We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise in the fresh jungle !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Marta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oscar's Place
Save
You added Oscar's Place to your Saves list
Finca la Fortuna, Minca | Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 61 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Santa Marta, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A paradise in the fresh jungle !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

In the middle of no-where, 15 minutes walking in the jungle, and there is ... a peace of paradize !

Just after passing few days in the warm of the coast, go to this place with a beautiful panorama and enterily autonom in energy to meet Oscar and his place ! Oscar (and his 2 dogs and cats) is very simpatic as his place. You can chill all the day talking with him near to the natural water swimming pool or going do some sport's in Minca (like montain bike...).

In the hammacs you sleep with only the jungle sound, very not a lot of mosquitos and the fresh air (not cold, just perfect like Medellin) will give you the perfect weather to chill and rest there.

The place to go, to rest, to talk, to enjoy the nature... very cool !

Room Tip: The hammacs in front of the very beautiful view are pretty cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This place really is one of a kind. We stayed with Oscar for one night last week and all of us wish that it was more. It was the first place in Colombia where we all relaxed, had no worries about corrupt policeman or feeling unsafe. The location is truly stunning, a 1km walk outside of Minca up into the mountains you arrive at Oscars. Perched on the side of a mountain surrounded by rainforest you really are in the middle of nowhere. The food was delicious, the company was excellent and the place was very special. There is a reason this place is just word of mouth and not on Hostel World or Hostel Bookers, it's because it's a home and is just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a night as an easy yet rewarding trip from Santa Marta. Thanks Oscar - had an unbelievable stay.

The Good:
Where to start... Location. Unbelievable. Views over two valleys, mountain ranges on either side and Santa Marta and the ocean and island right infront. Incredible. It is a bit of a hike and we were able to get there by asking a few locals but will try to explain. If you get a collectivo, they'll drop you over the bridge in the "parking" area. Go back over the bridge and part way up the hill. Just before you get to the tourist info desk on the left hand side turn right upthe hill past te police station on the corner. Then follow the road around to the left (don't go straight on despite it looking like you should) and then take the small road to the immediate right. Go up through the village and at the top ofthe hill you'll see a sign directing you to the right to Oscars place. Follow that all the way - it is now a proper jungle track. After about ten minutes you'll come to a T intersection - go right over the creek that Oscar gets some power from. Open his gate up and walk past "reception" and down to the main house. This track is gorgeous in itself and on way back some Toucans flew over us and landed about ten meters away.
Oscar and staff. Most laid back people you'll come across. Nothing is a problem. You do what you want. Oscar is a great host. Tip: challenge Oscar at backgammon - it's a great laugh!
Food - simple but incredible. Oscar is self sufficient in a lot of areas and food is one of them. After a delicious dinner he simply said there's more if you want it. I can't think of too many places I've been offered this! Tip: for breakfast ask for his "specialty". Delicious combination of fresh fruit, homemade muesli and yoghurt. Delicious and filling. Also he makes his own tea. Gorgeous.
Rooms - I use this loosely as we stayed in five star camping and it was literally a glorified tent (with palm fronds on top). It was down a bit from the main house and was incredibly tranquil. Fantastic views and it was just you. It did leak when the inevitable 1pm rains came through but at least none on the mattress. Tip: just on dusk is a great opportunity for bird watching. Probably dawn as well but I was dead to the world at that stage!
Chill out. Hammocks in the shade. 3m deep pool (actually it's 3x3x3) in fresh creek water (changed every night!) or communal verandah. Plenty of space to socialize or get away from it all. Just remember that there's no reliable source of electricity so don't count on it and no wifi at time of writing. Things may change as Oscar does have some plans to implement more solar panels but take it as a chill out place to get away from all modern conveniences and get off the grid.

The Bad:
I use this title loosely but when we were there only two other people were staying. I can't help but think if it was cheaper there'd be more people there. We certainly would have stayed longer but did not have enough cash on us. If Oscar did reduce the accommodation rate he would still make money on meals and drinks as is a 15-20 minute hilly hike into town. Also at the end of the day the accommodations are very rustic which is part of the appeal, however you can get better rates (particularly for couples) in town.

The Ugly:
The only ugly thing is the disappointed face you'll pull if you are in Santa Marta area and don't go up to Minca and check out Oscars place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Words simply cant describe Oscar's place..... but, ill try

I stayed at Oscar's as a part of a tour with Elemento Outdoor while staying at Taganga. We stayed at Oscars on the last night of a trekking/mountain bike tour. (which was also well worth it)

The place is about a 15 minute walk down a small track from the centre of a small town called Minca, there's no signs and absolutely no way you'd find it if you weren't looking for it. (you'll need to get directions from Oscar or other travelers.)

