We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“actually one of the better options on the island” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GHL Hotel Sunrise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added GHL Hotel Sunrise to your Saves list
GHL Hotel Sunrise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Newball 4-162, San Andres Island, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in San Andres Island
Redding, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“actually one of the better options on the island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in 2014 after bailing out of the over-rated Sunset Hotel located on the other end of the island. We were put in room 505 which appeared to be a recently refurbished room. The Hotel is 17 years old and there appeared to be constant renovation happening. Natasha at the reception counter spoke perfect english and was awesome. Wi-Fi is spotty. We found that the best place for Wi-Fi was in the first floor lobby right in front of the little bar. There are comfy seats for you, and by simply giving up and going there for your internet needs, you'll save yourself a lot of frustration.

Remember, in Columbia you should always ask for a discount for everything you buy. We got the ten persons or more discount which I think was ten percent off.

There are several reviews describing horrible conditions and with photos to back it up. Our room, while not perfect, was actually quite nice, and it was huge. We did have a sewer smell in the bathroom unless the bathroom floor drain was covered with a plastic baggie. Each day housekeeping would remove it, each day we would replace it.

It's true that the beach is pretty much nonexistent, and that there are ridiculous moss-covered sandbags at the water's edge apparently saving the sand from washing away in a storm, but the huge pool is nice. It's also true that the food is merely cafeteria type and very much lacking in variety and protein. Management would do well to fix this sub-par situation. However, there are great dining choices within walking distance.

We paid COP$268,000 (US$134) per night which included the sub-par breakfast noted above.

There is a dive shop next door - Blue Life Diving, through which my wife got her PADI Open Water Diving Certificate. This was very convenient since Blue Life uses the Sunset's pool for some of the training.

Except for an all-inclusive Hotel to the North a bit, I think this is pretty much the best for the price. There just aren't that many choices.

Room Tip: The enormous suites are on the eighth floor. We didn't take a suite because of the incredibly o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLHOTELSUNRISE, Gerente at GHL Hotel Sunrise, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Google Translation
Reciba un cordial saludo en nombre de todo el personal que conforma el hotel GHL Sunrise.
Ante todo le damos gracias por la información que usted nos suministro, acerca de las situaciones presentadas durante su estadia. Nos excusamos sinceramente, por los inconvenientes que esto pudo haberle ocasionado, al tiempo que tomaremos medidas para asegurarnos de que no vuelvan a ocurrir incidentes similares y confiamos en que usted siga siendo uno de nuestros mejores huéspedes. Sírvase aceptar estas disculpas y nuestro agradecimiento por su paciencia y tolerancia.


Cordialmente;

