We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but that is all” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 8 Pozos Colorados, Santa Marta, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Santa Marta
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice staff but that is all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We made our reservation arriving on Saturday early morning, we are traveling with 3 kids (5 years 1, 11 months 2) we specific asked for an early check in. We arrived late due to a plane delay at 4:00 pm and the cabaña was not ready, after 1 and a half hours making the check in we finally got our room, but it was not the reserved one. They apologize and offer us a room at the main building, we accepted it as they told us we would receive the other one on the next day. I have to say the tried to compensate leaving some fruits plates at the room, but as soon as we wanted to put to sleep our older daughter we saw that the sheets were dirty.
On Sunday morning they told us we could change room at noon, but then at 2:00 pm we were informed that the room was not ready as the guests that were in the room asked for a late check out. So they gave us a different Cabaña, at 4:00pm I just asked if the cribs were already in place and always the information was yes sir. As soon as I stepped into the cabaña I saw that this information was wrong again. Also that cabaña was really dark and with only 1 light bulb in each room. So again to the front desk. They finally manage to give us an other cabaña, and we were able to unpack and begin our vacation after 27 hours i the hotel.
We presented the case to the hotel Manager, and we never received an apologize from him, he just sent the staff, but never talked to us about the problem. I can assure you they have an excellent staff, but the hotel is very mismanaged by the general Manager.

They are supposed to be a hotel with activities for the family, but forget about that on Monday, they do not have staff at the beach on Monday´s and they close one of the pools on Monday too.

But this was not the worst.On our last day our 5 year old daughter got sick, the hotel called the doctor and she was intoxicated due to something she had eaten at the restaurant. We called again the General Manager to talk with him about what happen and he never came to us. No explanation. He was very busy organizing a convention for a pharmaceutical company.

So before choosing this hotel for a family trip ask if they have a convention at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Good Morning Mr Wullner

We received detailed comments on the difficulties presented in their last stay Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center. We very much regret what happened and offer sincere apologies, we recognize that it was a mistake in our procedure in the allocation of the reserved room. Trying to solve the problems we recommend the move to a room best suited for your application; seeing that we had not delivered what was agreed not to charge an overnight stay.
With regard to your commentary to his daughter's illness was called immediately to health care that serves and is diagnosed as a stomach illness as a consequence of fatty foods or spicy foods, which was most likely caused by the soups you asked us that will keep you under their responsibility.
We welcome your feedback as we improve our level of service to fulfill the promise of excellence in Hoteles Estelar.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    79
    31
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
59
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I have to tell you that I have been several times at this hotel. Every time we go to Santa Marta it is our choice. Hotel is just on the beach with two swimming pools and a jacuzzi right in front of the sea. This hotel has some years of constructions but it is kept in fine shape. There are room available on the bulding and cabins, I do prefer the last ones as those are closer to beach and pools.
Hotel includes a convention center so if you are by there during a convention it could be a bit hectic.
Food is buffet type and good for my and my family, I have heard complaints about other people but frankly I don't know why.
Hotel is just 15 minutes from the city and taxi ride to there is not expensive.
Farther is the Tairona park which you can not miss. If you have the time make sure to visit there are swim on its water and try a fish on coconut milk by the ecohabs beach restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The Santamar is conveniently located just a short taxi ride from Santa Marta airport. I spent one night in one of the cabins, and one night in one of the rooms inside the hotel. During the night I spent in the cabins it was raining quite a lot, and the patio filled up with water which also came into the room. I think the rooms inside the hotel are to be preferred. The hotel is in fairly good condition, it has a nice pool, and is located right on the beach (though the beach itself is not the cleanest I've seen, and there's tons of large cargoships in the waters further out. I would avoid the pool bar on Saturdays, when they have Colombian style country music karaoke (the participants sounded like they were trying to break glass with their voices). Also, there's a moronic system for getting towels by the pool, involving cards that must be traded back and forth and kept until check-out (you would think that the towels were on loan from the gold museum). The buffets in the restaurant are decent, but I have to say that the à la carte dinner I had one night was excellent (I had the veal). All in all, the Santamar is an okay place for a day or two of relaxation after Tayrona, but It won't blow your mind.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Sanatamar is a nice place to stay if you are looking for a quiet escape.

The hotel staff are nice, but not as helpful as other places I have stayed. I think the hotel is hurting for money since they tried to get us to pay extra money for my sister to have breakfast (there were two of us in the room). We had to show them the advertisement with hotel.com saying it was included for al guests.

The travel group in the hotel are very helpful though and helped us book travel back to Cartagena.

The hotel is not located in Santa Marta, but rather about 20 minutes away. You really are isolated here, which is great if that is what you are looking for.

Overall I would recommend staying here if someone is looking for a safe, nice and quiet location to escape to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

This hotel was a wounderful oasis from the somewhat caotic Santa Marta where the incredible Parque Tairona is located. The hotel's two pools, the beach in front, and the very good food at the restaurant were wounderful and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

We had a great 6 night stay in Hotel Estelar. The hotel itself is right on the water with lovely pools, pool side bar and a restaurant which does nice buffet every night. The staff were very accommodating - not as fluent in English as you get in nice hotels in other parts of South America, but always making an effort so with their little English and our 'espanol un poquito' we got by fine.

One thing with the hotel is that it is a little far from the main part of Santa Marta - you need to get a taxi (although it costs very little) - when we first arrived we considered whether we should move to a different hotel closer to the main city, but after looking around at a couple realised we had the best place around - and the buffet at our hotel was so good that we ended up eating there each night anyway!

We did have one issue with the room we first checked into - the lock on the sliding door was broken, but when we raised it with the staff they were accommodating, allowing us to change rooms.

One of the best parts of staying here was lounging around in the afternoon by the pool bar - if you order the coconut cocktail, don't be surprised if they actually walk down to the beach (10 meters away) and knock a coconut out of the tree to make it in!

On the whole, this is resort style accommodation - not quite the Whitsundays but as good as it gets for Colombia.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay at Estelar Santamar Hotel y Centro de Convenciones. We are very pleased to read your review and learn that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your comments which are very important to us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

The rooms was very comfortable, with good air condition which is important at the coast in Colombia because the weather is so hot. The rooms very clean and nice--- right a few steps from the sand beach! The location is great very close from the Rodadero by taxi (about 5 minutes).. very easy access to taxis thru the front desk.

The main factor was the honesty of the staff at the hotel... My daughter left her bag with personal belongings and the next day when we discovered the bag was missing, we asked the staff and within second someone was at our door stating that they had it locked... we just needed to identify the bag (color, etc.)... everything was in there and we thanked him and the hotel and provided this information to the hotel for the staff member to be recognized.

the breakfast buffet was great every morning with different menus.

Thanks for allowing us to spend some quality and relaxing time without worries... I would recommend anyone the hotel... I didn't know this is part of the chain of the Intercontinental Hotels.

Myriam Flynn
Chicago, IL
USA

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Km. 8 Pozos Colorados, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Marta
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the region’s most important touristic corridor. Estelar Santamar is beachfront hotel located in Pozos Colorados, the safest and cleanest beaches. Santamar is the perfect scenario for conventions and family leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar Santamar Hotel And Convention Center
Estelar Santamar Hotel Santa Marta
Santamar Hotel
Estelar Santamar Santa Marta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.