We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in AC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge West Atlantic City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge West Atlantic City to your Saves list
Econo Lodge West Atlantic City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1630 N Albany Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Master Host Inn Atlantic City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #46 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Parsippany, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Great Place to Stay in AC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I had stayed in this hotel few weeks back and its really nice place worth of money and beautiful swimming pool good in summer off course, staff are excellent and very helpful rooms are fairly clean and i will definatly recommend the place in Atlantic city when you don't get room in casino hotels..

Room Tip: 2 queens bed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    0
    13
    14
See reviews for
8
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Due to a last minute trip, we booked this motel for a one night stay. There were four of us, me and my friend staying in one room and two of our friends staying in another. Upon entering our room, the room was extremely warm and had a weird smell. The walls had stains on them. The bathroom smelt worse than the room. It just didn't feel comfortable to be in. Our two friends who were staying in a room next to ours came to us minutes after we separated and told us to come look at their room. Well, I wouldn't even call it a room. The room was completely trashed from the last guests. The bed frames were broken into pieces, the mattresses weren't there, furniture was thrown all over the room, and when you go into the bathroom, the tub was ripped out and there was loose plumbing everywhere. We immediately went back to our room to pack up to get a refund and leave. The woman at the front desk was extremely rude about the whole situation and actually started yelling at us about it. We got our refund and left and immediately went to Trump Taj Mahal, where it was the complete opposite of this disaster of a motel. Terrible experience! Do yourself the favor and avoid!

Room Tip: There is no good room here, avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I don't even know where to start with this terrible motel. But Of course you're not going to find any decent motels on the black horse pike. First of all, the owner is a money hungry idiot. We stayed here for a couple of months and the owner just begged for money but couldn't do what we asked him. We stayed in the suite on the second floor and the room was infested with mice, from what I seen every room is infested with mice. I had another room there and the owner just put down the rat poisoning without even warning us. What if someone had a kid and put it in their mouth? It's dangerous. The owner also feeds the rats downstairs so they keep coming back and they play in the trash cans down stairs. Our door broke and the owner wouldn't even fix it, I mean there is so much I could say about this HORRIBLE MOTEL. I know it's cheap, but spend your money somewhere else. It's not worth it, don't give these idiots your money.

Room Tip: Just don't go here. It's mice infested in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here 8/17/14 - 8/24/14 and realized that there are pros and cons to this lodge. first the pros, "you get what you pay for' free wi-fi, free hbo, continental breafast (they just say breakfast!) and a comfortable bed. Cons: No sausage and eggs(I'm am gone after that), the room is circa 1980 including TV; actually saw the maids throwing the bed linen over the top floor to the parking spots below!!(hello we use those to sleep on lady!!!!) Never got our beds made while out. We did get fresh towells and wash rags though. overall I would stay there only to rest up for 2 days and then hit the road again. Thank god for a Dunkin Donuts near by and the many restaurants in the area. This lodge is good for the low end getaway for the younger 20 something kid with limited $$. PS. It's time to get some new irons and ironing boards!!! it's 2014 not 1980? fresh coat of paint too!!

Room Tip: try to get top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel ever very dirty I stayed here and found dirty moldy sheets and bedbugs very gross place ! Some of the new people working there are awful this hotel gas awful people staying there ful of drugs and crime save ur money dnt go ther'.....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

To start I paid $20 for a roll a bed on line when booking the room that the front desk didn't want to give me unless I gave an additional $15. I don't know where they got the pictures they show here because is not even close to the truth. The rooms are horrible the musky smell, the furniture falling apart, moldy refrigerator, beds are dirty, not suitable for living human being. The highlight was the pool and it's close until further notice. Please for your safety and your family stay some where else. There was a group smoking marijuana in the second floor pass-way, I complained to the front desk and their answer was they could do anything about it... that if it bothered us we should call the police.. we had three young children with us, ABSOLUTELY did not want to be in that environment. Ask to cancelled our room and went to the Howard Johnson down the road. DO NOT STAY HERE...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The reception staff was welcoming, friendly and accomodating - BIG PLUS.
We needed a place to stay out of the sun for a few hours on a spur of the moment trip to AC. Since I had a puppy with me, it was a challenge to find a pet-friendly room at the last minute.
From first sight of the neighboring hotels you know not to expect grand accomodations. It has an outdoor pool but it was not available for use yet.

It's cheap, basic and off the boardwalk so don't expect the Taj. It was okay for a couple of hours but with better planning you can find a nicer place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge West Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge West Atlantic City

Address: 1630 N Albany Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Master Host Inn Atlantic City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge West Atlantic City 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge West Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge West Atlantic City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.