We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Chelsea to your Saves list
The Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Waldorf
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Birthday Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I celebrated my birthday with 4 other couples.
This was my fourth visit to the Chelsea I love it because no casino in the hotel.

Secret is you must stay on the tower side - the hotel is split into two sides.

They do have a SPA and CLUB and an awesome steakhouse that I enjoy ever so much.

The steakhouse serves mashed potatoes with truffle oil OMG!!!!!!
creamed spinach that melts in your mouth!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Deneanh,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. We love that you chose the Chelsea to celebrate your special day! Sharing with your closest friends is… WOW, a magnificent way to make memories. Thanks for making us your destination hotel when visiting Atlantic City. Come back and see us again real soon and Happy Birthday from all of us here at the Chelsea!

Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    521
    353
    177
    195
See reviews for
217
851
37
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friend & i decided to go on a girls trip and found a deal at the chelsea. upon arrival we were a little hesitant especially since the reviews were mixed. but the staff was friendly the room was clean & modern & we had no issues. My only complaint is with valet. They were very crowded & rude during check out time & when we returned one night & there seemed to be an event going on poolside that we could unfortunately hear from our room but with closed windows it was barely noticeable. It was a bit further from all of the action but it actually made for a better trip. Overall we had a great trip & would recommend The Chelsea to any friends in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Cremdelacrop,

Thank you for the five stars here on TripAdvisor. We're so glad you found the location to be convenient; it’s nice to be close to the action but not in the “middle of it”. We’re sorry to hear about the valet, I can assure you we’ll work hard to correct the issues you noted. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. Lastly, thank you very much for recommending us; the Chelsea IS the perfect hotel for “a girl’s weekend getaway” in Atlantic City! We hope to see you again real soon!

Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here Monday night over Labor Day weekend for my husband's birthday. We did the Rise and Shine package which included a free breakfast from the diner. We wanted a quiet hotel for a romantic weekend and The Chelsea exceeded our expectations. We were greeted by friendly desk staff and given a free upgrade to an ocean view in honor of his birthday. The entire staff was extremely courteous and the room was clean, furnished super plush and cool. The view was fantastic out over the boardwalk and the water. The hotel was quiet as we had hoped and we enjoyed the use of the sea spa (which has a fee to use) because it rained and the outdoor pool was closed. My only complaint would be that the restaurant Chelsea Prime was closed because it was Monday so we ate dinner and then breakfast at the diner. Both meals we good diner fare but we we're looking forward to a quiet romantic diner at Prime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear WalkTell,
Thank you so much for recommending our hotel and for appreciating our super plush and cool style here on TripAdvisor. The Chelsea is the perfect Boardwalk hotel to celebrate anything! Birthdays and Romance, Nice!
Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Room was clean, updated and quiet and beds very comfortable. Great brunch. Hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. Location is perfect, walking distance from casinos. I have stayed here twice, and will return every time I am in AC for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear geoff w,

We appreciate your review and love that you liked us so much you came back for a second stay! It’s true, our hotel staff is friendly and accommodating and we really do have a great location. Nothing is better than watching the sun rise and set from an oceanfront room at the Chelsea! Thanks again for staying with us, come back and visit with us again real soon!


Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I decided to make a trip to AC but we didn't want to stay at a hotel that involved walking through a busy / noisy casino to get to our room. One of our friends recommended the Chelsea to us, but after reading about the service on tripadvisor we were a little hesitant. Our friend assured us that the Chelsea had great service and boy, was she correct. Our room was beautiful and the bed was awesome. The staff was very friendly and gave us some good restaurant recommendations- we loved breakfast at the diner downstairs. We left Sunday morning right before the hurricane, as we were leaving the manager came up and introduced herself to make sure we had a good stay and wished us a safe trip home.

Room Tip: Try Teplitzky's for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Josh W,

Thank you for such a wonderful review and for giving us the opportunity to showcase what we’re all about. We enjoyed reading about all the great things that we did and how we made you feel. We are proud of our hotel and love that we are next door to a casino so that those wishing to gamble can take advantage of our location, yet enjoy a beautiful smoke free property to relax and chill. Glad you arrived home safely; we hope you come see us again real soon!

Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Priceline daily deal and we needed a nicer place so we went for the four star hook. I don't think it's a four star place but I'd give it three. Old schools retro yet modern vibe. Same with the cafe next door. Metered parking that always runs. Don't know how much Sandy damaged them. They charged us for parking even though we didn't park there. Asked why but didn't get a response. Beware!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca S, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Dydk,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear about your concerns and apologize for the valet parking fee oversight. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope to prove your concerns wrong on your next visit.

Chelsea Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We've stayed here a number of times, always in the luxe tower. Great place to get a massage, use the spa and chill. The beds are really comfortable too. A nice boutique experience when you don't want those oversize casino hotels. We always have breakfast at Treblintsky's.

Room Tip: Book ocean side luxe tower rooms. Try the Rock Star suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca S, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear mic8155,
Thank you very much for your kind remarks on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you have made the Chelsea your choice for hotels when visiting Atlantic City. We agree, our beds are really comfy! I love that you take advantage of the Sea Spa and know how to “chill”. That’s just our style…
Come see us again real soon!
Warmest regards,
Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Address: 111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Chelsea Atlantic City
Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.