We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Large Modern Room, Poor Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tequendama Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tequendama Inn to your Saves list
Tequendama Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilometro 8 via Pozos Colorados, Santa Marta, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cali, Colombia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Large Modern Room, Poor Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The rooms at Rodadero Tequendama Inn are very large and modern. They are clean, and exceeded my expectations. The staff was friendly, and the sunsets on the beach patio were a ritual for us during our 5 nights 6 days stay. The hotel pool was modern, refreshing, and well kept. My two complaints are the location of the hotel, it was not close to anything; One night my girlfriend was sick, I wanted to take her to the pharmacy, it was like 11:30pm, we were locked in the hotel and the front desk employee was nowhere to be found. I complained to the manager the next day and the next couple of nights I noticed the nightman stayed put behind his desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Tequendama Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mr. hereandthere40:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Tequendama Inn Santa Marta and in my own name.

Let me thank you for giving us your very valid remarks in our services. We are pleased to receive your good comments, the hotel’s location allows us offer an excellent service in terms of it`s close to the sea and it also offers comfort and relax to our guests.

In the other hand, we will check the problem about front desk services.

We look forward to assist you again with the best pleasure.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    28
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
29
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Tequendama Inn a few weeks ago for four nights and we enjoyed ourselves a great deal. The hotel is situated directly on the beach with a 15 minute taxi ride to the airport in one direction and downtown Santa Marta the other direction (average of $7-8 US dollars). The deck overlooking the beach was the ideal place to relax and have a drink after a long day of trekking through beautiful Tayrona park. The room was spacious and clean, no problems there. The breakfast that was included was satisfying and served with care. The pool was tiny, but who goes to Santa Marta for a pool anyway? The television did not come through very clearly, but who goes to Santa Marta for television anyway? The hot water in the shower was a plus.

One tip for the guest: Apparently there is a very similarly named hotel close by and taxi drivers can get confused. I recommend having the address with you when getting a cab so they know exactly where they are going. Directions to Tequendama Inn do include “turn off the paved road”.

Overall it was a fantastic experience and I wouldn’t hesitate staying here again when I return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Tequendama Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mr. AboveTheClouds85:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Tequendama Inn Santa Marta Hotel and in my own name.

Let me thank you for giving us your very valid remarks in our services. . We are pleased to know that your stay was delightful; and we appreciate your suggestions about some recommendations to get to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again and to have the pleasure of assist you.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

ten minutes from Rodadero, ten mins from the airport, 25mins from Taganga, located in peaceful environment; cleaning service very efficient; rooms are spacious and well designed; brilliant breakfast; kind of small swimming pool but next to a beach; who likes swimming like I do, will love this beach, which is more like 150m pool with extremely calm water.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Tequendama Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mr. jakub h:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Tequendama Inn Santa Marta Hotel and in my own name.

Let me thank you for giving us your very valid remarks in our services. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel; we have a complete cleaning staff to keep in the best conditions our hotel in order to satisfy the guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here for one week when arriving to Colombia. The hotel is pretty close to the airport, but faraway from everything else. We took a cab to El Rodadero and Santa Marta every night since there's nothing to do or see around the hotel. If you want to hang on the beach every day and go to bed early every night this place is for you. The beach is ok (but you need to pay for shade and chairs), and there are two tiny pools as well. The breakfast was boring (but first day when we arrived just after breakfast was over, it was a nice touch to still serve it to us), as was the whole menu. And expensive as well.
The room was nice and very clean, but being on second floor it had no view and the balcony was really small anyway. We didn't get warm water in the shower, and since only two persons barely spoke english (the other being a waiter), we never had it fixed.
I wouldn't stay here again on my vacation.

Room Tip: The higher floors probably have a view of some sort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisJorgeJimenez, Community Manager at Tequendama Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Susanna H:
In advance we thank you for the confidence placed in us by choosing to enjoy their holiday in Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta Hotel Tequendama Society, chain of tradition and excellence in service for 59 years in Colombia.
We regret any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. Likewise, we tell you that we are making improvements to retell his gracious presence in our hotel. Within these quality processes, this is a phased implementation of hot water at 100% of the rooms, finding recreation programs for adults and children throughout the day in high season supported by a travel agent present in the facilities which offers a number of options to meet the most destination.
Moreover, taking advantage of our excellent food and beverage service and by valuable comments, we implemented a breakfast bar based on a broad product range consists of cold juice, a choice of fruit, cereals, breads, hot drinks and proteins.
Thanks to your feedback, we implemented the necessary changes and look forward to your visit again wishing you have a memorable experience in the Tequendama Inn Santa Marta
Sincerely,
Operations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tequendama Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tequendama Inn

Address: Kilometro 8 via Pozos Colorados, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tequendama Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive zone of “Pozos Colorados” between” the airport Simón Boliva and the historical center of Santa marta, the hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta is the ideal place to rest peacefully.In this place, the charms of the caribbean join to the magic of Sierra Nevada to create a Paradise environment with beatifull beaches and specially quiet sea. Only five minutes from the touristic zone of “El rodadero”, the place is characterized by security and cleanlinnes of its beaches.36 guest roms, estándar, superior and ocean view with capacity to 160 people in single, double or multiple accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tequendama Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tequendama Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.