Nora Lucia Velasquez
Gerente General
GHL Sunrise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    195
    89
    48
    51
See reviews for
165
185
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I'm only giving this DUMP a one star rating because some of the service people were very nice albeit knowingly working for a below sub par hotel. I use the word hotel very loosely here.
I've been on the road for three months south of the USA border and this crappy hotel is the worst yet. From Mexico to Colombia and beyond this place plays the game of excuses real well but in my experience NEVER once delivered on any promise, advertisement or excuse given to me.
If you haven't got time to read on just be smart and look elsewhere right now. I'm going to take a break from writing this review to go throw up what small portion of the entirely inedible meal they called lunch I managed to choke down. I thought I'd keep trying a bite of each item from the spitball buffet until I found something edible, but dream on. The food is what I would guess prison food is like. Ok, maybe soup kitchen but not one the homeless people I've met would eat at. Actually there is one decent thing I found to eat out of the broken half disintegrated mini bar basket. The label said was it made and distributed from Hakettstown, New Jersey ... a pack of m'&m's.
If you haven't yet excluded this puke of a hotel I'm just getting started on the disappointment and lack of anything here that resembles a halfway decent motel, much less something rated 3 stars on trip advisor.
If you like the smell of mold and mildew book your room now, but also be prepared for disgusting filth on the mold in every corner, and on every wall and piece of furniture in the trashy rooms. I've got lots of photos to prove it.
I trust that most every other spot on the globe we've visited authorities would condemn any building that smelled of mold like this supposedly five star resort does. (and oh yes, did I mention the overflowing septic tank smell outdoors?)
OK, if you're still considering this dump you are masochist and I will tell you more truths about this place that will certainly satisfy your desires and help to ruin any chance of a decent stay on San Andres.
Let's talk about the clientele for a minute. Can you say UNSUPERVISED TEENAGERS? I'm guessing this explains the Bad High school cafeteria food and good reviews. A bit surprising though, because most teenagers I know are more discriminating than what is warranted by this monster of a horrible hotel. My guess is, the all inclusive drink plans and snot-guard all you can shovel in buffets are apparently teenage budget friendly.
I also suspect when they grow up, most of them will never choose to book a dump like this at any price.
Speaking of price. Please note here that I had to make a last minute flight to Medellin change and asked my last hotel reception to book the best room for me. They picked and booked the hotel. The cost with all meals and drinks was $500,000 COP - about $250 US. Moreover, after smelling the room I asked to be moved and said I would pay anything to not sleep with that smell of mold. They sent someone to my room with a jar of some chemical that is suppose to act like a dehumidifier and take the water out of the air ... Didn't work one bit. They offered me no other option, even after offering to pay anything. I think because like the TV and the wifi not working all the rooms smell as bad as ours does.
Let's talk bathroom. Oh my the mold growing there (see photos) is very very healthy, and like any classy hotel there is just one small juice glass and no other glasses to use anywhere in the room, PLUS, two cheap military issue-like bath towels, a torn bath mat and .,. wow, what a joy, one frumpy hand towel to celebrate the entirety of amenities in the bathroom,. (Barf room is a more adequate description.)
How bout we talk view and location. The beach is basically non existent, and the water is filthy full of algae and waste. Sandbags line the shore to keep the filth out and confined to the water just outside the hotel.
We've stayed on this island before and the view from Sunrise is that of the commercial oil port and commercial fishing. Nothing like the view just several blocks away of Johnny cay and the clean waters off the new boardwalk. View of the other way is a marina. Plenty of oil and gas floating on the water but not enough to kill the giant algae globs.
I'm going to ask the front desk for masks to wear so we don't get sick sleeping here tonight.
Wish me luck, and please by all means book your room here if you like staying at the worst hotel on the island and don't mind a lot of excuses for a grand failure of a hotel.
It's places like this that give Colombia and this island a bad reputation. Do you think they care what you think here? Not a chance. They take your money, don't deliver and you're never to come back.
They win, you get screwed.

PS If some liar from the hotel posts an apology or excuses don't for a second believe it. Remember, we offered to pay anything for a room where the wifi, worked and that didn't smell like mold. They couldn't accommodate us then so how can they now?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLHOTELSUNRISE, Gerente at GHL Hotel Sunrise, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Yours sincerely on behalf of all the staff that make up the hotel GHL Sunrise.
First of all we thank you for the information you supply about the situations presented during your stay.
San Andres Island is a wonderful destination and unique but also fragile, lacking fresh water sources, has no electrical interconnection and its atmosphere is 80% moisture, is protected by coral entity being biosphere reserve, it which do not allow the removal of seaweed from its beaches.

Sincerely;

Nora Lucia Velasquez
Manager GHL Sunrise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The GHL Hotel is a good destination if you want to see the mass-tourism side of San Andres. The rooms are ok (sometimes they had problems with the drain pipe) and aircondition demands furniture and walls of the rooms (tendence to oxidation). Beside the rooms, the restaurant is great but it takes a lot until getting you meal.

Room Tip: all rooms have beach-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Okay I stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel have on there doors and windows that there 5* but no I would give it a 3. I mean the hotel has a lovely reception area which is very grand. The hotel is in a very good location as well. A few things let down this hotel 1. There is only hot water between 8:00am and 11:00am and then is turn back on at 4:30pm and turned off at 8:00pm. They didn't tell us about this at the check in desk I went to complain and get it fixed and THEN they told me. I didn't eat once at the hotel but what I saw it was average. The beach is hardy a beach they have out there own sand down and have tried to make it into a bay which is nice but if you walk 5mins down the road the open beach is a lot nicer. Another thing the hotel rooms are HUGE which is great but there is damp and water paper coming off which they could fix I would of thought. The hotel is very clean but REMEMBER ask for towels as if you don't ask you don't get. Another thing that let this hotel down was the staff! We had a man coming to our hotel to give us our pictures from Jonny Island however we had to go out and asked if he comes could they hold it for us. The women went to find out if this was possible and never came back we waited for 10mins and she never came back which was very rude. Another thing was the pool activities programmed but not once did I see anything happening. Over all this hotel is very nice, clean, great location but if you want tlc you won't get it. I was happy staying at this hotel but little things let it down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great service, excellent view, live music at the lobby was great, food and bar service was excellent (had one of the best piña coladas ever). The only thing is that the rooms have a bit of an old and humid smell.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel has a great an well located infrastructure. Unfortunately it's not very well maintained. The area is quiet which is good, and the hotel is located 1/2 mile from the beaches and very close to commercial and restaurant area.
The hotel is not very clean and the price is not consistent at all with the quality and state of the facility. They could really do better.
The pool is beautiful, but I found it to be a little bit dirty. I find that the staff is very kind and service oriented. Food is great as well.
I spent a week for business and then one week with my family for vacation and we had a great time anyway.

