We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Boutique Hotel in the Historic Section of Santa Marta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel to your Saves list
Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Pickup!
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Marta
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quaint Boutique Hotel in the Historic Section of Santa Marta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My stay at the Hotel Isabella was very pleasant especially due to the amazing treatment by the hotel staff. I found all staff members very courteous, respectful and willing to answer any questions I had regarding things to do in Santa Marta and places to eat. The hotel itself is a beautiful historic building that is a hidden gem. The room was very comfortable with modern amenities and a large bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and you had about 4 different choices that brought tea, fresh juice, fruit salad and coffee along with either your omelet or other choices. Also they allowed free unlimited phone calls to the US which is amazing! The hotel is 2 blocks from the beach (now this isn't the best beach since it is right by a marina and a large cargo dock is clearly visible from the beach...I would suggest the beach at Taganga). You are literally a few blocks from various restaurants, 5th avenue which are full of stores (not high end ones) and the historic district which is beautiful. I would recommend this hotel and I really thank all the staff for their kindness and helpful tips!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We love the fact you mentioned the free international calling (some restrictions to certain countries). We spend a lot of time in the building process to have everything designed perfectly. Local PBX and International VOIP was a tricky part which we were able to solve. Thanks for noticing and remember to book direct on your next stay. You can select our offical price on the Trip Advisor page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    47
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
160
24
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at Casa de Isabella in October 2013. The hotel is truly a gem. Beautifully architected and tastefully done, you can’t go wrong. In the heart of the city with the best included breakfast and wonderful staff, you’ll have a great stay. We stayed in one of their suites, the room was sleek, modern and kool. The private pool was great, a tad bit dangerous with respect to lack of railing around the perimeter of the private area but it has breathtaking views of the city. Special shout out to Dauwner at the reception desk who was so helpful with helping us explore the city

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for the great review and I will let Dauner know you said hello. We appreciate your business and remember to book direct on your next visit for the best offers. We have our official link on our Trip Advisor review page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was not sure what to expect when I arrived on the Colombian coast after our trip to the coffee region, but upon first glance, Santa Marta is still very much developing. However, Casa de Isabella was a diamond in the rough! As soon as we walked in the door, we were given a welcome juice, which my kids loved! They usually do not try new things, but it was hot and they were thirsty, so they tried it. After that they kept asking for more!

The staff is great, the owner stopped to talk with us about the local attractions, and the breakfast was delicious. I heard there are a few other good hotels in the area, but stop your search - Casa de Isabella is totally worth it. They make you feel at home, and inside the walls is completely safe. Make sure you spend some time on the top deck in the pool.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review. We appreciate your business and remember when you come back to book direct for best offers and services. We now have a direct link on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here for just one night with my boyfriend after camping in Tayrona for a few nights. The service was excellent and the rooms were so comfortable. We were greeted with fresh juice upon arrival. The staff made us spa appointments at their sister hotel. Everything was taken care of and we did not have to do a thing. The complimentary breakfast was so delicious. One staff member even went out of his way to show us one of the hotel's suites with views of the water. They also allowed us to check out an hour later with no added cost. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review and we look forward to your return. When you come back next time remmeber to try out Villa Maria. Most guests end up not even going to Tayrona when they experience the beach in front of Maria. Also please book directly for the best price option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Firstly, I'd like to thank the staff at Casa de Isabella. During the entire process of booking, staying and helping with any coordination, it was great. Franklin and Dauner were exceptional in getting us settled and making sure our stay was awesome. We stayed in a regualar queen room one night, and upon our return from the park, we had a suite. Both rooms were awesome, comfortable and well appointed.
The hotel fits the nice relaxed pace of Santa Marta.
The second floor dipping pool was so relaxing after our first day in Santa Marta, as we relaxed with a few Aquila's, it felt like our own small hotel.

The upstairs suite with access to a private jacuzzi was awesome. After our days at Tayrona we really enjoyed this.
The modern touches of Free International calls, Apple TV, and Internet is great. First class all the way.

Jacob took us down to the other Kali hotel one evening, and it's nice to see the entire concept of the hotels. Thanks for showing us the differences.

When we head back to Santa Marta we'll for sure come bak to Casa de Isabella!
Thanks Again!
:-)

Room Tip: The two suites are on the third floor, so it's got an extra set of stairs, but well worth the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review and look forward to your return. Remember to book direct for the best prices. Please try Villa Maria for your next trip out to Tayrona. I think you will find that you don't even want to go to Tayrona when you see the isolation of Maria's beautiful beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Colombia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The place is very beautiful and I was really surprised to find such a nice place in Santa Marta, and will definitely go back. The setting is amazing and the rooms not only spacious, but also very comfortable and modern. The rooms has all the most modern tech gadgets (apple TV, antenna, internet, etc) and the comfort of a 4-5 star hotel. They also have a nice touch in its decoration and liked every corner of the room.

The breakfast was delicious and the table setting also nice, though they seemed to be understaffed while attending the guests, or maybe inexperienced, since they only had to attend three tables, which is their capacity. Though it doesn't affect my overall concept, it's something they have to work on. I also would like to comment the front desk guy who did my check out, forgot to coordinate my cab from Villa Maria (their gem in the Tayrona Park) which nearly made us miss our flight. It was quickly solved by the administrator of this hotel, who got us a cab in a hurry (45 minutes away, but still made it).

I strongly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for this wonderful review and we look forward to your return! Noted on breakfast. It really is an operational issue which we are constantly balancing. We want to offer made to order fresh breakfasts. Since we try to keep guest costs low and service high we are always balancing staff to fulliest. Adding an additional employee would mean we have to increase prices which we had been resisting.

Please when you return book direct as we offer our best rate and additional services. By booking direct we save commissions and try to pass those savings to guests with extra services.

Lastly we just added Cartagena to our Kali Hotel properties. We have 5% global discounts when booked in conjuction. Take a look when you have time prior to you next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Casa de Isabella and they were wonderful. Unfortunately my husband got sick and we had to depart early so never got to experience this great hotel as much as we would have liked. However they were great got us a doctor and then transportation to get to Cartagena and the doctor that our US doctors had waiting for us. Thank you Franklin for all your help. We are looking forward to the time we can come again and have a truly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
First we are sorry about your husband getting sick and hope all is well. We are glad we could help and you used the same doctor who treated my wife in July. great guy!

Please remember to book direct through Kali Hotels for best ates when you return and stay at Kali's Cartagena location on you next trip. We have 5% global discounts for combined bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel

Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella is a luxury hotel located one block from the Santa Marta beach. Casa de Isabella hope our guests feel the warmth and history of the colonial architecture in El Centro Histórico of Santa Marta, Colombia. We have taken great strides to offer every possible luxury to our guests. We feel we have renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Isabella, a Kali Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.