We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Popular Guest House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nueva Granada

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nueva Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nueva Granada
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle 12 No. 3-17 | Centro Historico y Cultural de Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 56 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A Popular Guest House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Located only a few blocks from the esplanade the Nueva Granada is a great option in Santa Marta – Indeed if you are looking for a place that is affordable, clean, tidy and has good facilities this place is an overall winner. The manager Don Javier is a friendly and welcoming host who does his best to make his guests feel as if they are at home…A complimentary drink on arrival, library facilities, free Internet, a plunge pool in the garden courtyard and ample seating areas make this hotel/guest house a perennial favourite with travelers and tourists alike. Breakfast is included in the price and the rates are very competitive, even in high season. I´ve stayed in several places in the downtown area and this is easily the pick of them...Take care walking around at night though ;).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    27
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
28
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

We arrived with a big group and were originally told by phone that we would be put in three rooms but upon arrival were told we would have to pay extra unless we all shared their large room which we did. The hotel is centrally located but the street is dark and scarry at night and appeared to have many working girls down the street. The price of the hotel is significantly higher than the Lonely Planet quoted although I was using a 2006 edition. After two nights stay we were hit for approximately $60 more because we were told we had two more people than originally counted. In short, not worth the price especially if traveling with a larger group.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed with the very friendly, effective and strong team at the Hotel NG. It was extremely well maintained, nicely proportioned rooms, very clean, great breakfast, had two cups of coffee. The relaxed and focused efficiency of our concierge Jorge was to 5-star standards at a 1-star price!

Room Tip: A/C is worth it in very very humid and hot Santa M
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Hotel Nueva Granada is the perfect place to stay in Santa Marta if you are looking for relaxation. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It is close to the beaches, restaurants and shopping. It is an old building with an inside garden,that gives you a nice feeling every morning when you wake up with the sounds of the birds. Breakfast is included and served in the garden. Javier and Jorge are a wealth of information about Santa Marta its surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenas Aires
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The Nueva Granada was a great place to stay. It has professional staff, excellent standards in the hotel and the breakfast was very tasty. In a place where the humidity can soar up to 99%, the little plunge pool was a welcome relief.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

In a city like Santa Marta with lot of poverty and dirt, we found that we needed a good, clean base to come 'home' to. Hotel Nueva Granada met our needs. Clean, quiet, free internet (3 quite fast computers), good breakfast and most of all: very friendly staff and owner. We felt very very welcome. Gracias y atentamente a Nueva Granada!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My trip from Patagonia to Alaska: I find this charming place in Santa Martya. Nice, quiete, clean and comfortable with the friendly staff. I enjoy one week in the wonderfull garden place and refresh a littl bit in the pool.
Doris

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nueva Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nueva Granada

Address: Calle 12 No. 3-17 | Centro Historico y Cultural de Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nueva Granada 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nueva Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nueva Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.