We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million $$ views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Aquarium

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Aquarium to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Aquarium
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Colombia 1-19, San Andres Island, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in San Andres Island
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Million $$ views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just returned from a 1 week stay (Feb 10-17) at the Royal Decameron Aquarium. We had read reviews before booking and knew what to expect, we were not disappointed. The only downsides for us were the front desk staff & internet (see below), everything else was great.

RESORT: The over the water towers all joined by boardwalks was better than we anticipated. It was very unique and made it different. The resort is a bit dated but they work very hard to maintain it. There is a small pool which is very small considering the size of the resort and the natural pool by the pier which is amazing for snorkeling. We saw all kinds of gorgeous fish, the stingrays come to the pier as well. There are 2 buffets, 4 a la carte restaurants and 1 snack bar. There are 3 main bars, lobby, pool (swim-up) and pier. You can eat at all other Decamerons on the island except the El Isleno (brand new). Great concept I have never seen elsewhere. There are chairs & umbrellas scattered around the piers, if you want shade, you must get there early (before 8h30 or so) to ensure you get one otherwise they are all taken (same goes for the pool). The constant wind/breeze is great on the piers.

ROOMS: The rooms we had were in tower 1 which is the farthest one out to sea. It also makes it the quietest which was great. We had amazing ocean views. It felt like we were on a cruise ship balcony. The rooms themselves were very clean, small bathroom with small shower, safe ($), flat screen TV and mini fridge stocked with bottled water. They had not been updated but we didn’t care. They were perfectly fine, we weren’t there to spend time in the rooms other than sleep. There was no alarm clock and no coffee maker. The maids did a great job daily.

FOOD/RESTAURANTS: The food was good, the fresh fruits amazing. The fish was really good, I had fish every single day. We tried all 4 a la carte restaurants (Italian, Steakhouse, Thai & Seafood) and also tried the Japanese at the San Luis hotel. The selection at the buffet was good but tended to be repetitive. There is no limit of times you can eat at the a la carte restaurants and some (Seafood is the one I know of) are also opened for lunch. You just need to reserve the morning of for the same night for the Aquarium and 1 day in advance for any other hotel.

BEACH: There is no beach at the Aquarium. However, the piers/boardwalks are a nice change and you don’t have the sand to worry about. There are plenty of options available to spend a day at the beach, Rocky Cay, the private beach club for the Decameron hotels (must book a day in advance) where there is a full bar & restaurant available and part of the all-inclusive. There is also Johnny Cay which is well worth the visit. There are also public beaches nearby or at other Decameron hotels.

STAFF: Most of the staff is great except for the front desk. The front desk staff could really use a course in customer service, they very rarely smile, you get the feeling that you are constantly bothering them whenever you go up to the desk and 75% of the time, the person you ask the question says go wait in this line, the other girl is the one who handles this or that….I have never seen this before anywhere I have travelled. It seems they each have a specific task to look after and God forbid they help you with your request. They also never have small change so if you want to change your bigger bills for tips, good luck.

