We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and Relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Decameron Galeon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Decameron Galeon to your Saves list
Decameron Galeon
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 17 via a Cienaga, Santa Marta, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Marta
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rest and Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

There are a lot of good things to say about this hotel. It had nice atmosphere, good restaurants and also a great beach and pool. They also had good entertainment at night. The water at the beach was very warm though but that is the Gulf of Mexico in the summer. The hotel is fairly secure so there are no worries at night. The room we ended up having had two bedrooms. It was not the most modern room however it was comfortable and had a great view from the balcony.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    137
    91
    31
    23
See reviews for
165
156
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is one of the best all inclusive vacation places to stay. The rooms are spacious and clean. If your are worried about drinking the water you don't have to they supply you with bottled water and treated ice, (at no extra charge). Their are so many different places to eat, and the food is delicious. When they say all inclusive they mean it, food, drinks and activities. We went during the week which I think is better for a family. There will be less people and less lines.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This is the first time that i purchase an all-inclusive vacation. We were picked up at the airport punctually and zoomed quickly to the hotel. Our bus was full and therefore all wanted to check in at the same time. The service for check-in was very quick and efficient.
The room was ready, not great, but ready. We asked to be upgraded to a room with balcony, should it become available. They changed our room 3 days later...without problems. Although the food was excellent, there was only 3 open restaurants and youbhad to reserve a table as early as possible in the morning to get your choice of restaurant and time. (one morning i decided to wake up early to get our choice and there were appox. 30 people already in line at 7:00 am...). We never had problem finding chairs on the beach, shade or no shade. One of the downside of this resort is that they allow outside visitors on day pass, and when the weather is nice or weekends, i think they allow too many as they do not adjust their number of staff to serve you. Last sunday we had to wait 5-10 minutes everytime to get a drink...only to be told, "we are out of beer, out of pina colada..etc".
Overall it was really a nice week and we enjoyed oueselves...the staff at the reception was really helpful and attentive...
One recomendation to make that would reduce the frustration for dinner reservation would be to provide an open buffet, then people could come as they please.
One additional comment regarding the nighly shows...it was very profesionally done and very entertaining. (speaking spanish is somewhat a must)
I hate to end on a downside, but you had to pay extra for a key to your personal safe in the room. You had to pay for internet and although they say it works throughout the property, its not true...you can only get connectivity in and around reception area.

Room Tip: If you do not like your room, simply ask them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Great place with great food and a cool beach, Very easy to visit the rest of Santa Marta from here. Good price. Perfect for couples or families. i wouldn't recommend it to the solo traveller.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

most of the employees were nice hard working people except the girl responsible for dinner reservations. She never displayed a name tag, was always late in the mornings and always dictated the hour of the meal not allowing guests any choice- terrible. They also accepted huge groups of adolescent tours that looked like underage kids, who were served liquor and kept the entire place with high noise all night. 3 out of 4 nights we couldn´t sleep and the receptionists didn`t care. Overall not recommended!!!

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

the beach is not nice due to lots of coal dust in the water. The food is average. The rooms are average. the staff are unhelpful at times.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

How true this is. We stayed at the Decameron in 2009 and enjoyed it so much that we broke our rule of never going to the same country twice. We should have stuck to our rule because the hotel was a major disappoinment the second time around. The prices had skyrocketed, the quality of the food had plummeted and management was making things so difficult for the staff that they were all discontented. Management implemented rules that employees were to all take on extra jobs and were encouraged to spy on other employees. The country is still wonderful and individual employees spectacular but management is destroying this property.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Decameron Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Galeon

Address: Km 17 via a Cienaga, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Galeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Decameron Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Galeon Santa Marta
Decameron Santa Marta
Decameron Galeon Hotel Santa Marta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decameron Galeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.