I'd describe the feeling of seeing the house and the view for the first time after a hard day of trekking in the mountains as something out of 'The Beach' - It was such an amazing feeling.
I put down my bags and put my bathers on straight away, was handed a beer and headed for the amazing pool with a bunch of cool people enjoying the view.

That night was quite busy and there were 16 people staying which was a record at the time (broken the next night with 20 people) We ate a beautiful healthy meal by candlelight with the Santa Marta in the distance and then chilled out around an open fire overlooking the valley.

I had to leave the next day to Taganga as part of an organised trek but i vowed to get the rest of my gear and come back ASAP and stay a bit longer. I stayed a night in Taganga and then got a cab the next day back up to Minca which cost about 20USD.

That next week was pure bliss, i cant say i did much at all other than getting up with the sun, sitting around chatting with a great bunch of people, going for a dip in the pool whenever i got a bit warm, laying in hammocks, reading, eating amazing home cooked meals with produce from the local area and taking a walk in to Minca teach day to get supplies (beers and wine) for the night and to occasionally check the internet.

Because of the size of the place and the lack of distractions like TV or internet, everyone gets to know each other pretty quickly and you become like a little family. Oscar is Colombian but grew up in the States and moved back to Colombia 20 years ago so he speaks both Spanish and English perfectly. He's a great character and the perfect host.

If you're after a chilled out experience which you'll look back on fondly for the rest of you're life and daydream about when sitting in traffic or stressing out at work, THIS IS THE PLACE.

Call Oscar on +57 (313) 534 4500 if you want to go and he'll keep a bed for you and give you directions.

Room Tip: Theyre all good room, you've goyt the choice of a dorm, hammocks, a private room above the kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elemento Outdoo... A, Public Relations Manager at Oscar's Place, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
hey Phil, how the hell are you man? So glad you loved it at Oscars :)

It's Tom here from Elemento, if you could leave us a note telling the world about your experience, that would be awesome.

Thanks man and hope you are well. I'd love to catch up with you about hydroelectric and solar systems you are involved with. We may be dong a project in the land below Oscars place...

Suerte amigo!
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in Minca for two months as a volunteer, and found myself most attracted to Oscar's place. Outside of the town, its quiet with some of the best views in the area, which I discovered in the beginning of my stay and validated through spending more time traveling in the area. At Oscar's place, you pay for a room but receive so much more than you pay for--an actual expERience, which is unlike most of the hostels I've stayed in. Oscar is a character written about constantly in novels, and only when you go there do you realize someone like him actually exists in the world. Take your time getting to know him as you tour his property and eat delicious food! Also, if you play chess, be sure to ask Oscar for a match, and test your pride.

Room Tip: Go for the hammocks in "trippers paradise!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seongnam, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent a night at Oscar's on our way up to San Lorenzo. I wish we'd had the time to stay for an entire month. Oscar is an exemplary host, who goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you need. The prices are incredibly reasonable, the food is great, but the views! Magnificent! If you have the chance, definitely check Oscar's place out!

Room Tip: You have lots of options, so pick the one that best suits you - private rooms, hammocks, camping, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

It's impossible to describe how incredible Oscar's place is - you really have to GO!

We were the only guests at the time and it feels like you're staying with a long-lost laid back uncle. Prices are more than reasonable - $20000 for hammock, $25000 dorm bed and there's also a private double and stunning camping available. He cooks delicious fresh food, lots of which he grows on his land ($10000 for dinner). He aims to be as self-sufficient as possible, generating his own electricity using a turbine and getting water from a stream. He's such an interesting man, more than willing to share his ideas and stories. 

He built his house on a ridge with stunning views over the sierra Nevada. The sunsets are magical and you can see hundreds of stars at night. 

To get there ask anyone in the town centre at Minca for directions. It's about a 15 min walk through the jungle from the centre and it's not signposted, so you really feel like you're discovering a secret place. 

I felt so relaxed there. You can go there with a book and chill in the hammocks or explore his many hectares of land. An absolute must! 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oscar's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar's Place

Address: Finca la Fortuna, Minca | Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oscar's Place is a breath taking property which is positioned on the end of a spectacular ridge north of Minca with huge drops on either side meaning views through trees & flowers to successive mountain ranges and the valley to Santa Marta and the most beatiful sunsets over the Caribbean below. Some of the accommodation is open air with 30km views from your pillow. All showers and bathrooms have spectacular views to jungle and coastline. The food is healthy and excellent. WELCOME TO MY HOME! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.