We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considering you haven't got much choice it's fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites to your Saves list
El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Avenida 20 de Julio 3A-122, San Andres Island 880001, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Considering you haven't got much choice it's fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

So we decided to fly out to San Andres for a four night stay when travelling around Colombia. Overall the hostel was fine but there are a few things that I will signal out. Firstly the wifi is just terrible, never seems to work which is a pain. Secondly the beds gave me a terrible back, maybe new mattresses are needed? Also the girls at reception, if they smiled it would make such a difference. It gives the hostel such a bad image having grumpy people there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoco2, Owner at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thannks for your review......I'll make sure this attitude problems dont happen again....dont know what happended.....we have a very cheerful staff.....maybe they had a bad week....thanks again.

Good travel......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    122
    49
    14
    8
See reviews for
7
77
79
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Much cheaper than the overpriced hotels on the island. Room was clean, and surprisingly quiet at night. Breakfast was ok, views from the balconies are good, staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a double room, but there were dormitory options too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoco2, Manager at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your review........hope to see you back soon.....good luck in the rst of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Viajero is a great place to stay. I just left S.Andres and could not have been happier with the accommodations and staff. Make sure to rent a bike so you can explore the town and get their suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Reccomended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoco2, Owner at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for your review.....hope to see you back soon on our island !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A nice hostel in a very nice island. Some may say that it has too many stairs, but in my opinion, as the view only gets better while you walk up those stairs, its worth it. Staff very helpful. Breakfast could be better though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoco2, Owner at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for your review.....hope to see you back soon on our island !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Within walking distance of the beach, airport and port. Stayed here 2 nights either side of trip to providencia island. Stayed in a private double which was nice and spacious, staff were helpful and informative.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoco2, Owner at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for your review.....hope to see you back soon on our island !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The only reason to stay at this hostel is that it is the only one on the island. Everything else about my stay here was terrible! There were no decent communal areas, there are toilets in each room which stink, the staff were friendly but very slow and often unhelpful, the manager was rude, dismissive and incompetent. I encountered more than one difficulty whist staying here but the absolute worst of which was that my passport was destroyed. I had left my passport in my suitcase, in the locker and overnight the aircon leaked which filled up the locker with water and ruined my passport to the point of being unusable. Although this was clearly not my fault the hostel refused to take any responsibility for the leaking aircon. Not only were they not willing to take responsibility for it, they weren't willing to help me in any way. I only have beginners level Spanish so I could really of used some help in trying to figure out what to do about my passport, but the staff wouldn't even help me with that.
On top of the big problems, the showers were icy cold and dirty, the toilets stank out the dorms, the aircon was positioned directly at the foot of someones bed so you either freeze or are hot all night, it was expensive, there were no decent common areas to socialise, the kitchen was disgusting and ill-equipped and I hate this place - don't stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

at an overrated island. When the cheapest accommodation in the island costs you more than 50 dollars per night, el viajero offers that for only 20 US$.
Staff is very helpful 24/7 and try to assist you even if you don't speak spanish at all. Breakfast is the best free offered in Colombia, prices on excursions and trips they organise is as the companies provide them so no need to cross-check it as well.

The island has some pristine beaches and imo the best beaches of Colombia as a country (only Tayrona might compete these beaches). There are tonnes of tourists during high season, but there is always a place to go and relax if you search around the small island. Johny Cay is a must visit as well and make sure you taste local coco-locos and pinacoladas. Ricos!

Room Tip: Only avoid dorm number 10 as it's behind the reception and gets busy with lot's of noise all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoco2, Manager at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for your review.....hope to see you back soon on our island !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites

Address: Avenida 20 de Julio 3A-122, San Andres Island 880001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Downtown San Andres, only a ten minute walk from the airport and a five minute walk from its beautiful beaches famous for its 7 colored sea (Sea Flower Biosphere Reserve), available for Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Kite Surf, Kayak & Jet sky.All our Dorms and private rooms have AC and have Ensuite Toilet!! Double and Twin Private rooms have also LED TV's with international cable and Safe Deposit Boxes. Breakfast is included in the rate!!The Hostel is located in a 5 stories building and each floor has a thematic design (Rastafarian, Pirate, Sea-flower) and we also have our penthouse Bar & Discotheque!!Enjoy also our common TV & DVD room, common kitchen, internet area with 4 computers and WI-FI available at every floor.We organize daily activities inside and outside the hostel, offering you all the touristic information you need: motorcycle and car rental, diving and kite-surfing courses, boat tours, night clubs and much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.