We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place To Stay In A.C.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Water Club by Borgata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Water Club by Borgata to your Saves list
The Water Club by Borgata
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Renaissance Way, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Millstone, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best Place To Stay In A.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight to celebrate her birthday. The rooms at the Water Club are spacious and modern. Very clean bathroon with a great shower featuring a "Waterfall" faucet.

THe Borgata is the best place to stay in A.C., it has the nicest casino, so of the beat restaurants (We ate at Bobby Flay Steak) which was excellent. The nightlife at the hotel is also good, with the Gypsy bar having live music.

All and all a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    198
    93
    60
    55
See reviews for
73
388
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

As a Starwood traveller on ambassador level spending close to 110 nights a year all around the world, I may be critical but also know when i see good service. When coming to AC I want to relax and not have to argue for the things a supposing luxury resort even if it's a casino should be offering and providing. Here is the summary in short rather than a long story:

1. Can't pay at valet with credit or debit card - ridiculous!
2. Arrived at hotel to encounter a front desk agent by the name of Jose who walked away when talked to with a response he didn't like.
3. Told by front desk agent that I could place items in minibar but would need to let room service know so I wouldn't get charged for removal based on electronic sensors - tried that, called room service and was yelled at by Raquel that I am not allowed to do that. On top of it, the minibar was not even fully stocked...when I requested to have that resolved no action either other than being told I will not be charged for the missing items.
4. Management is not visible and it seems the staff is trained with the response "no, per policy we can't do that...." and that seems to be a continuos theme.
5. Coffee in the morning was quoted to take 30 minutes in room service.
6. Spa services were not even mediocre - good news: the charge was removed.
7. On check out it very much felt like another reviewer already said: "who cares if you come back...."

Summary for me: NEVER going back there! At prices which are higher than Wynn and Encore in Las Vegas and service which is below anything why would anyone??

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgataJoanna, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Club by Borgata, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
stephanth16-

We were disappointed to read your review and certainly apologize that your visit fell short of meeting your expectations. As customer service is very important to us, we will be reviewing your comments with our team members to improve on the service we provide our customers. Again, we’re sorry that you were not provided with the level of service you should expect. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to Borgata & The Water Club in the future where you should see improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed in the Water Club recently for business. Bedroom and bathroom were top quality. I am not a gambler, but that's about all that Atlantic City has to offer ! Ugh ! Excellent hotel, staff were friendly & helpful. I particularly liked the fact that the staff did not expect to be tipped for everything, as with other hotels. I would definitely recommend this hotel, or the adjoining Borgata. It is all the same hotel really, with just an internal mall between them.

Room Tip: Had a room with a sea & marina view. It was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Paid an obscene price for a room (our bad, we booked last minute but opted for the offered price since we have wanted to try this hotel for a while now and were attending an event at the Borgata). Nice room, very clean, and lovely views of the harbor. However, the minibar fridge was broken. Couldn't get another room and couldn't get a credit for the inconvenience. Lovely space for drinks and food - the Sunroom - but it closes at midnight, so if you are looking for a later evening spot for cocktails, you are left with the Borgata itself or room service. We tried three bars in the Borgata and all had a guy with a security earpiece monitoring stanchions where you had to line up and wait to get in...even if you showed up and there was no line. Hmmm. I left a phone charger in the room and when I called the lost and found the next day they said, "We checked our records and there is no indication it was found." Um...thanks for checking your records... have you checked the room itself? The pools seem lovely, but with check-in at 4 and checkout at 11, it seems as if you need to book a multi-day stay to enjoy them. So, in all, disappointing. Seems like they do a great job promoting the whole exclusivity of the place but the stay felt very impersonal and the employee interaction left a whole "Meh - come again, don't come again, whatever" vibe.

Room Tip: Our corner room had an outstanding view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna M, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Club by Borgata, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
FlipFlopFolks- I am very sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations during your recent visit. It’s disappointing that you didn’t get to enjoy our nightlife venues or relax by the pools. Please know that the pools are available to guests the entire day of their checkout. Your comments were shared with our management team for their review and we will certainly try improving on the areas you mentioned, especially our customer service as that is so important to us. Hopefully we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Borgata and The Water Club again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to spend a night in AC- had never been...unless you're a gambling fiend, this is a depressing town. Billions pumped into casino towers, surrounded by, not distanced from, slums.
Well, the Water Club is a lovel hotel with zen-like atmosphere. Not on the boardwalk if that's important. Nice spa, room was as expected nothing out of ordinary for today's hotel standard.
The Homestead steakhouse is head and shoulders above bobby flay's steakhouse. Go to the Homestead if you're looking for amazing steaks, and sides and desserts. Great service, too. CHeck was done over t.v., and breakfast was had at the hotel buffet for about 14 dollars p/p. It was a never-ending type buffet, gargantuan, and it was all good. I am not a gambler, the entire casino stunk of smoke even though there are designated smoking section, but they're interspersed throughout so the smoke permeates everything. I hate smoke alot than I dislike gambling, so it was a no-go. For all that money you think they could enclose the smoking area or suck it out!!! I'll leave AC to those who like this scene. Was happy with one night stay.

Room Tip: Request a high room with a harbor view, great impression that stays with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Usually stay at the Borgata next door. Was 'comped' a room at the Water Club. Easy, pleasant check-in. Room is small, and furniture a little worn. Beds comfortable, nice pillows. Two lights were out and room would still be dark with all lights operable. Borgata rooms all have refrigerators included, cost is $25 additional at the Water Club. I went up to our room later than my husband and was very disappointed to find that there was no security at the entrance to the elevators. The Borgata always has security there to check your room key. It was very late and I was a little apprehensive since a man was also going on the same elevator. Thankfully, all was okay. I did tell the Concierge the next morning, and his reply was 'someone else complained, security is usually there'.
Would not stay again, comp or not.

Room Tip: Don't remove anything in mini-bar unless you use it, there are sensors and your folio is immedia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna M, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Club by Borgata, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Lorraine M- We’re glad that you tried The Water Club and regret that it fell short of your hopes. You’re right, we normally always have a security presence at the entrance to the hotels. The only time they are not present is if we need them elsewhere because of an emergency. Otherwise, you can expect them there at all times. I have shared your concerns with our Security management team so that they are aware. Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Borgata soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

First time staying at the sister hotel to the Borgata. Classy style and very clean. Front desk check in was quick and friendly. The room was well appointed (but no room safe...???) with plenty of space, nice view, and a large bathroom. The bed was a little on the hard side and definitely NOT a pillow top. Over all, not a bad stay. Will go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Water Club by Borgata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water Club by Borgata

Address: 1 Renaissance Way, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Water Club by Borgata 5*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your The Water Club by Borgata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Water Club By Borgata Hotel Atlantic City
Water Hotel Atlantic City
The Water Hotel By Borgata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Water Club by Borgata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.