Overall we had a great stay, aside from the front desk and the internet, which you have to pay for and only works in the lobby and only on some days (I think it worked only 2 or 3 days out of the 7 we were there). There were some people (myself included) who got sick (stomach issues) during our stay. Some in our party did and some didn’t. We had all been eating the same foods so very hard to say if there was a bug going around of if it was food/water related. We found out on the plane back that other travelers who stayed at other hotels got sick as well as many others did at our hotel. Obviously not a fun thing to happen but that would not stop me from coming back. The island is absolutely beautiful, the ocean is truly spectacular, 7 shades of blue is right as they say. We felt safe everywhere we went. I would definitely come back to San Andres and would stay at the Aquarium again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in tower 1 for quiet rooms & nice ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    806
    314
    87
    55
See reviews for
402
899
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakbank, Manitoba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our group of 15 stayed at the Aquarium from January 27-Feb10, 2014. To be honest our stay exceeded my expectations. We had requested rooms close together and, to our surprise, we actually got them. We stayed in building 1 and our room was 117 which was on the 3rd floor. We had a lovely ocean view, the room was clean and the noise level wasn’t an issue.
At first we didn’t have much for hot water however I discovered you had to run the tap for awhile to get hot water and then we had plenty of it. There were a couple of times when we had no water at all however within 15-20 minutes there was plenty again.
The grounds were immaculate. There was always someone raking, watering, painting etc.
We ate at the Italian, Thai, Seafood and Steak restaurants. The Seafood and Steak were the best in my opinion. The Thai wasn’t overly spicy so for people looking for authentic Thai I think you would be disappointed. The Italian was fine but not overly note worthy. The buffet for the most part was better than what we have experienced for the past 2 years on other vacations. Sometimes the food at the buffet wasn’t overly hot but there was always plenty of options to choose from. The snack bar usually had a different flavor of ice cream each day at lunch which was great.
We did go to Rocky Cay for a lunch and a dinner. The lunch buffet at the Aquarium had way more variety and there was NO ice cream at Rocky Cay! We were quite excited when they said they had lobster available for dinner. Several of us ordered it and none of us ate much of it. It was unpalatable to say the least. Somewhat disappointing.
Our afternoon at the Rocky Cay was fun. You need to get there early if you want to get a lounger. There is lots of shade available under the palm trees. A lovely sandy beach and you can wade out to the small cay just off the shore. A fun way to spend a day.
We also had a lunch at the San Luis. The food was about the same as at our hotel.
The San Luis was across the street from a nice beach that you could walk or swim in the ocean.
We did stop for drinks at the Marazul. Lovely hotel however the Aquarium is in a better location if you like to walk to shopping, restaurants, bars etc. It didn’t appear there was much around the Marazul to explore. You would need to bus or taxi to most destinations.
We are use to a beach so we weren’t sure how well we would like the pier idea however it was great. Generally we could get lounge chairs with an umbrella without having to be up at 5AM. They could have had a few more umbrellas however they had the lawn chairs bolted to the deck so you couldn’t move them. No doubt it was to keep them from flying away in the wind. It was quite breezy during our stay.
You can snorkel right from the pier which is a bonus. Underneath the dock we saw all sorts of different ocean creatures including puffer fish, an eel and stingrays. Unless you have a death wish, you do have to watch where you are when snorkeling as there are always boats and jet skis in the vicinity. They do have the area roped off so you need to stay inside the area due to the number of water craft out on the water.
We took an island tour with Big Mike. It was interesting however it would have been nice to have a few more stops to take pictures.
We did a snorkel/boat ride to Johnny Cay and the other small islands. We used one of the local dive shops. We got to Johnny Cay before the crowds however there were lots of people there so it must get very crowded later in the day. Still the water is amazing and the visibility is very clear. Our boat driver didn’t rush us and took his time going across the ocean which was somewhat rough. It was hoots of fun and I highly recommend doing it.
We had a meal at Nico’s for our anniversary. The food was somewhat on the expensive side however it was tasty. The service was excellent and they didn’t try to rush you out of the restaurant.
Several in our group bought jewelry from Tex ORA Caribe. The owner, Mario Plata, was very pleasant and spoke excellent English. He custom made several pieces for our group. His prices were more affordable if you don’t want to spend all your holiday money on jewelry.
We mostly used US money without any issues. Generally you got your change back in pesos. We took lots of small bills with us so we didn’t have to scrounge around for change. That worked out well for us and I recommend doing that.
They did tell us that you could only get the OMA coffee at the airport which wasn’t true. We found it downtown in the shops where it was cheaper AND the airport ran out of it the day we were leaving so several of our group didn’t get to bring any home.
Also, the liquor at the duty free shops downtown was the same if not a better price than the airport. With the exception of liquor we did find that most items at the duty free shops were slightly higher than at home.
Some of the group rented golf carts for the day to do their own little tour. Despite the crazy traffic in the downtown area once they got out of there it was easy to navigate and they all made it back to the hotel in one piece with lots of stories about their day.
Peeves – Most hotels offer free WIFI in the lobby these days. You had to pay $4USD for 1 hour. The service was poor and most times you couldn’t get on or if you did get on you’d immediately get bumped off. The internet places were $2 US so we ended up using the WIFI Jet Set, at a little bar downtown. A beer was about $2US so for the same price you got a beer to drink as you surfed the net.
The safety deposit box is not included in your package. We had to pay an extra $3USD per day for the box. Most places the SDB is included.
The bar fridge wasn’t stocked with pop, beer or water. They did supply water however it would be nice if they threw in some beer and pop like the hotels in Mexico.

