout. Glad to read you were able to enjoy a couple more hours of rest.

FBWins14, we appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your first stay with us. Now, don’t be a stranger, we have very favorable rates mid-week and on Friday nights. Sign up for the “Inner Circle” on our website and we’ll send you our VIP specials! Lastly, please message us your name thru TA and we'll show you the love on your next visit with us.

All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you want the posh/modern luxury style The Chelsea has to offer - go to the Tower. The solarium jacuzzi was nice, as were the saunas I used. Prices on room service and spa were very fair as well compared to others I've seen.

Only complaint: the "minibar" beverages took up all the fridge space, so I had to move them into an unused drawer in order to chill my own wine bottles without getting the two mixed up.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 19th rm 05 floor of the tower, was quiet. It had a view of the bay and the city belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear cmnikki,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the great tips for other TA viewers. Our spa is unique and offers the only co-ed solarium and saltwater pool in Atlantic City. You’re right-on with the fair pricing, compare us, we will not disappoint.

cmnikki, next time call us and we’ll deliver a bucket of ice to chill your wine, no worries, we are at your service.

All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I loved this place. It’s comfortable, clean, staff was very friendly. Room service was quick and food was delicious. Could have used a bit more lighting for us social butterflies but I would come again.

Room Tip: queen double was quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Happy belated Birthday LATINQUEEN127, love your screen name! Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TA and for celebrating your birthday with us. We love social butterflies, so next time you’re headed to the Chelsea, email us in advance, and we’ll turn up the lights just for you! Don’t forget to book your stay directly with the hotel, 1.800.548.3030

All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent the first Friday of Feb at the Chelsea and it was my 5th visit there...I can't say ONE bad thing about this swanky, cozy hotel. What a great change from the typical casino/hotel. No ding ding ding slot noise, amazing service, sweet rooms and great bar/club restaurant. I will stay there everytime if possible. I've dont Luxe reg room, king ocean, and penthouse suite. All designs are amazing. the penthouse suite is perfect, affordable and sexy as hell.

Room Tip: I've only stayed in the Luxe side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear tom g,

You Rock! Thank you for the great review here on TripAdvisor! We love reading guest comments and your review excites us! Thank you for your continued patronage and for the shout out here on TA! Don’t forget to message us your name via TA messenger so that we can show you the love on your next stay with us.

All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Address: 111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Chelsea Atlantic City
Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.