We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good... in the past...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Decameron Maryland

Save Saved
You added Decameron Maryland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Decameron Maryland
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avendia Colombia 9-38, San Andres Island, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in San Andres Island
Bogota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It was good... in the past...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

10 or even more years ago, this hotel was on the top. Now it is very mediocre one. Rooms look old, they have TV sets from the 80s. Food is average, buffet type. Some bathrooms do not have hot water and they have moldy smell. I am sure that you can get a much better deal with the same amount of money than staying in this old museum...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    58
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
73
81
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barranquilla, Colombia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were a group of 9 people (5 rooms) and we stayed here from 12-14 October 2013. Rooms were good, clean, hot water. Some people complained that the beds are a bit hard, but overall we had a great time. Breakfast was excellent, lunch was great. The all inclusive rates are good value for money - we could use all the amenities at the other Decameron hotels on the island with drinks and use of the amenities included. Lunch at the Decameron Mar Azul had to be booked the day before, and was excellent.

We hired golf carts (6 seater and a 4 seater) and travelled all over the island. They can't go fast (about 30km/hr), so the slow speed really worked for us as we were stopping often to get some "refreshments". We were a bit late, and the police escorted us (we had no lights) all the way back to the hotel...nice gesture as we were expecting a fine, but they only gave a friendly wave and went on their way. Also used some taxis, and for COP12000 you can virtually go anywhere...

Overall, San Andres island is PARADISE, and we can recommend it to anyone. English is widely spoken, prices are reasonable and the people are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Price paid was cheap. Near the end of the airport's runway so if you like to see and hear take-off turbines at 100% throttle or you are deaf... Then this place is for you. Room has real bad moldy smell, fixed that by putting A/C at full blast for 24hrs then pulling back. Staff were nice, food good for a buffet type, although the other Decameron had bigger and better choices. Pool was ok a bit hazy. Spent the week scuba diving so got in hotel and passed out. I would not recommend if this hotel was your main reason to come.

Room Tip: Dont take the rooms on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the final week of our 5 week honeymoon in Columbia, and found San Andres itself absolutely stunning. We were going at the end of Easter week, so the 4 star Decameron hotels were not available for the days we wanted, but for the same price we could stay at Maryland. Our room was fine, nothing special and to be honest I would expect better from this hotel chain. There was no hot water available even though there is a hot tap. We found the staff helpful and friendly, but that the housekeeping staff knock on the door very early, so we remedied this by using our do not disturb sign until about 10am. This did mean that on some days our room just did not get made up, and when it did there was no towels left for us (but they removed the old ones??) and I was unable to communicate this to the front desk so we were stuck with our beach towels.
These are all minor points as far as I am concerned. The major one is that the food at Maryland was consistently awful, except breakfast if you chose the make your own omelette option. Apart from that, food was horrible. My husband got given a piece of meat that was entirely bone, the fish was overlooked, even the pasta was done badly! We booked into the other hotels for all following meals, which is a great feature, but you have to pay for your own transport which means that not only are you paying over the odds for a crap hotel, you are overpaying to get to palatable food. I am not a fussy eater, and bear in mind that this was the first hotel we had stayed at following 4 weeks of non air conditioned backpackers hostels, some for a tenth of the price where the food was better. I will say that the other restaurants available were excellent, particularly the Thai at the aquarium. If we return to San Andres in the future we will definitely not be staying at Maryland.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rawdon,qc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I went April 2011 2 adults 2 kids (paid 3800 all-inclusive)I can say I have been there but won't be back.The island does not care for tourist they have better things to do.Everything is money money money.It is very dirty it's like they don't care for there island.It is safe we rented a golf cart and did the hole island.
Walked the board walk at night.The only nice place was Aquario this is an amazing place if you wake to the end of the sand bar you can see the manta rays coming in and you can swim with them.If my hotel would of been on this island would of changed everything.Again to get there you have to take a boat out and cost 80.00 u.s each day.One day the boat who dropped us off forgot to pick us up Beethoven tours.Lucky one of the guys from a tour we did the day before Wilson was there and gave us a lift back.Johnny cay island all it is is white sand money for nothing.The hotel was clean food was horrible and the bed is like sleeping on concrete.
We could eat at other hotels and we ate at the aquarium was horrible .Are room had an ocean view but water is to ruff in front of the hotel to swim
There is nothing to do on the island if you have a choice go to Rotan Honduras tons to do and clean and beautiful

