We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Santa Marta sanctuary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aluna Casa y Cafe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aluna Casa y Cafe to your Saves list
Aluna Casa y Cafe
Calle 21 No. 5-72 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 23420, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Santa Marta sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Good sized rooms, they vary in size, decent fans kept room cool and even though window open we weren't bitten
Well equipped kitchen, though watch out for the erratic stove
Wifi, coffee
Cheap breakfast
Lots of communal space
Bag storage
Patrick a fountain of knowledge and really helpful
They take credit cards but on our second stay charged 6% extra for this due to new fees by bank
The cafe only sells small waters so best to stock up in local supermarket
The upstairs dorm is airier than downstairs

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    59
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
64
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

As soon as my wife and I walked into this hostel it was like walking in to somebody´s home that you haven´t seen for so many years.we were greeted by a big warm smile behind the frontdesk and a great welcome by the owner ( Patrick ). the staff was outstanding and helped us in every way they could. The hostel was kept very clean and has nice decoration, the cafe serves a great breakfast, juices and snacks (good coffee). There is good WiFi service. Patrick gives great tips on where to go and what to do at good prices. It´s located in the center a good location so it´s easy to move around. We planed to stay one night and ended staying a week. make sure to ask the owner about his farm and to go there at least one night (amazing place). Thanks very much to Aluna and it´s Staff and specially to Patrick for a great stay. We´ll be back.

Room Tip: Second floor is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The staff help make Aluna a great place to stay. My room was large clean and although it was in the lower level near reception it was quiet giving me a good nights sleep. The cafe has good food at reasonable prices. I did find that not a lot of the local taxi drivers know about Hotel Aluna or can find it without specific directions which I didn't have my first day there. Once I kept the directions on me that was not a problem. I got to meet some fellow Canadians there which is always a pleasant experience when traveling. On the second floor patio coffee is available 24/7. They offer a reasonably priced laundry service which I need very badly when I arrived. I highly recommend Hotel Aluna and would return if I ever go back to Santa Marta.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The owner and staff are very helpful w. travel info. The guests often share tips, too, so the place has a very friendly feel, but not a backpackers’ dorm. Excellent location. Some rooms more attractive than others.

Room Tip: Glad I chose air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hostel staff was very helpful with information about the local area and the rooms were clean and had flat screen TV's.
Very clean and the upstairs area was equipped with a kitchen. Coffee was complimentary and they also had a cafe on the first floor.
Enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to stay with them agin in the future

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived at Aluna and we're pleasantly surprised by the very comfortable and well run hostel. We used it as a base during our stay on the caribbean coast. Coming and going over ten days it was always a pleasure to arrive back and get a friendly smile from the staff. .There was always someone on hand to ask advise The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the cafe does great carrot cake and pancakes.to help mull over your choices.

We loved Patrick's finca up in Paso del mango. Very quiet, good walks, lovely staff though I did get a few midge bites at the chocolate plantation - but then it was worth it for 100% organic Colombian chocolate that I'm drinking back here in Spain/

Highly recommended .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great location in the Centro Historico, friendly, comfortable and clean. Perfect for enjoying the relaxed charm of Santa Marta.

Excellent amenities: wifi, guest kitchen on the roof terrace, cafe, supermarket one block away, etc. Knowledgeable staff.

Accommodation ranges from private air conditioned rooms to dorm rooms with bunks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aluna Casa y Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aluna Casa y Cafe

Address: Calle 21 No. 5-72 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 23420, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical centre of Santa Marta. Perfect as a base for nearby attractions as:. Parque Tayrona. Cuidad Perdida & the Sierra Nevada. Beaches - Bahía de Concha, Arrefices, Cabo San Juan & Taganga. Accommodation includes (all rooms en-suite): Doubles, Twins, Dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aluna Casa y Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aluna Casa y Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.