We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crème de la crème - Don't miss out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Placita Burger Bar

La Placita Burger Bar
Calle 20 No 3 / 16 down town near el parque de los novios, Santa Marta, Colombia
+57 310 2507570
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 130 Restaurants in Santa Marta
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Bar
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Crème de la crème - Don't miss out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Placita was a new experience for me, I had tried other gourmet burger joints in the United States (Flip Burger & Shake Shack, absurdly overpriced) and other countries in S.A... Not a single one beats La Placita. Keep in mind, this is a burger joint, it is not The Breslin in NYC...

I was impressed by it all, a great twist to a very common setting.
The first time I went I had the Chola, it was phenomenal... Size, texture, taste, and yes, the aroma! My fiancé had the Choripan, she loved it! She felt like we were in Buenos Aires after biting Into it. It was so juicy and the chimichurri could not have been better.

I couldn't leave without a second visit. So this time I asked Juan and Andres (Owners/chefs) to surprise me. I sat and waited hoping for another scrumptious burger. A few minutes later Juan came to the table with "La Placita, stuffed with caramelized onions and cheddar cheese" promising to beat my prior experience. Challenged by the man, I dug into it and found myself speechless... SO DAMN GOOD!!

To summarize, I can honestly say that my experience at La Placita will be very hard to beat. It was marked by incredible-mouthgasmic hamburgers, abnormally nice staff members, a cozy-fun environment (could expand for comfort), and ice cold beers for the scorching heat of Santa Marta (fresh juices are also delicious).
The only negative, I have to wait a full year before I can eat there again...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    21
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Damn Burger South of the Mississippi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The "La Placita Burger" stuffed with caramelized onions and cheddar cheese is a hit. Wash it down with straight out of the fryer french fries with paprika salt followed by CocaCola and you have the perfect recipe for the ultimate burger experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m, Owner at La Placita Burger Bar, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hey !! hope you had a great time in Colombia. Thank you for rating us !! always welcome to La Placita !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our favorite restaurant during our two week stay in Colombia! The staff are very friendly and they know how to make a darn good burger too! My fiance' and I shared a burger and a salad-both were very good and left us feeling satisfied! You must go here while in Santa Marta!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not to rave about it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I went to this place with great expectation by reading the various reviews but I must say that this is not a great hamburger joint. First meat is cooked on flat top and not charbroiled (less tasty) and most of all fries are pre-cut frozen unacceptable in a place that sells only fries and burgers. freshly cut fries are a must in my agenda! Stay away from patties topped with cheap Kraft BBQ sauce.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m, Owner at La Placita Burger Bar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi, thank you for your comments, however allow me to inform you a couple of things. At La Placita we work every day to give our customers not only good food, but also we are committed to our customer's health, that's why we don't use charcoal, because the usage of this element is prohibited by law on closed areas, clearly stipulated in Colombian normativity.
Second of all, cooks, chefs and foodies, know that there are several ways to cook fries, our method is to cut them , making a first frying , then freezing the product, and finally deep frying it , achieving a nice puree on the inside and a crispy layer on the outside. That is called thermal shock. Also it's mandatory in this kind of weather to freeze all the perishable products.

Finally I disagree with you on your last comment. Heinz , Kraft, Hunts etc are very good bases to start a nice sauce as our BBQ made with a red beer reduction.

Thank you; hope you had a nice time in Colombia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“True Burger Love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

La Placita has the best Burger in Town, is hard to get good food when you are traveling but this place is definitely the best way to have a great time in Santa Marta!! Definitely the best burgers and service in town. Something else the staff is unbelievable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m, Owner at La Placita Burger Bar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments Ana , hope to see you soon !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Placita Burger Bar also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to La Placita Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Placita Burger Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.