We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Barrio Hotel at El Rodadero Prices” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Miguel Imperial

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Miguel Imperial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Miguel Imperial
Calle 21 No. 6-96, Santa Marta, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 56 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Sabaneta, Colombia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A Barrio Hotel at El Rodadero Prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I, and a mutual friend, stayed at this property during December 2012. We booked through booking.com and got a rate of COP$ 150,000 per night. We ended up here due to a "navigation error" on my part. After one night, we move out of centro, and to another tourist-oriented hotel on the malecon of El Rodadero.

During our very short stay at the hotel, the three of us shared a 12 SQ MT triple room with three small, hard standard beds. There was no room to move around, so we took turns walking to the closet...LOL. The bathroom has adequate dimensions, is clean, but has no hot water. There are no eye-level windows in the unit... probably because the vista is a field of tin roofs. There are lots of barking dogs outside the hotel, but they seemed to pipe down after 11 pm. The bedroom has a small closet, and a nightstand with three tiny drawers, so we kept most of our clothes in our luggage. The condition of the rooms and common areas is very good, and the hotel was clean throughout. The staff was friendly and courteous.

Hotel San Miguel Imperial is in one of the centro barrios of Santa Marta... at least 7 long blocks from the ocean. I would describe the neighborhood as dicey, and would not be out and about during night time. There is NO hotel security at the front door/reception area. On the plus side, the hotel is a few blocks from the main shopping district and an Exito and Gino Pascarelli outlet is only two blocks away.

In short, we ended up at San Miguel Imperial by "mistake," but recovered nicely, and moved to another hotel on the beach, and enjoyed the rest of our short vacation. I would not stay at this hotel again. I am also VERY disappointed with booking.com's pricing for this hotel. The value of this hotel is about half of what we paid.

Room Tip: Unless you are in Santa Marta on business, or have relatives in Santa Marta centro, do not book here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have spent three nights at San Miguel Imperial hotel and it was better than I expected. To begin with, it's affordable, which is a plus in a touristic city. Secondly, the premises look new and well-kept, good shower and air-conditioner, clean room and basic but decent breakfast. Added to all this, the kindness of the reception staff, giving tips of where to go. If you don't mind the fact that the hotel is located very near a cemetery (but you see this from the street, not from 2nd floor rooms like mine), this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel was great! Very clean, affordable, great shower and AC. Friendly staff that din't mind my broken Spanish. Although the bar next door was very loud on the street, once I got into my room I couldn't hear it at all. Nice place, I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta, null, Colombia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I really liked this place for the friendly atmosphere and the quality of the rooms and service for a great price.
The location is great, on a buzzing lively street facing onto a lovely park with flower stands. Inside the hotel it is bright and fresh and clean. The rooms are nice and quiet and so its a get get away either for business or tourism.
The roof terrace is a great place for a drink and to watch the sunset or the world go by ....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Miguel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Miguel Imperial

Address: Calle 21 No. 6-96, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel San Miguel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Miguel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.