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

we travel a lot and please know we are not pompous at all and far frm so please listen to me as we stay in all sorts of hotels big or small nor have i ever written a review like this before. we own restaurants and know you can't please everyone but this place is not the place to go to. i don't know where some of these reviews came frm saying it's a good place really i have no idea but this property is not where you would want to go for a vacation don't do it or you will be sorry. beds have no box springs and are hard as a rock and i can sleep on mostly anything as we camp also, broken furniture in our water ft room (which is supposed to be their nicest) replaced with unfinished plywood for a shelf, our room smelt of mold and had to keep the patio door open the whole time it was so bad really i'm not kidding, the mirror had 15 or so black spots in it, blk mold in the bathrooms floors and little white grout left without mold, shower had the same mold, no hot water turned on in the bathroom sink when you turned on the valve no water came out ! , hot water on and off for a day, ceiling had large crack going across it not fill in, light blubs were out on 2 of the lights in the room which did not get replaced, hallway out side our room had 3 at least 18" round spots the were repaired and not painted, water stained ceilings too and cracks, lobby hardly clean and entrance windows dirty the whole time we were there- we found the same coffee spills on the same coffee table in the lobby for 2 of the 4 days were stayed there which got to be a joke with us, badly stained seating in the lobby on the orange sofa and chairs besides the weave on the rattan furniture were broken or coming off most of them, we watched the guy half hardily clean the floor (seems by looking at all working there they hate there job). reception could give a hoot for simple requests and are far frm accommodating or nice. food was ok for a buffet and restaurant mgr and main server was very nice and seemed embarrassed on how the hotel looked when we spoke to him about it (the only one who seemed to care) pool area real is really shabby and full of mold around bar and have shabby lounge chairs besides half broken. all in all if you all can take heed this is not the place to go there are better place connected to this place we went there to ck them out and eat every night not in our hotel, this place would not transfer us to their sister hotels either even though we would have paid more, where they repainted through out the hotel mostly the lobby they didn't tape anything off and painted on to moldings like they were blind and only did one coat so the other color under it you could still see, when they painted the lobby ceiling they dripped large white paint on the wall mural above the reception desk and tainted that too you can see they just don't care- really the list goes on - the beaches and islands were real nice we must say and had a good time out of the hotel as we did not want to spend any time there as you would think. do not go here you will be sorry !!!

Room Tip: non are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We were aware that going to San Andres meant that we were there for the beautiful waters and snorkeling, and that the resorts were not up to par. I've backpacked before and stayed in hostels, and this is pretty much what this place is. Hot running water is scarce, the sheets are stained, and the air conditioning is not reliable. What we found to be the worst part of the stay was the food. Since it was an all inclusive package, we felt compelled to at least try the food. However, the only meal that was edible was breakfast (order your own omelettes). All the other meals, the meats were overcooked, the breads/staches stale and the vegetables in the salad bar were old.

It may sound that I'm expecting a lot from this hotel, and that may be true. I understand its geared towards Colombian high school/college students looking for a fun spring break atmosphere. However, the other problem with this hotel compared to the other Decamerons on the island is that the activities are terrible. The pool is tiny, the beach rocky and dangerous and they have no other amenities. We found ourselves spending most of our time at the other Decamerons because of the vast amount of things the other offered (tanning decks, water polo, big pools, nice beach property).

All in all, it wasn't a very pleasant stay, and I would not recommend this hotel to any travelers expecting a standard hotel. Consider this hotel an all inclusive-hostel experience.

Room Tip: You can ask for ocean view rooms, but they are very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Decameron Maryland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Maryland

Address: Avendia Colombia 9-38, San Andres Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Decameron Maryland 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Decameron Maryland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Maryland Hotel San Andres Island
Decameron Maryland San Andres Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decameron Maryland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.