We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location... Comfortable Beds... and That's Where It Ends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tiuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tiuna to your Saves list
Hotel Tiuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Colombia No. 4-31, San Andres Island, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in San Andres Island
Sabaneta, Colombia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great Location... Comfortable Beds... and That's Where It Ends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I just stayed at Hotel Tiuna with my wife and a large group of friends as part of an all-inclusive package. Had it not been for the great location (right on the beach), I would have been generous in rating this place "2." The hotel is older and very much in needs of renovation or demolition. Our travel agency switched hotels at the last minute and we ended up at Tiuna.

On the positive side, the hotel has a great location right on the malecon and the beach. It is also in close proximity to many stores, duty free shops and restaurants. Surprisingly, the bed in our room was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The racket from the semi-functional air conditioning unit could be described as "white noise" and helped to put us to sleep.

From the perspective of a gringo, the negatives of this hotel are many. We stayed in 7th floor rooms overlooking the ocean. The rooms here seemed to be in much better shape than rooms on the other floors. Having said that, the room we stayed in needed much work. The bathroom was small, but functional. The "hot water" shower could only provide a slow, single stream of water... so taking a shower required about 3 times the amount of time that it normally does. The cabinet under the sink has significant water damage, but still came in handy for storing the vast array of toiletries my wife carries with her. The furniture in the room is dated, but all the lights and electrical outlets worked fine. There is a large in-room digital safe (that did not work... and neither did our friends' safes). For 5 days we pestered the front desk about getting our safe fixed, but they could never find the safe expert for the repairs. The same issue applied to our television. After asking for the control on 4 consecutive days, we finally were provided with one that could not be programmed with our TV. It really did not matter, because the TV images were filled with snow and distortion. On the morning of check-out, a TV repairman stopped by, and informed us that our television was broken. The normal standard for most hotels is to have drinking glasses or cups available in the room. Not at Hotel Tiuna. I called the front desk to ask for glasses, and they directed me to the second floor bar which had paper cups. The air conditioning in all the rooms I visited are old, tired and noisy... many of which had broken controls.

Overall, the hotel is adequately clean, but the rooms and common areas are not well-maintained. There are two guest elevators that service the 8 floor building. The hotel pool, bar and restaurant are located on the 2nd floor. The pool is surprisingly small for a hotel the size of Tiuna. The pool patio area is clean, but in need of a face lift. The open bar is adjacent to the patio area, and offers four types of alcohol to the guest as part of the all-included package (rum, whiskey, vodka and aguardiente). If you want anything else... you are out of luck. There is a large assortment of soft drinks, however. The bar staff is friendly and efficient. A small tip will ensure this. We enjoyed the bar very much. It was a nice spot to meet with our group as well as mix with the other guests at the hotel. The restaurant and its staff were pleasant enough. However, the food offered there was ordinary and unimaginative. (Think: military chow line).

The hotel also hosts a movie theater and a disco on the 8th floor. It's a shame. With some capital investment and hands-on management, this hotel could be a great place to stay. Until that point, I have no plans on returning to Hotel Tiuna and cannot give it a favorable recommendation.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 7th floor facing the ocean. They are the best rooms in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    42
    39
    31
    36
See reviews for
80
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel has a good location, beautiful view if you lucky ( you can always ask ) for a see view room. Is a budget hotel but does not feel like it.
The food is a buffet style ( breakfast-lunch and dinner ) very tasty and very Colombian and caribbean food which was great to try this lovely food. The restaurant was very clean and the staff was very friendly.
The room had a safe which was very handy. We had the option of free bar from 11 am to 11pm (whisky, agua ardiente (shots), rum, vodka, soft drinks and snaks in the afternoon).


Even tho you can walk to the airport if you look the location on the map before hand, was a nice walk back next to the see and enjoying the most of the weather, was only 7 min walk.


Lots to do in the Island and the hotel sell the tickets for attraction internally whith good prices and is safe to do it.


Can't wait to come back to San Andres and the Tiuna.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2012. From the outset I was aware the Tiuna was an older budget hotel on the island and was happy with this. We paid a very reasonable price for a 3 day fully inclusive package. This included breakfast, lunch, dinner, soft drinks and Whisky/Vodka/Rum from 11am until 11pm. The food was traditional Colombian fare and I was more than happy with it. The hotel also has a small pool next to the bar and a nightclub on the top floor. The all inclusive package also included two island tours, but we opted to hire golf buggies and tour on our own.

The hotel has an excellent location on the beach front overlooking the promenade and small beach. We had a room on the seventh floor overlooking the beach. The room had everything we needed, comfortable beds, Aircon, TV and a safe and was cleaned on a daily basis. The bathroom was a little small, but again spotlessly clean.