Rooms (at least mine) are large and wonderful sea view. However I've heard from other guests that there was lots of humidity and bath rooms very poorly maintained a well. It was not my case.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

First of all, this is not a 5 star hotel, but more between 2 and 3 stars. Medellin and Bogota have 5 star hotels and this is most definitely not of the same standard.So, if you arrive expecting a 3 star hotel you will not be disappointed!! It was built about 30 years ago by the drugs cartels and has received minimal investment since although the Hotel has been undertaking a programme of updating rooms for the past couple of years. We stayed in a refurbished room with a sea view and we were very pleased with the size of the room, the accommodation and the bathroom.

The staff are very attentive to your needs especially the guys in the bar by the pool and the restaurant staff. The swimming pool is huge and we were always able to get a table with an umbrella without reserving in advance. There were always sufficient sunbeds which was a relief.

The location of the hotel is excellent, being central to everything and only a short walk from the shops and the beach. There is not much of a beach at the hotel but the pool satisfied all our needs. There are plenty of beaches around which can be accessed by foot, taxi or bus. After all, it is an island and you have many choices of beaches.

We will be back to San Andres in the future and will stay again at the Sunrise but will try and get a refurbished room again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLHOTELSUNRISE, Gerente at GHL Hotel Sunrise, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Yours sincerely on behalf of all the staff that make up the hotel GHL Sunrise. We want to thank you for having taken the time to evaluate your stay with us as their comments or suggestions, contribute to the continuous improvement of our service.

The certification process for categorization with stars in Hotels is backed by international certification companies especilializadas, process GHL Hotel Sunrise has not advance and for which we can not prove any star, any hotel in San Andrés is categorized as 5 stars, we will consider the best of the island's infrastructure and services, like the warmth of our staff.

Also thank you for your good comments as is remarks are a stimulus for our people
to continue the work of continuous training, improvement of human beings and the service they provide.
Thanks to customers like you is that our organization moves in the guest service and technological innovation, to keep in touch and committed to the pursuit of excellence.


Sincerely;


Nora Lucia Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to GHL Hotel Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHL Hotel Sunrise

Address: Av Newball 4-162, San Andres Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — GHL Hotel Sunrise 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Andres Island, one of the most fascinating and exotic places of the Colombian Caribbean, you find a resort and business unique in its category. GHL Sunrise Hotel has 170 rooms fully furnished and equipped with air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, safety box, hair dryer and minibar We have the Paradise Restaurant serving breakfast buffet from 07:00 -10:30, lunch buffet from 12:30 to 14:30 and Dinner buffet from 19:00 to 22:30. A la carte service and room service 24 hours. Restaurant Henrriette (in high season) with breakfast buffet and dinner buffet 7:00 to 10:30 and Dinner buffet from 19:00 to 22:30. Spectacular freshwater pool on the sea, exclusive beach, non-motorized water sports, diving Induction basic, basic induction windsurfing, sauna, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, gym instructor from 06:00 to 09:00 and 18:00 to 21:00 Monday to Friday, pool and beach towels, wireless internet in social areas courtesy of the hotel, nightclub Blue deep, Melon kiss karaoke bar,Park Point lobby bar and our bar Gaviotas at the pool . Cotton Cay Convention Center up to 500 people in auditorium. In the hotel lobby is located a responsive office that offers the following attractions: Island tour, ride to the Keys in boat, golf cart rental, bike rental, tour of the bay in boat, semi-submersible and aquanauts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your GHL Hotel Sunrise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GHL Hotel Sunrise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.