We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dreamer Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Dreamer Hostel to your Saves list
The Dreamer Hostel
cr 51, 26D-161 (diagonal 32) Los Trupillos de Mamatoco, Santa Marta 5, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It's a nice average hostel to spend few nights just to relax. There's not much going on around apart park Tyrona. Water is cold but it's same everywhere in Colombia .
The dislikes: I couldn't get reimbursed for unused nights when asked to cancell my reservation few days in advance. So, don't pay in advance for your nights there. And I didn't like the fact that they charge 10% on booking other hostels over the phone .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    59
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
5
92
91
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After staying at the Dreamer hostel in Palomino (which was paradise!) and reading the reviews on tripadvisor we had great expectations for this hostel.

Unfortunately our experience was far from great.

The good:

The staff were nice and helpful - couldn´t fault them at all.
The pool was well maintained.
The owner made you feel welcome.
Sociable hostel, seemed like a good place to meet people if you were travelling alone.
Kitchen area was well equipped.

The bad:
The location isn´t great unless you are stopping over on the way to/from Tayrona.
The area felt unsafe - we didn´t experience anything negative fortunately, however it definitely had an edge to it.
The bed - the worst bed I´ve stayed in EVER! We were in room 'Australia' and the mattress was so old it bowed in the middle. We both woke up with sore backs.
The noise - Despite there being signs everywhere saying music stops at midnight, it was still blaring out at 2am preventing us from getting to sleep (not ideal when we had to get up at 6 the following morning to go diving). There were also dogs barking outside the window all night and car alarms going off (not the hostels fault of course but the icing on the cake).
Not the best value for money, there are cheaper hostels with great reviews that I would go to in future.
The shower was dreadful - barely a drip of water came out.

Maybe we were unlucky as the reviews by other travellers are great or maybe they are just more tollerant of noise than us. I wasn´t expecting this to be a party hostel but unfortunately that´s exactly what it was the night we stayed.

If you love the party atmosphere and are a lone traveller this place may be great for you, but if you like your sleep then go elsewhere for less money.

Room Tip: Don´t stay in 'Australia' - the bed is awful and there is a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fulviobernardi, Owner at The Dreamer Hostel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We appreciate your kind feedback regarding our food, facilities and staff.
Regarding your disappointment with the bed in Australia room I am pleased to inform you that we already replace it with a new one.
With regards to the street noise I dont realy now what could be as the room face an internal street with almost no transit.
We are sorry to read that your stay was not up to your expectations, However, we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future were I can guarantee that your experience will be up to your standards.
My best regards,

Fulvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This well built hostel has a lovely vibe about it. We only stayed here as a jumping off point for lost city trek and Palomino, and it's a nice place to unwind. Yes it's not in a very happening area of Santa Marta, but there's everything you need at the hostel or at the shopping Centre that is a 10 min walk. The in house Italian restaurant does good food, not cheap by local Colombian standards though. The chicken burger is delicious!
Big lockers, big rooms. Strange problem with the water which seemed to turn off every day for an hour or two around 5 pm (worse timing!), which nobody warned us about. The bathrooms need to be done up a bit- always flooding in the showers.
This place has one big problem- some great staff (italian owner Miguel is fantastic), some terrible. One girl in particular was argumentative, rude and totally unfriendly. Perpetual bad day or something.
Also the prices are very steep for a 10 bed dorm- we paid 35cop when average Colombian rate is 20. The private rooms are crazy expensive- you can find a cheap hotel in the city much cheaper. But the dreamer may just be worth it...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Perfect location for getting to Tayrona or Palomino etc. Really relaxing atmosphere, super friendly staff, refreshing pool.
We also stayed at the Dreamer in Palomino, which feels like a mini resort. Nice big private rooms, pool, hammocks, more friendly staff and a one minute walk to the beach!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend and some friends in January 2012. We spent 2 nights in a dorm before heading off to trek to the Lost City, then slept in a private room for 2 nights on our return.

Pros:
- Great layout, with dorms and rooms around a central pool, with hammocks, a bar and a restaurant.
- Good wifi.
- Excellent staff, who managed to get my walking boots back for me after I left them on a bus!
- Close to a good supermarket and shopping centre with many ATMs.
- Large lockers in the dorms.
- Clean dorms, private room and shared bathroom.
- All music is turned off at midnight, so you can actually get some sleep!

Cons:
- It's not close to the town, but we were there for the Lost City trek and Tayrona Park only, for which this place is perfect.
- The dorms are quite expensive; private rooms offer better value.

All in all, a great hostel and somewhere we would definitely stay again.

Tips for the local area:
- Everyone raves about the beaches in Tayrona Park. They're not that great, certainly not worth the entry fee and long walk.
- The Lost City trek is brilliant. We did it with Magic Tours and had a great experience.
- The Exito supermarket serves good, cheap coffee and is a good budget lunch spot.
- The ice cream place next to the Exito is really good. What's not to like about Oreo ice cream?

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Dreamer. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was great, somehow quiet despite the bar being close by. The layout of the hostel is great, a lovely refreshing pool with hammocks all around it. The area feels very safe and is close to a huge supermarket. Trips organised from here were cheaper than from othe hostels and just as good. The hostel is clean and spaciuos and you feel relaxed just being there. The wifi zones in and out a bit but is generally fine. All in all, a great hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in Dreamer end of November. We were in 4-bed dorm with A/C. Its a great hostel, dorm had loads of room, beds comfy (top bunks better than bottom!), bathroom spotless but water pressure was a bit hit and miss in shower. there common area/kitchen is cool, really open sociable, the restaurant served fab juices and food really good. Also just up the road from a big supermarket which was v handy.

The staff were really helpful and they can book any stuff you want to do without ripping you off. There is a great atmosphere here, the only downside for some may be that it is a bit out of town but for us that was a good thing!! Being able to leave your luggage there while you go off for a few days is a bonus! The only negative for us was the mozzies (and that cant be helped!)!!

Highly recommend staying here especially if travelling solo as it is great place to meet others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dreamer Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dreamer Hostel

Address: cr 51, 26D-161 (diagonal 32) Los Trupillos de Mamatoco, Santa Marta 5, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dreamer bring to Santa Marta a new concept in QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMODATIONS, here you can indulge in a bit of luxory at backpackers rates.Escape from the caribbean hot enjoying our big swimming pool, hammocks and garden, available guest kitchen, TV lounge, Bar and Italian Restaurant...Our Vibe is relaxed.The hostel is located in a strategic position just outside the crowded city center but on the way to the Tayrona park,Minca,Taganga and Rodadero. Bus Station is three minutes ride away and in the immediate area you'll find supermarkets,Cinema,ATM etc travellers from all walks of life are welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Dreamer Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dreamer Hotel Santa Marta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dreamer Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.