Most staff in the hotel were very welcoming and friendly, with most of them able to speak an excellent level of English, especially Anna on reception who looked after us very well on our stay.

We had no problems at all staying here and would gladly stay here again for the same price we paid.

Room Tip: Higher floors at the front of the hotel are quiet and have great views. All inclusive package only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

hotel tiuna .the hotel as a superb location as its on the beach and close to downtown but thats where the positives stop.the hotel is very run down and very tired the staff are of the same ilk.the food is the worse i have experienced, dished up like school dinners.you feel like they serve you very little and begrudgingly.sweet was one cube of jelly with a slice of tinned peach.never enough coffee to go round.in one word awful. the rooms where tired worn out but clean.now i have travelled to many places in colombia and even stopped at hostels and fincas to 5 star hotels,but i never have stayed in such a bad run hotel.it could be made one of the best hotels on the island with a little updating, increased food service and improved staff.i think the hotel group should stay there to see how bad it is and may i say the prices charged are for a 4 star hotel,you would be better staying in a hostal. so please dont book this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Arrived at this hotel without doing any proper research and in hindsight, made a big mistake. Bought a last minute package deal in Colombia, with flights, hotel and meals all included. On arriving at the hotel, found the reception staff to be rude, unwelcoming and quite unhelpful. The room was plain, unattractive and the furnishings old and faded - a miserable depressing room to come back to, although the sea view and views of Johnny Cay island were very beautiful. The mealtime food served at the hotel was shockingly bad - think a couple of levels worse than your worst school dinner experience - tasteless, badly cooked, and vomit inducing slops. The best thing about the hotel was being able to leave it each day to enjoy this incredible island. Whether spending the day on Johnny Cay, or exploring other parts of the island, it really is paradise and beautiful place to be. Many people use this hotel as a budget option and if you want just a place to lay your head and keep your things then it would possibly work for you. But why compromise on being in such an amazing place, when you can just pay a little extra and stay somewhere more befitting. Visting San Andres is a wonderful experience - staying at the Hotel Tiuna is definitely not. I strongly recommend to give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I got there with with mixed expectations given the reviews I read in this site, but it wasn't that bad as some reviewers describe. As you can expect from the age of the Hotel, it is not a Five Star, it looks more like a classic hotel from the 80s. Apparently it has been recently remodeled, and rooms and common areas are in a very fair condition, not luxurious but clean. Rooms' furniture is not new but isn't dirty or disgusting. We were given a room with a view to the sea (you need to ask for it) and that's a view you'll never forget, turquoise water, white sand with an island in front of you and the breeze in your face. Don't know if they are hired by the hotel or the state, but there is a group of people that cleans the beach every morning from whatever brings the sea.

Beds were confortable enough and the room is cleaned every day. Looks like they missed the bathroom towel mat, and I just asked the maid for it and it was there when we got back from the beach. I didn't see a single cockroach even though I looked for them inside the closets and drawers in case I had to kill it and avoid my girlfriend the experience, but no, not a single one not even in the corridor or common areas. The air conditioner worked well all the time and you can even turn it off or on as you please since the control and thermostat is at your hand. The room had a little refrigerator, living room and dinning table separate from the bedroom.

As opposed to other reviews, the inside pool's water looks clean as if it was mantained daily.

The breakfast is fair enough, with juice, tea, coffee, scrambled or whole fried eggs, variety of bread and cheese, butter, jelly, sausage or ham, "arepas". All the staff is very friendly, kind, and willing to help you in whatever you need.

The hotel is located in front of a pedestrian walkway where the little bars, cafes, and other shops are located, and some open untill late in the night. The night walk is very pleasant and relaxing, and you can get a table by the side of the walkway and enjoy the breeze and a great coffee.

As stated before, the hotel is not luxurious or brand new, but it is clean and confortable. The same with the rooms and stuff inside them. In my experience, I found it very cozy, even for families with children.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

The hotel was horrible. The rooms are not what they look like in the pictures. The gave us a suite, and it was smelly, the AC was not working and the windows didn't close. The bathroom was not clean looking and it was old, water was coming out from the bottom of the toilet and the floor was all wet. The sheets were smelly, old and had stains. The were also cockroaches in the room. We asked for another room, but when they finally gave us a different one, the conditions were as bad as the first room. I strongly not recommend this hotel for any reason.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tiuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiuna

Address: Avenida Colombia No. 4-31, San Andres Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tiuna 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tiuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiuna Hotel San Andres Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tiuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.