We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nueva Granada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nueva Granada to your Saves list
Hotel Nueva Granada
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle 12 No. 3-17 | Centro Historico y Cultural de Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 74 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buenas Aires
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The Nueva Granada was a great place to stay. It has professional staff, excellent standards in the hotel and the breakfast was very tasty. In a place where the humidity can soar up to 99%, the little plunge pool was a welcome relief.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    40
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
36
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

In a city like Santa Marta with lot of poverty and dirt, we found that we needed a good, clean base to come 'home' to. Hotel Nueva Granada met our needs. Clean, quiet, free internet (3 quite fast computers), good breakfast and most of all: very friendly staff and owner. We felt very very welcome. Gracias y atentamente a Nueva Granada!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My trip from Patagonia to Alaska: I find this charming place in Santa Martya. Nice, quiete, clean and comfortable with the friendly staff. I enjoy one week in the wonderfull garden place and refresh a littl bit in the pool.
Doris

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed here for a week as a solo female traveler.
Very helpful and friendly staff; the town is quaint and safe.
The rooms are great for the price (if you want many amenities go to Rodarero and pay more) and the "hanging out" area outside of the rooms are great for meeting other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allgäu (Bayern)
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed 6 nights in the "Nueva Granada" right in the historical center of Santa Marta. The hotel is like 3 blocks from the "most beautiful bay of America" where you can find loads of street vendors, restaurants and everyone coming together on the beach. The hotel's street itself isn't exactly nice, actually its really dark by night and the houses around the hotel seem pretty run down. But there are several other ways from the hotel to the beach that doesn't take much longer to walk and are much nicer. Besides that the location of the hotel is great, as i said, close to the sea and also to the "shopping area" of the historical center with thousands of street vendors.
The hotel itself is really nice, they have a patio with lots of plants and trees in and even a tiny pool. They also have hammocks to chill and a little internet cafe where you get free access. Coffee and water are free all day long. They have a parrot and some other birds and cats that are always around in the patio. The rooms of the hotel aren't exactly big but in my opinion they are really okay to spend the nights there.
The staff was very very nice and comprehensive. When we asked them to change room (the 1st one we had was way to dark) they immediately offered us another one without any problems. They also helped us in planing the tours we wanted to do without insisting in selling us their own tour offers. When we were chetead by a tour operator who made us pay more than other people taking the same tour as we the Nueva Granada team managed everything so we got our money back!
Nueva Granada is the best choice in the historical center of Santa Marta!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed here for one night in Jan 2009. We got in late so it was hard to see what the room was really like. This was definitely one of the worst places we stayed: the matresses were so old they had dips worn in the centre of them; the room was dingy and grimy and we were welcomed by a cockroach in the morning. We complained in the morning: the manager refused to come down and talk to us, we refused to pay the full amount - 186,000 pesos (the same rate as some really good places we stayed in in cartegena des indes). Finally we settled on paying 100,000 for the night, but the police had to turn up before the manager would come down and have a conversation with us. We went on previous reviews of this hotel and genuinely hoped that it would be as good as lonely planet had said: whatever it once was, it's been resting on its laurels for a long time and racking up the prices. The management have obviously lost interest as well. I really wouldn't recommend this hotel. Go somewhere else that offers better value for money and no bugs.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

I stayed in Nueva Granada for one night while en route to Parque Tayrona. The room was small, but spotlessly clean. I chose a room with a fan instead of AC - and the fan was sufficient to keep me cool at night. The staff was nice and helpful and accomodating - allowed me to store my luggage while at Parque Tayrona. The hotel also had a free breakfast which was quite good - I had fruit salad and some eggs. The courtyard was really cute, complete with frisky baby kitties running around. The hotel was also very quiet. The location was ideal - a few blocks to the beach and also close to the bus to Parque Tayrona. Overall, a very lovely experience and a fond memory of Sta Marta.

  • Liked — cleanliness, helpful staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nueva Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nueva Granada

Address: Calle 12 No. 3-17 | Centro Historico y Cultural de Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nueva Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Nueva Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nueva Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.