We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irotama Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Irotama Resort to your Saves list
Irotama Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 14 Via a Cienaga, Santa Marta, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Santa Marta
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for a week long conference. The staff were helpful, even though they had hundreds of people to check in. It was diffucult to know what restaurants were included and not, but the food was excellent. The pool area is great and you can do some laps. The beach is nice, and I realise why there are water sprinkler paths on the beach (while walking to the water the sand has a black tinge and gets reallly, really hot). Be prepared to be extremely harrassed by the locals selling beads, massages etc on the beach. They are like annoying flies, and your patience will wear thin. I wish the hotel could do something about it. Other than that, its worth staying and relaxing. The conference facilities were good.

Room Tip: The Villas are nice, but probably the bungalows are more earthy. If you can, get a hut on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    125
    35
    18
    12
See reviews for
148
74
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here for a conference. It's semi-inclusive--meaning the wrist band you get provides meals at the buffets or from the specials at the other restaurants. The price of drinks was VERY high compared to anywhere else outside of the place. Beers had a different price every time I bought one and the bar tenders constantly tried to charge for others for which that I had already paid. If you called them out on it they would apologize and correct their mistake, but this would happen constantly and was understandably very off-putting.

The rooms was great, very clean and comfortable. Great AC (I actually woke up cold!) and large clean bathroom. Excellent shower. The grounds of the resort are very complex and almost maze-lik,the place is huge!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at Irotama Resort with our 2 kids (15 and 10). We travelled to Santa Marta because we live in Bogota temporarily and wanted to "tick" Santa Marta off our list of places to see during our stay in Colombia. My son had been to Irotama Resort before with friends and liked it so we went for one night from the airport and on our way to Tayrona National Park. I will say that Santa Marta is not worth going to for the beach at all, there is better in Colombia, but if you stay on the beach then Irotama Resort is ok. There are some other places along the coast that are "fancier" but considering Irotama Resort is supposedly "fancy" I can't say I would trust the others to be any better. The resort is run down. The rooms (we had a bungalow) look better on the website and could use an upgrade, especially the bathrooms and showers. The pool was the highlight for the kids who shunned the relatively unattractive beach and sea. The food in the Resort restaurants was frankly appalling and made us mostly nauseated. It is what it is - a big resort that just exists. Don't expect luxury but acceptable place to stay especially with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and me stayed 5 nights, 3 weeks before Christmas (low season). A long beach which is cleaned regularly. The Bohios in front of the beach are amazing; good size, nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable. The view from the jacuzzi in the 16th floor is amazing, and well suited for couples, no kids around. Great place for holidays for the whole family as well. The hotel is close to the city but private enough to avoid the city noise. Close as well to the Tayrona park. We decided to rent a cab for 1 day, so he picked us up from the hotel 8am, took us to the Tayrona park and waited until we came back c.a. 5pm (driver recommended from the hotel staff, very friendly). I strongly recommend this place to foreigners (we did not pay local taxes). We are definitely going back to Irotama.

Room Tip: Bohios are the best rooms. Just in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Firstly say that the Country is amazing. You cannot believe the beauty of the region until you are there.

The hotel is well located in an area close to Santa Marta that is not too busy but that allows very easily enjoy night life if you want, or for the more adventurer go to the Tayrona Park. The hotel is quite big and at the end of August was not too busy so we have had a good rest. It also has good amenities for kids.

The bongaloos in front of the beach are amazing; good size, nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable. As a big plus, they have a small balcony outside and a reception room (inside) with sliding doors to the beach in case you want to avoid mosquito.

In my opinion, the biggest issue is the food at the buffet restaurant. That region of Colombia is well know for having a great cosine and unfortunately we have not found that at the main restaurant. On the bright side they do have a typical Colombian food restaurant that was very good, but as we were traveling with kids we used the main restaurant a lot as there is food for everyone.

Conclusion: I would anytime go back to the same hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the bongaloos in front of the sea. They are really worth the money you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days, my room on the 12th floor had the best view you can have in Santa Marta. But they asked something like US500 for it, each night! This is 2 months of minimum wage in Colombia.
Sleep quality: 10/10.
Irotama Hotel is got a large beach, a lot of amenities for the whole family, and a good restaurant. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Upper floors: you will never forget the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hague
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just came back from a trip to Irotama in Santa Marta. I found the room (bungalow) to be spacious, clean and comfortable. Not modern but still very nice. The hotel has many options, beautiful pools and a very nice and clean beach. However they present the hotel as an all-inclusive, and its not entirely true. On most restaurants you can only choose from the day menu, or otherwise you are charged more for dessert, entree and the drink that would come with it. This would be ok if the hotel was not expensive, but it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irotama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irotama Resort

Address: Km 14 Via a Cienaga, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Marta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Marta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Marta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Irotama Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pozos Colorados area, 20 minutes from Santa Marta, Irotama captures all the magic and enchantment of a luxurious Caribbean hotel. This breathtaking resort is surrounded by nature and has tennis courts, a golf draving range and a kilometer long beach. Come discover it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Irotama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irotama Hotel Santa Marta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irotama Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.