We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price you pay!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cocoplum Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cocoplum Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road to San Luis 43 - 39, San Andres Island 102, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 hotels in San Andres Island
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the price you pay!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

When we first visited San Andres we had delicious cocktails and dinner at Cocoplum and fell in love with its colorful charm. We did not stay here however until 6 months later when we returned to the island for our wedding. I shared a junior suite with 3 friends and we stayed on the 1st floor. One night when we came home we smelled sewage, but it wasn't until I noticed water all over the floor that I realized it was coming from inside the room. We had 2 bathrooms and both of them were overflowing with waste water that had pumped up through the shower drains, as well as the drains they have in the middle of the bathroom floor. When we went to talk to the staff about it they acted as though it was no big deal. Seems like a common problem. They sent someone to clean it up and the next day it happened again. This time nobody showed up to clean it after we reported it. The guy from behind the desk eventually came with a mop and wiped it up without any sort of disinfectant. Minutes later we tried to use the sink and it came off the wall - water flying out everywhere. All the while the staff at the front desk acted disinterested and didn't seem to care much about offering good customer service or even an apology. After fighting we eventually managed to get a discount off our stay, but it still wasn't worth the high price tag you have to pay. To be fair, the beds are comfortable and the restaurant is good - nice atmosphere and good cocktails. The included breakfast is just mediocre. If you do decide to stay here, there is a great restaurant (the Grog) next door with really good food and great service.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor.....I imagine you will have a better shot at surviving the waste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    142
    56
    28
    18
See reviews for
83
168
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Food is too expensive, and service is not great they want to over charge you for everything, I complained to the manager for not putting an extra bed in a room that I paid for, so I had to sleep in a couch, manager screamed at me and threaten me to call the police if I didn't pay, (and it was already paid) awful experience, never felt so humiliated by a place that supposed to give good service. Will not recommended to anyone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was right on the beach and a small complex.
We had room 116 on the ground floor right in front of the pool and the beach and watched the sunrise from our balcony in the mornings.
The beach was beautiful white sand turquoise water with a great view of the ship wreck.
The staff were always very friendly and really looked after us.
Our meal plan was B&B with a nice choice of breakfast every morning, the restaurant was good for lunch & dinner although we went out most nights for dinner.
The room was a good size and clean with air con and a huge bed only negative was the water wasn't very hot in the evenings for a shower but in that heat a cool shower was nice.
Along the beach to the left there is a sandbank which if you walk along will take you to a little desert island and brilliant snorkelling.
We hired a golf buggy and explored the whole island.
The west is rugged no beaches but the sea looks beautiful with all the different variations of blue & turquoise, the town is very built up with high rise hotels that don't seem to have their own beaches although there is a beach right in the town but always looked pretty busy, the east and South have the most beautiful beaches.
By far the coco plum was the best place for us to stay on San Andres as we wanted to be right beach relaxing with a cocktail.
I highly recommend it if you're travelling to the island.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What's not to love about Cocoplum? Clean rooms with AC, friendly service, delicious breakfast that's included in your stay and all that right on the beach! We booked two nights and stayed for five. It's the perfect place to unwind and relax. Among all the Decamaron's on the island, Cocoplum is a more affordable option with friendly staff to help organize whatever may be on the agenda for the day and you also don't have to wear a bright blue bracelet stamped with the hotels name that you can't take off. We love it here and would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you come to San Andres for the beach and great food this is your place! I've stayed here four times and wouldn't go anywhere else. This is the most relaxing beach hotel I've ever stayed in. They offer the best massages at only 25$! Food was always delicious and the staff was fun and friendly. This is a tropical Caribbean getaway and you will get to live it to the max! Beach was literally 30 steps from my bedroom. You must also know that this is probably one of three hotels in San Andres actually built on the beach. The area is the best for the beach (stay clear of any hotel located near the city they are not nice and overpopulated) The natives haven't allowed any other hotel build near the beach and Coco Plum owns this land and the land next to it(which is just palm trees) so its nice and quiet. If you are looking for a luxurious 5 star hotel then this is not it. This is a relaxed bohemian hotel built for people who like the beach. Rooms are spacious and staff accommodates children perfectly. The hotel has awesome events such as the reggae night where music players come and play music and everyone dances. I would definitely recommend this one of a kind place! The owner of the hotel was always present and super nice.

Room Tip: Any room is great. I've stayed in 4 different ones and never had a problem. Familues with kids s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time it san andraes, my boyfriend and i closed the deal in santa marta for a good price, it included flight, hotel and shuttles. We got really disappointed, the service was bad, the bathroom was stinky all the time (even after the cleaner was there) and the room was full of mosquitos. It wasnt worth the price at all... Go to another hotel and stay away from cocoplum!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We closed this hotel via avianca. Supposedly 4 stars hotel. Our room was awful. Bathroom was smelly the whole stay. Felt like we had a nest of mosquitoes in the room though the AC worked 24/7 and it was freezing in the room!
On our second day the cleaning lady just took our charger without even asking (!!!) because she thought it belongs to the person who was in that room before us.
On our first day we ate dinner, as we chose from the menu. Seems after that there's a specific menu for each day, and if you don't want it, you need to sa. Only problem is no one told us. So we found out we're getting fried fish for dinner which both of us didn't want or even like.
The other day we went to the Johnny Cay island, for the whole day (from 9:30AM to 5PM), only the cleaning lady won't clean the room in normal hours which usually people are out, she came at 6pm when we were resting in our underwear after a long day in the sun, and she got angry when we asked why not sooner telling me she also cannot clean the room at all!! Common!
On the last day the cleaning lady got inside our room when we were in underwear though we had checkout later that day.
Except for one lady in reception, no one knows english, which again you would expect from a 4 stars hotel that the staff will know english.
Only thing good in this hotel is the honey-mustard chicken breast in thier restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocoplum Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoplum Beach Hotel

Address: Road to San Luis 43 - 39, San Andres Island 102, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoplum Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Cocoplum Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoplum Beach Hotel San Andres Island
Hotel Cocoplum Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocoplum Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.