We wandered into downtown almost every day. We never once felt unsafe or concerned for our well being.
For the most part the staff at the hotel was friendly and welcoming.
There was a rumour that the hotel chain has been sold to someone from Columbia who owns his own airline so there may not be opportunities for Canadians in the future to visit the island.

I would recommend a visit to the island if you are considering San Andres. We did enjoy our 2 week stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is the resort to go to if you like the ocean! The view is fantastic and the water is warm. The hotel property is clean and they are always cleaning, fixing and painting. The room has a small bathroom, but clean, the view we had was worth every penny! We were in tower 15 room 16, which had a view of the ocean and the sun rises with wind all the time on the balcony. We had a problem with the tv in the room and it took no time at all to fix! They have a small pool with a bar at one end of the resort that we tried for about 10 min, then spent the rest oft eh time on the docks near the ocean pool snorkeling all day and feeding the fish. They are lounge chairs all along the dock but get there early if you want a umbrella, witch you will appreciate later in the day because the sun is really hot! The a la carte resturants is like all the other decamerons, you have to be in line early in the morning to reserve it for that night, for the resturants in the other decamerons on the island you have to reserve it a day ahead.the 2 buffets are limited with its choices but the food was good. There is a beach that Decameron has, Rocky Cay it cost $6 by taxi to go but it is worth it. The bar and the buffet is for Decameron guest only. Nice white beach and a little island you can walk to, and from there you can snorkel out to a boat wreck.
The scuba dive shop that is there is very professional and is rated 5 stars. We did 6 dives with them. It is called divers team. The dives were great and the ocean is warm :) . You can walk into town witch is right next to the resort with out any worries at all. The people don't bother you and don't ask you every minute if you want to buy something. We went into all kinds of stores off the main strip that the locals shop in and didn't feel out of place or any danger at all.
You can take a day and go to Johnny cay witch is a small island that is open in the day only, I would recommend renting a suns hade fort he day because of the sun and because the beach were they are situated is all sand and no rocks. Where as if you just sit on the beach next to them there are a lot of rock in the water. All kinds of iguanas on the island and got drinks. At the aquaria with is anothe small island the water is nice and the sting rays are there, but the food was not good at all!
If you can go swimming with the string rays, it is a neat experience to hold them in your arms and feed them.
We visited other decamerons on the island and the aquarium is by far the best one. The other one has no wind because it is not on the water and is a lot hotter. The aquarium is small towers of 18 rooms maximum exept for tower 16 witch is new.
So all in all this was a great vacation and would recommend it to anyone, but you have to like water and sun.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view, if you don't mind music till 11pm the north end if you want more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were there from January 13th to 20th. Overall, the hotel is good. We got a room with an oceanview and all I can say is WOW. That was the highlight of the hotel. We visited other Decamerons, and although some were nicer and newer, the views at the Aquarium cannot be beaten. Rooms were very clean.

There's a direct access to the sea from the hotel, which other hotels don't have. We were surprised that none of the Decameron hotels, including the Aquarium don't have a beach. That was disapointing I must say. There's a lot to do in town, but if you just want to relax and not do anything, the beach is 7-8 minutes walking and it's public. This was the main thing we found missing from our trip. The beaches are all public on the island and you must not expect to take long walks on a beautiful beach. If you're a beach lover, think twice. The hotel is near the city so you can go walk, eat and shop at night. That was convenient. The island is safe so you should not worry.

