We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overdue Review...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Hotel
Carretera Circunvalar Km. 13, San Andres Island, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in San Andres Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overdue Review...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I loved staying at Sunset Hotel in San Andres! We wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island. It is isolated from the main city on the island, which made it relaxing and quiet. You can rent bikes and snorkel gear from the office for a fair price. Their hotel isn't on a sandy beach, but you can jump off of the rock into crystal clear water. We swam each day, sometimes feeling like we had the sea to ourselves. Lindsay was an incredibly kind host. We enjoyed spending time with him.

Room Tip: We chose the top corner room based on other reviews, but it was a little warm for us, even with AC a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you Kelsey for your valuable and kind words. Glad to know you enjoyed the sea in front of the hotel and that you would choose us for your future visits to our island. We have just installed a more powerful a/c in the room with sea view so the temperature will be just perfect for your next visit.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    22
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
47
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel was simply wonderful. Let me elaborate a bit. San Andres is a beautiful place to be, with gorgeous beaches, wonderful sea life, and nice people. You hardly need anything else to have a great stay. But in this case this hotel made our vacations even better. Mr. Lindsay Madero, the general manager and owner of the hotel, is a fantastic guy! He and the rest of his family really helped us to get the most of the island. We stayed for 5 nights and every single day we had a different breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Every time it was delicious and promptly served. We also took diving lessons from Sharky Dive Shop, located in the hotel and operated by Mr. Lindsay's brother. It was simply beautiful. We also took, as recommended by Mr. Lindsay, a boat to Johnny Cay, which had the most wonderful beach of our whole trip. And finally, Mr. Linday's suggestion that we use a bicycle to get to some places of the west side of the island was incredible! We couldn't have got as many nice pics by using the bus. Just to finish, this hotel was simply wonderful. It is your best choice if you want a quiet place to rest and have vacations at your pace.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you Sergio for taking time to write a review. It gives us great pleasure to know you had your best vacation ever and really enjoyed our service and food. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Sunset Hotel was an amazing place to stay while on San Andres Isle. The location is quiet and the view is increadible. I spent two weeks at this hotel with my mother and girlfriend and was very relaxed the entire time. The owners are very kind, personable and both speak english very well. they would help with every request and tips to make our trip more enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and maintained everyday, the food is delicious and affordable. They offer all the amenities from snorkle gear to motorized scooters for cheap. I plan on returning to San Andres again and will definetly be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank your very much for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We are glad to know you had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us. It was a great pleasure knowing and serving you and we are looking forward to your next visit.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It was lovely to stay there. Quiet, big rooms, nice snorkeling in front and lovely staff. But if you love party and crowded beaches you need a golf cart or Motorbike or take the bus in front of the Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. Great to know you had a lovely time at Sunset Hotel and hope you can return soon to visit us.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londrina, PR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel is located in the quiet part of the island. The hotel is family owned. They will make you feel at home. The location is spectacular- the most amazing sunset! Very good services: clean rooms, good food and peaceful location out the way from loud and crowded beach. They were very helpful and spoke both English and Spanish. In the hotel there is Sharky Dive Shop and you can schedule excellent snorkelling / scubadiving. By the way, there is shipwreck (little sailboat) in front of the hotel, just 100 m and if you are not a diver, go there for a excellent snorkelling . I backpacked alone to San Andres and Isla Providencia and I loved Sunset Hotel! Thanks to Mrs Marley and Mr. Lyndsay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Ana,
Happy to know you loved your stay at the Sunset Hotel! It was a pleasure serving you and hope you can come back and visit us. Thank your for recommending snorkelling at the little sailboat.
From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were pretty disappointed with our stay at this hotel and not sure how it can be No.2 on trip advisor?! The location is not great and there is nothing around, during the day this is fine as we took local buses to beach and town but at night to have to pay $20 for a taxi each way is a little steep as there are no restaurants close by that open for dinner. The hotel itself is extremely old and basic. They do have air con in the rooms which is a plus but bathrooms very old. For $110 a night there must be better on the a Island. Breakfast was also pretty basic. It's also not on a beach and the hotel pool is more of a scuba diving practice pool and did not look appealing to go in at all.
Would recommend staying on a beach closer to town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review as per it helps us find opportunities for improvement. Our position on TripAdvisor is thanks to the positive reviews of most our our guests.
We market our hotel to guests who prefer peace and quiet and enjoy the rural setting of the island instead of our urban downtown.

We also help our guests in their lodging decision-making process by providing distances from the hotel to town and to the closest beaches. This information is provided in our website and also on the websites of the online travel agencies (OTAs) that we work with, including the one you used to make the reservation.

Regarding our facilities, we are conscious of the need to continuously upgrade them and we are always working on this aspect.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. We liked being away from the hustle and bustle. And there are scooters and golf carts if you want to get away. Also, buses come by about every fifteen minutes. Lindsay, Marly, and Claudia were very friendly and helpful as we transitioned to the Spanish culture :). Clean room, great swimming pool, good food. My Husband had a severe bout of heartburn one night. The next day, Marly and the kitchen staff made him some green tea. Also a papaya smoothie. We enjoyed the snorkeling across the road. Saw some nice coral and fish. One night, the power was out at dinner time for about an hour and a half. But everyone managed well with the aid of candles and flashlights. The celestial view was fantastic! We shall return!

Room Tip: Ask for the "room with a view". Bring a flashlight or LED head light.....just in case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
It was our great pleasure having you at the hotel and glad to know you enjoyed the peace and quiet that surround us. Natural mint tea does wonders.
We agree that the best snorkeling and diving area in the island is just across the road and the view of the stars at night is amazing.
We are looking forward to your next visit. Thanks for taking time to write a review.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Address: Carretera Circunvalar Km. 13, San Andres Island, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southwest coast of the beautiful island of San Andres, Sunset Hotel has 16 comfortable rooms fully equipped and specially designed to offer its guests a personalized service in a natural and romantic environment. Due to its location, SunSet is the ideal place to relax away from the city and enjoy the underwater world just a step from the hotel. Here are some of our services: -"Bon Astre" Restaurant-Adults and children swimming pool-Air conditioning-TV-Diving equipment rental-Own water and power plant. San Andres Islands for Divers: The magical island of San Andres is located in the Southwest of the Caribbean Sea, forming a beautiful archipelago with the islands of Old Providence and Santa Catalina. Due to its privileged location, San Andres has a pleasant tropical climate throughout the year and a water temperature of approximately 26 Celsius. The island is surrounded by coral reefs on the east coast and the west coast; where the SunSet hotel is located, and the sea is rich in corals and sponges. SunSet Hotel offers all you need for a successful diving experience; excellent location in front of the best dive sites and a full list of diving services including diving courses, equipment rentals and guided tours in our boats. Divers can see many of the characteristic species in the Caribbean Sea as the island is recognized for its high underwater biodiversity and includes marine protected areas as part of the Seaflower Biosphere Reserve. The dive sites of the island offer steep walls, shipwrecks, caves and tunnels filled with marine life and the sea is calm with an underwater visibility between 50 and 60 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.