We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LA BRISA LOCA IS AWESOME & IS MY FAVORITE HOSTEL IN THE WORLD!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Brisa Loca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Brisa Loca to your Saves list
La Brisa Loca
Calle 14 #3-58 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 23420, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Medellin, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LA BRISA LOCA IS AWESOME & IS MY FAVORITE HOSTEL IN THE WORLD!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place has everything you need: a pool on the first floor with hot chicks in thongs, a cool bar with great cheap food and a pool table on the second floor, and a roof top terrace with hammocks and an amazing view. The hostel was very clean and the A/C helped me beat the heat. The staff and owners were super friendly & some of the sweetest people i have met on my travels. I would recommend this place to anyone on any budget!

Room Tip: All the rooms are sweet! The first floor rooms surround the pool and the second floor rooms are clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    81
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
46
65
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a really good time at this hostel. Definitely a party place, so wouldn't recommend it if you can't put up with a bit of noise as the bar's open late every night. The beds were comfortable, the dorms clean with lock boxes for your things. The staff were all very helpful, and the barman Blake really gave the place a lot of warmth with his friendly greetings and smiles every day. We stayed for a couple of nights before and after visiting Tayrona National Park, leaving our luggage with the hostel. Only negatives were the dubious security of their luggage storage room (given that everyone could walk in and out as they pleased, and entrance was by no means monitored), although we didn't have anything taken. And the beers at the bar were pretty expensive comparatively to everywhere else we've stayed.

Room Tip: Get a room with air con - it's very hot in Santa Marta!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had an absolute blast at La Brisa Loca, the worst thing about it is trying to leave the place!
Its a beautiful building, the dorm beds comfortable and all the bathroom facilities are well maintained.
The bar in this place is amazing, cheap and the staff were all really cool, helpful and happy, including the temporary workers.
The rooftop is not to be missed, with hammocks to chill in and awesome views.
The pool is perfectly placed, and the tv room got an upgrde while we were there with a massive selection of movies.
I think i may have to return here and work within this place as its THAT good.
If you are in Santa Marta be sure not to miss Minca (mountain retreat town) and Taganga which is a 10min cab ride away. Also the staff will be able to help you to get to a surf camp an hour or so away called Costeno which is also amazing!
Thanks Brisa!!

Room Tip: It can be hot and humid in Santa Marta so maybe go for the big dorms with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Had awesome time at la brisa great value for money, location perfect.Very omfortable private room, ensuite great atmosphere for back backers. Awesome breakfast no complaints at all. Stayed seven nights.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at the Brisa Loca for about 4 days and had a great time. Is in a good location close to bars, restaurants, and the water. The pool was great for escaping the heat along with the ample bar. Also the rooftop was great for nursing hangovers in the morning and enjoying drinks in the evening. If your in Santa Marta I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Between the rooftop terrace, super fun bar, clean rooms and awesome staff, La Brisa Loca sets the bar high when it comes to hostel accommodations. It was an absolute blast staying at La Brisa Loca and I wouldn't hesitate for a second to go back or recommend it to a friend-- in fact, I have a friend staying there now! If you're going to Santa Marta and you're looking for a fun, young atmosphere right in the heart of the city, La Brisa Loca is, hands down, your best bet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I had a GREAT time at La Brisa Loca during a recent trip to Santa Marta - and would love to go back some day. It's super chill - full of lots of friendly travelers and equipped with comfortable accommodations. Whether you want to enjoy a few drinks in the bar, relax in the pool, or hang out on the rooftop patio in hammocks, La Brisa Loca has a little bit of everything. It's a perfect escape for travelers seeking relaxation or fun, and it's in an awesome location (walking distance to pretty much anything you'd need). The staff is super helpful and the bar food is delicious while affordable too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Brisa Loca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Brisa Loca

Address: Calle 14 #3-58 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 23420, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by two brothers, Ryan & Evan Doré, La Brisa Loca encompasses everything great they found in the best backpackers hostels around the world after years of traveling and research. This beautiful, centrally located hostel is in a two-story, 80 year-old neo-Republican mansion that has been meticulously restored and remodeled to both recreate the colonial charm of the historic building while providing a variety of amenities for the value conscious backpacker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your La Brisa Loca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Brisa Loca Hotel Santa Marta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Brisa Loca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.