We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Dining Experiences in Colombia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Bar Burukuka

Restaurante Bar Burukuka
Carrera 1 Calle 1 Rodadero | Entrada por Edificio Cascadas del Rodadero, Santa Marta, Colombia
4223080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 117 restaurants in Santa Marta
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Colombian, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Favorite Dining Experiences in Colombia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Although we stayed in the historic center of Santa Marta, one evening we took a cab to Burukuka to watch the sun set and have dinner. Sipping tropical drinks on the terrace while watching the sun disappear behind the horizon was the quintessential vacation experience. The views from the restaurant were stunning. And although we ate well everywhere in Colombia, the steaks at Burukuka were sublime. Also, they were better than those we had at high-end spots in Cartagena and represented much better value.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    61
    63
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An expensive view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

This place has an amazing view, it is worth seeing it at least once if you like the sea and sunsets. Eventhough the food was tasty and the service very good the prices were high. Not worth it. The portions are very small. The cocktails are overpriced and it is hard to tell whether they actually have their main ingredient. Overall we left with mixed feelings. If you like good food and it is your main reason to eat out don't go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, but overpriced...and a little to indulgent.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

It was our last night in rodadero before our group was leaving, we thought hey... We saved the best for last. It seemed destined to be a night of partying, friends, fun and views. But
Ooops did we choose the wrong place. At night this restaurant turns into a bar, seemingly full of party peeps fresh off the beach... But have a look at the cocktail menu and you'll be amazed... A rum and coke for $15.. American..(yikes)
Our party of 3 ages from 26-29 were ready for a good time but sadly the atmosphere here is strange, it gives you an impression on class but honestly your more likely to find lots on under aged kids drunk beyond control. Liquor here flows fast and long and for just about anybody of any age.... Atmosphere is a disaster here, beverages overpriced... But view was glorious....just remember for Colombia, the coast and rodadero this place is expensive.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great view from the terrace, good variety of food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

Make sure to make a booking in the holiday season (December-January) as we didn't and had to wait a while for a table. Once seated the service was good and they had a good variety of food, steaks, seafood etc.

They have a nightclub on the outside terrace area from about 11pm which has a great view of rodadero beach.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The restaurant is located high above Rodadero. It has a great view along the beach, perfect for dining on the terrace.

The food and service were excellent. Probably the fastest service I've had in Colombia.

The price was about 200,000 COP for 2 people, including a cocktail, 3 courses and a beer (December 2011).

Worth a visit.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Bar Burukuka also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Restaurante Bar Burukuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Bar Burukuka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.