We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Water Club by Borgata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Water Club by Borgata to your Saves list
The Water Club by Borgata
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atlantic, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rude service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is not the Ritz and someone ought to inform management. Front desk check in service was rude and unwelcoming. Let see what else is on your cannot do list? AC broken. Asked for change of rooms just shot down. Beds soft pillows horrible pool which when we were allowed ito use at 3 pm was cheesey small and crowded , Friendly bartender offset some of the front desk rude welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna M, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Club by Borgata, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
jjk16-

We’re sorry you found our Front Desk team members at The Front Desk to be unfriendly. As customer service is very important to us, we are certainly addressing your comments with them. Hopefully your schedule allows for your return and you notice a change in the service you are provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    180
    89
    59
    55
See reviews for
71
357
26
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our trip to the Borgata Water Club was on 8/12/13. Nice clean non-smoking accommodations, friendly staff and adults only setup(pools). The 3 wading pools were very nice and heated. The Borgata main casino is only roughly 50 yards down the hall from the Water Club smoke free lobby.
We had a corner Vista room# 2296(two windows- L shaped room and clean) on 22nd floor of 29 floors(very quiet), it overlooked Harrahs and Golden Nugget Hotels, the Brigantine Bridge and a view of Atlantic City skyline-very nice. Housekeeping staff did a great job everyday(kudos). The bathroom had only one sink and no tub, just a decent sized glass shower stall. TV was at least 40-42 inch size. The king sized foam bed was worn out. The foam mattress worn on both sides with a hump in the middle(high point). We sunk into a well worn groove on both sides of bed(disappointing). We paid $250.00 a night for a Vista room versus a regular room for $199.00 with one window. The $250.00 Vista room is not worth the extra 50.00 if you are on a budget or penny-wise minded. Depends how much time you will be in the room. If we went back, I would do the (one window)199.00 per night plan.
PROS: Get 'even' numbered room if you want a view of Atlantic City, 'odd' numbered rooms face the marsh view side.
Water Club has a nice workout room(overlooks Atlantic City on 32nd floor). but again you will have to pay 15.00 per day to use it.
CONS: Make you pay 5.00 to park your car in a surface lot for the week? A very low blow move/insult in my opinion.
PROS: Take the JITE #2 bus to AC Boardwalk - comes by Borgata every 15 minutes- $2,25 per person one way.
Restaurants:
Borgata Buffet: Didn't go there, but spoke with two NYC, 70 year old women, seasoned gamblers, who said the Borgata Buffet Breakfast was really good but not lunch or dinner. Get there early.

Izakaya - Japanese restaurant is suppose to be excellent too per the two NYC, 70 year old women! We missed the Monday only half price special menu.....it was packed, line out door. Got there at 645pm - earliest reservation was at 10pm. We took a pass and went to Wolf Gang Puck's only to be disappointed with a overpriced meal in the front dinning area.

"Wolf Gang Puck's(Putz)" - Had a lousy dinner for 4 people($220.00)- 3 of us had the almond crusted salmon, it was dry and flavorless. I would not go back there....your paying for the name only.

Bobby Flay's - Didn't go there but heard good and bad reports from folks
.
The Homestead steak house - We had a great meal ,10oz filet mignon with jumbo shrimp appie(good) and 6 east coast oysters(meh!) - you must make a reservation. Get the waiter named "Larry" and busman Vlad. Great guys that will treat you right and professional.

The Noodles of the World - A great place for all types of Asian foods and soups(authentic). I had the Chicken and Pad Thai, the wife had Kyoto-Udon, both were excellent and alot of Asians go there.

The Metropolitan - Good breakfast and lunch menu's(NYC style).....go to bar counter to avoid waiting for a table.

Bottom level of Borgata Water Club has fast food court- Salad Bar, Fat Burger, Japanese, Chinese and Italian take out. Ben and Jerry's too.

Offsite Dining on Boardwalk-
Go to "Il Mulino" for fine Italian dining restaurant in Trump Taj Mahal Hotel for top notch staff service and dinner - it is not cheap. Or you can do the "Il Mulino" Trattoria next door for a lower priced menu.
I also as told the Dock's Oyster House is excellent for oyster lovers.

Room Tip: PROS: Get 'even' numbered room if you want a view of Atlantic City, 'odd' numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed for 2 nights as a quick city getaway. I have stayed at the Borgata before, but decided to try the Water Club this time around, since it only came out to $30/night more. When we arrived it was pouring rain so we chose to valet the car. It is a $10 fee for your entire stay, which we thought was fair for the convenience of it. We took an escalator up into the main lobby that is immaculate and impressive. It was 2:30pm, so we did not think we would be able to check-in, but decided we would try. We met a lovely front-desk girl who allowed us to check-in right away; the whole process took no more than 5 minutes (check-in at the Borgata was always a long line). We stayed on the 21st floor in room 2186, an accessible room as the hotel was all sold-out. We never waited longer than 2 minuted for an elevator the whole time, by the way. The room was cool, fresh and clean. The carpet was without stains, the bathroom immaculate, the rain-head shower an added plus. The bed was also very comfortable, but came with only 3 pillows. We called for an extra and within 15 minutes it arrived. Overall, we were very happy with the room. The food choices at the hotel were great, anything form fast food to elegant dining and inbetween. We dined at the Old Homestead Steakhouse, and it was absolutely delicious, but very expensive for 2. With an appetizer, a glass of wine each, a steak each and a dessert it came to a little over $250, which is actually less than we expected. The casino area is huge and is definitely the main event. We saw a lot of people winning! We only play slot machines, and ended up about $150 up by the end of the trip, which was more than anticipated!
Overall: Loved the location (about a mile away from the trashiness of the boardwalk, but still close enough), loved the upscale appearance of the hotel as a whole, loved the food choices and the comfort and cleanliness of the room. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

If you don't stay here, you will find yourself driving over to experience this first class resort. Worth the money to use the pool area in the summer, but you can't go wrong with either the Borgata or WC. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Water Club is a gorgeous hotel and by far the nicest in Atlantic City. The staff are great and the rooms are large and nicely appointed. Love the bathroom, especially the shower. I get to enjoy this gorgeous place thanks to my Borgata host William Mullen. Special thanks to him.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Only stayed one night, but the room was immaculate and comfortable. The hotel and casino overall is clean, with very friendly staff. I didn't get to use the pool, but our friends did and everyone enjoyed it. Wish I was there longer, maybe next time. It is a little pricy, especially for one night. But we choice to stay there because our friends were all there. So it makes getting together much easier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night with friends. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable. The casino itself is gorgeous and also extremely clean. We ate dinner at the Italian restaurant and found the food and wait staff to be excellent. My friend and I also used the spa and enjoyed massages. From check in to check out, everything was handled smoothly. Halfway up the parkway I realized that I left my phone charger plugged into the wall in the room. I called their housekeeping line and told them what I had left behind. Within a half hour they called me back to let me know it was located and took my address down in order for it to be shipped to me. I received it in the mail 3 days later. We plan on returning in a few weeks and again for our anniversary in September.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Water Club by Borgata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water Club by Borgata

Address: Atlantic, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Water Club by Borgata 5*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Water Club by Borgata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Water Club By Borgata Hotel Atlantic City
Water Hotel Atlantic City
The Water Hotel By Borgata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Water Club by Borgata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.