We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, even nicer people!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Calle 18, 3-115, Santa Marta, Santa Marta 472, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Marta
Space
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, even nicer people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had a great stay at Casa Del Farol. The owners Sandra and Angel were very warm, and helpful with offering recommendations for Santa Marta, and even helped with a long list of things to do and see in Cartagena. The staff also tries hard to cater to all needs, you have to ask for things, but when you do they do everything they can to help.

The only downside (if I am being very picky) is the proximity of the 2 main-floor rooms to the breakfast area- its noisy early in the morning with staff preparations and other guests eating. Also the rooftop dipping pool/sunning area is a missed opportunity as it's not kept up very well. If it was, it would be a great place to have a drink at sunset after a long day of sightseeing.

All in all Casa del Farol is a little gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    33
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
163
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadeloupe
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were a little bit disappointed : the room had peeling paint, so had the walls, the patio is small and the decoration is not so cosy as we saw in the photos
The outside appearance is ugly and the street is sad and unsafe...

But, the staff is very friendly and helpfull, so are the owners.
The breakfast is very good with a large choice
The location is convenient to visit Santa Marta (far behind Cartagena....)

We think it's overrated, compared with our cartagenian experience

Room Tip: Don't choose Nueva York
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The very friendly owners of this boutique hotel, Angel and Sandra, have decoraties this hotel in a tastefull, modern manner, with an eye for detail. The couple, originally from Barcelona, take great care in treating their guests as friends of the Casa. The advice they gave on things to do and see was very helpfull. Staff was friendly and helpfull to.

Our spacious room felt like our own little palace and the bathroom was also very spacious and had a great walk-in shower. The rooftop pool and terrace was intimate and provided nice views of the city.

Breakfast was simple but very good (choice of various kinds of eggs, fresh fruit, granola, coffee and fresh fruit juice)

Alltogether this place was the best hotel experience for us in three weeks Colombia and we were sad to leave it after two days and we were sad to leave it when our days in Santa Marta came to an end. Noteworthy: the owners of the hotel immediately offered us to check out later while we were waiting on our transportation to Cartagena. A typical example of their thoughtfullness.

Summarizing, I recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a great stay that absolutely values its money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

In our trip around Colombia we haven't been very lucky with the hotels so we went directly to La Casa del Farol which we found it on internet earlier.
This boutique hotel is located in historical center of Santa-Marta, in a colonial house. Sandra & Angel, the owners are very nice, friendly and careful people, they speak English pretty well, something it's not very easy to find in Colombia.
They took care of us all the time with their kind advices and arrangements. We visited Minca, The Tayrona park and Crystal Beach, amazing places each with it's charm.
The hotel is decorated by them with a very special taste, all the rooms are decorated in accordance with their name origin and have own style.
we stayed in the room Cape Town, it was lovely in accordance to África. It's spacious, very comfortable and clean.
The breakfast is one of the best things, nice and tasty, they have different dishes to choose, and the staff it's really warm. It's very good located, close to the restaurant area, they also own a cozy spanish restaurant, the food is delicious.
If you travel to Santa-Marta I definitely recommend you to stay in this hotel, the service it's really special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its nice reviews and was a success. After two days in Tayrona Park having cold showers we had the best shower ever, perfect power, heat and good quality soaps . The truth is that everything has good quality, comfortable bed, very clean, very stylish and charming staff. The owners are a very friendly Spanish couple who gave us lots of tips, more beaches were to go, restaurants, bars, etc...We decided to stay 2 more nights because we were so comfortable. Our room was inspired in Havana, each room is different, amazing breakfasts and nice views from the pool. They have been our best 3 days in Colombia, thanks to sandra, angel and all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Clara and Angel, the owners, could not have been more welcoming and host-like on my return to their hotel last night from 2 nights in tayrona. Stayed in the Paris room upstairs which was great in a shabby chic kind of way. On my first stay, I was first placed in habana, which was certainly not as appealing, set off the breakfast area and did smell a little damp. Understand there had been some leak.

Location-wise, it's right in the centre of the old town , if that's what you want. (Note Saturday night bookers that the main church bells go off at 7am sunday morning and are quite loud, so thank goodness I had a early morning flight)

Breakfast was simple but a granola made a nice change to 2 weeks of EGGS!



Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

First, the pluses: great location in the old part of Santa Marta, a nice but tiny pool on the roof, good breakfast and very nice waitress.

Minuses: no hot water in the sink; musty damp smell and peeling paint in our room (New York); had no towels in the room when we arrived, and had to ask for them on the second day also; internet connectivity was very spotty. Also was not wild about the gal at the front desk who, after I appeared and explained that we had no hot water or towels, kept me waiting while she accepted a lengthy phone call. In that the call came in while I was talking to her, she should have put it on hold.

The owners were not around during our stay.

I would avoid staying in the rooms named New York and Havana, as they both give directly on to the breakfast area. They are also dark and have no light for reading in bed.

We overheard another guest asking if, because of "the problems", which he enumerated as the water running down the wall from the roof in his first room, the internet not working, and the lack of hot water, could he extend his checkout time until 2 p.m. The gal at the front desk said no.

Room Tip: New York smells damp and musty; it and Havana give directly on to the breakfast area. Accept them o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle 18, 3-115, Santa Marta, Santa Marta 472, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the historical center of Santa Marta, Colombia. It has 6 rooms each dedicated to a world city and decorated for this purpose. Three categories of rooms: 3 Deluxe (30 m2), 2 Junior Suite (40 m2) and a suite (65m2). It has 2 terraces, a colonial courtyard and a rooftop terrace with pool. You can find laundry facilities available, room service, health and beauty services and excursionsEscucharLeer fonéticamenteDiccionario - Ver diccionario detalladoHotel Boutique situado en el centro histórico de Santa Marta, Colombia. Dispone de 6 habitaciones cada una dedicada a una ciudad del mundo y decorada a tal efecto. Tres categorías de habitaciones: 3 deluxe (30 m2), 2 Junior SUite (40 m2) y una suite (65m2). Dispone de 2 terrazas, un patio colonial y una terraza superior con piscina. Podrá encontrar a su disposición servicios de lavandería, room service, servicios de salud y belleza y excursiones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.