We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in peaceful retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Mar y Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hosteria Mar y Sol to your Saves list
Hosteria Mar y Sol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Sur, San Andres Island 00000, Colombia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in San Andres Island
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food in peaceful retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We came to the Hosteria for one night stop over on the way to Providencia. We had wanted to stay near to the airport, for our early flight the next day, and were surprised it is a little further than we expected - Google Maps was wrong! However, the journey was well worth it. Superb home cooked food in a lovely, peaceful setting. The accommodation was basic, but clean. Really welcoming owners, who happily drive you up, and back to the main town. Which, in comparison is really not a very peaceful, nor picturesque place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks for choosing us, we wait for you again. Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    35
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
83
78
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Hosteria Mar y Sol is a beautiful and cozy place to stay at San Andres Island. Great service, everyone makes you feel special and happy. Delicious breakfast with Colombian bread and coffe, fresh fish, shrimp, lobster, etc for seafood lovers like us. Gorgeus decoration inside and outside with large green areas and pretty pool. Perfect location for relax and enjoy the ambiance of the island. The place is really clean! Every day there is a transportation Hosteria - Down Town - Hosteria. But if you want to be on your own like us there are bikes, motorcicles and cars available for rent. We loved and enjoyed our vacation at Hosteria Mar Y Sol and we hope to come back next year. Thanks a lot for this unforgettable experience. Gracias Sr. Luis you are the best!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Good morning.
We look forward to you again. Thanks for your comment.
Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

heaven on earth, this is how I can describe this place, excellent food, service and attention
I love nature and in this place i feel like in heaven ,San Andres is the best place in the world and in this place i feel so comfortable and relaxed , the hospitality and good atencion making this place unforgetttable

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello! We want you back soon to enjoy this place again. Thanks for your opinion.
Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Hosteleria Mar y Sol is really the place to stay when visiting San Andres. I stayed for 3 nights and did not want to leave. The place is beautiful, with large green areas, and flowers. The rooms are spacious, cozy and extremely well cleaned. Everyone who works at the hostel treated me as if I were family going above and beyond to ensure that I was enjoying my stay and answered all of my questions about the area and activities. Thank you Mar y Sol Hostel for an amazing experience! Hope to return very very soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello, Claudia. Thanks for writing. See you again in Hosteria Mar y Sol
Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband while on a romantic trip away. The Hosteria is beautiful and I loved the setup of the rooms, gardens, pool and restaurant on the terrace!

It is far removed from everything, which is a blessing in San Andres-but the hotel offers transport to get you in and out of the center which is very convenient! It is worth it to be away from it all as when you return at the end of the night to the beauty and tranquility of the Hosteria you feel relaxed and on vacation!

Rooms are large and offer great amenities and good bathrooms!

Best thing? The food! Authentic island food! Amazing fish, lobster, breakfasts, juice and even their coffee! Going back just to eat!
Would definitely stay again, we were very happy with our time there!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Google Translation
¡Saludos! Te esperamos nuevamente para que disfrutes del ambiente familiar de la hostería. Nuestras puertas están abiertas para recibirte a ti y a los tuyos. Gracias por escribir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I travelled with a group of veterinary professionals to San Andres Island to perform a large scale small animal sterilization campaign. This was a pilot project therefore the first time World Vets had travelled to this location. The accomodations were clean, quiet, and basic. We worked long days and the hotel staff were extremely accomodating with our meal scheduling and travel.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the pool was a great treat at the end of a long day. World Vets will definitely return to this location for future trips.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are equal in quality and atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsayala01, Gerente at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Google Translation
Idahomichelle Gracias por escógenos, fue un placer haberlos atendido en nuestra Hostería Mar y Sol, siempre vamos a estar a la disposición de todos nuestros amigos. Un abrazo y que Dios los bendiga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We thought it maybe too far from everything but it is actually a blessing to be away from the package tours and packed hotels in centro. We found a lovely beach at one end of the driveway that the islanders use away from the tourists which is also where the local bus stop is to take you into town, the food was awesome we really enjoy the local produce and flavours, nice pool to relax and gardens to soak up the caribbean vibe

Room Tip: dont stay in the main house as there is a lot of noise from the kitchen at mornings and people using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria Mar y Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Mar y Sol

Address: Punta Sur, San Andres Island 00000, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Mar y Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hosteria Mar y Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Mar y Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.