Service in the hotel was bad in general. Waitresses barely speak to you. They seem annoyed to having to serve people. Bad attitude. Snack bar waitresses must take a training on how to smile, that place was the worse for customer service. But I gotta say, there were a few people nice to us, like el Flaco. He was super friendly and always made you feel welcomed. Girls at the reception were also nice and the girls booking the tours were very friendly. Waiters in general were nicer than waitresses in the buffets.

Food was good but very repetitive.

If you like Cuba for its long and beautiful beaches, don't go there. If you want to visit a different place and have a different experience, then I recommend San Andres and this hotel. There are a lot of tours AND they are quite cheap compared to all other cities we visited. Tours cost between 30 and 45$ per person. The island tour was worth it, you get to know more about the island history and its people. Quite interesting! Thats the good thing about small islands, you can visit it in a day and get a lot out of it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I went to San andres during my last vacation (Dic'13) and i had a great time. First of all, is importat to say that decameron owns 5 resorts in the island, one of them the Aquarium. This hotel has no sand, but a "natural pool" (a little space next to the deck, where you can see fishes and swim with them). The hotel has 16 "towers" where the rooms are, i stayed in the 16th, the view was incredible. All the rooms, restaurants, etc are connected by little bridges. From my expirience it is important to have activities scheduled for your stay there. For example the first day i went to the Acuario island, is 5 minutes from the hotel, here you'll see the crystal clear waters and have the chance to take a couple of tours. The second day i went to Johnny cay, again, simply beautiful. Other day we rented a golf car and drive around the island, it takes around 3 hours no stops, but it can be an all day activity if you make several stops to take pictures, etc. An additional cool thing about the decameron is that you can enter to all of the 5 hoteles with only staying in one. For example during my "island trip" i stopped in the Delfines for some drinks, you only need to show you bracelet. Finally i recommend to stay here or in Mar azul if you like open places. The other hotels are smaller and have less activities. We didn't have much interaction with the crew, only with the bartenders who were a little bit to intersted in the tips instead of offearing a good service. But overall, i had a great time!

Room Tip: 16th are the newest rooms, try to get one of those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PITTSBURG, CALIFORNIA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

this place still in the 1950 , we were so upset because we made reservation months ahead and when we got there they made us wait about 3 hours and we made reservation for a double room with ocean view and they put us in a room with too small beds with no ocean view and next to the pool which is so noisy specially at nite when they have the show , which also had a lot to be desire,. knowing that we were a couple, they do not care at all about your needs, no body train this people to be polite to customers, they just know that there will always be new tourist coming that they do not know how bad this place really is, the food was nothing to write home about, we went to other places to eat our dinners, the rooms are old and bad kept, they just paint on top of old paint and the frames and walls looked terrible. the only thing about this place is the beautiful nature that GOD has given to these people and they do not know how to maintaining it, there are so many other places that you can spend you money and still enjoy nature, without having to put up with garbage everywhere. but like i said the views are breath taking, the all inclusive is unreal, there was a small fridge in the room and it was empty
no a drink in it, not like Cancun where the fridge of all inclusive has drinks , and the drink that they made at the bars they claim were terrible, never had such a bad drinks in my life we definitely are never going back there.

Room Tip: i would say get an ocean view, but it does not matter because when you get there they give you whate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 5 days, the service is good in general as a hotel but when I have to talk about the customer service it is terrible, lack of information, most of the employees (front desk, reservation, and those you have to deal with) they have an attitude, just a few I can say made a difference but in my personal opinion they should work more in improving this area. But if you want to have fun, eat well and enjoy your own way of the Caribbean style definitely go to this island, and be prepare for an excellent experience!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Decameron Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Aquarium

Address: Avenida Colombia 1-19, San Andres Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Decameron Aquarium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Aquarium Hotel San Andres Island
Decameron Aquarium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.